Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Calabasas, CA
Students enrolled: 666
Before care: Yes
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bay Laurel Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
The new principal has made all the difference! The teachers and administration are happy, the parents are happy and the kids are having a fantastic year. It's pretty fantastic to have a complete turn-around in terms of the overall school 'vibe' within a few months of the school year, but it has definitely happened. Everyone notices the difference - the kids and parents are so much more at ease and consequently, things are overall going very well!
1 person found this helpful

Bay Laurel Elementary School 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
Disorganized administration. Snobby parents. Ineffective and very unpleasant principal. Teachers are average and unequipped to handle kids who are not vegetables. Extremely disappointed in this school.


Bay Laurel Elementary School 4

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
Great parent involvement and support. Best teachers are Ms. Brkic, Mrs. Larkin, Mrs Sbardellati. All kind, patient and effective. Principal ineffective and cares more about her image than kids.
2 people found this helpful

Bay Laurel Elementary School 3

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
Our child attended for four years and, so far, we have mixed up feelings about this school. The good things are that it is safe, the Principal is very responsive addressing problems immediately and there are some great teachers. PFA does an outstanding work. The not so good thing is that economic status differences are felt in a subtle way. Being wealthy is not a problem if wasn t for the over controlling attitude of many parents who think their children should go to a perfect school because they make big donations. Parents, here, have the tendency to complain with teachers, aids, principal if their perfect child is bother by another child for any meaningless reasons even no reasons at all. They put pressure on school staff to have the other child punished. As result the teachers/aids tends to be overly restrictive and punitive. So, if your child don t fit in aspect a lot of blue sheets, apology notes, teachers reports and so on until your unfitted child do a misstep and is suspended. But if you have a perfectly conforming child, this is the school to go. Everything looks beautiful from an outside viewpoint.

Bay Laurel Elementary School 3

Posted July 11, 2013
- a parent
We have a 5th grader and moved to Calabasas because it was known that LVUSD is highly rated. Most of the children that go here are from the very wealthy gated communities in the Calabasas area. Most of the parents are successful and definitely provide for the school as it is not lacking at all in the extras. The school has numerous aides, a full time nurse and librarian., a fantastic music and performance program, computer labs and they are working on providing IPads for every child. Pretty impressive. The PFA is outstanding however there is hardly any other parent participation in the meetings besides the board.. We really liked the teachers our child had but other parents haven't been so lucky. Also, the curriculum didn't seem advanced as what my child experienced from LAUSD. Also, LVUSD doesn't have a gifted program until Jr. High so if your child is gifted, they will basically have to move with the herd until they culminate to AC Steele. Another horrible thing here is that the parents are extremely clique-y. This is at every school but here it's all money, fancy cars, giant houses. Be prepared to be compared and good luck trying to fit in if your child didn't start her in K.


Bay Laurel Elementary School 4

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
As a mother, I thought the is school was very poor on safety of the children :((((((( very sad. I was not comfortable with the management at all.

Bay Laurel Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
This is a great elementary school in the area that all parents and principle work hard for kid to get the best education possible.

Bay Laurel Elementary School 1

Posted May 13, 2013
- a parent
Very bad experience.I don't recommend this school.Awful teachers and I have to agree with some of the reviews the principal is absolutely ineffective.If you have any problem in the school they simple try to hide the true pretending that nothing happened.That's what they are teaching our kids?!Very ,very disappointed!I expected much more when are enrolled my kids.


Bay Laurel Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2013
- a parent
We love this school and my daughter is thriving here. The three teachers we have had are outstanding. They are approachable, kind, and very objective teachers. The curriculum is varied and balanced and parent involvement is high. I've not seen a public school that does as much or offers as much as this one does.

Bay Laurel Elementary School 3

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
I give this school a mixed review. My daughter started at Bay Laurel in kindergarten and is now in the fifth grade. In her six years there, she has had three outstanding teachers. I cannot imagine better teachers than those three, not even in a private school. The other three teachers left something to be desired, one was absolutely horrible. The curriculum is good and the standards are high although not enough learning gets done in class. I basically used the materials provided by school to teach my daughter at home. Bay Laurel is extremely clickish among both parents and students. It is a predominantly Jewish school. If you are Jewish you will love it. If not, good luck! Last thing, the principal is ineffective:)

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bay Laurel Elementary School
24740 Paseo Primario, Calabasas, CA  91302
(818) 222-9022
Last modified Bay Laurel Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bay Laurel Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top