Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
130 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Waldorf School Of Mendocino County
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
I feel that WSMC promotes compliance, conformity and tolerance of injustice, all of which teaches students to give up rather than persist and to shut up rather than stand up.

The Waldorf School Of Mendocino County
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
Because the teachers and staff behave unethically and disrespectfully by tolerating bullying and protecting bullies who treat people disrespectfully, this school cannot develop respect in its students.


The Waldorf School Of Mendocino County
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
This school tolerates bullying and even protects bullies. This teaches children that might makes right and that they need to avoid drawing attention to themselves.

The Waldorf School Of Mendocino County 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a community member
I'm so happy to share about this wonderful school! For over 40 years they have offered the wonderful Waldorf curriculum to hundreds and hundreds of children. Alumni parents are now sending their own children to this school recognizing how valuable this wholesome and well-rounded education prepared them to be confident and capable adults. A proven educational method used by over 1000 schools worldwide integrating the arts into the academics enlivening the whole educational process. The smaller class sizes and amazing teachers help protect and preserve the innocence and wonder of childhood. Come and check it out for yourself, you'll be so glad you did!

The Waldorf School Of Mendocino County
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a community member
Moral uprightness is demonstrated by the teachers and expected of the students. It is a core value that permeates throughout the school.


The Waldorf School Of Mendocino County 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
we have 2 children at this school and have been there for the past 8 years. the quality of the education is amazing, it is very well rounded. this school is small but we are a strong community that is committed to our kids having a true waldorf education.

The Waldorf School Of Mendocino County 1

Posted August 05, 2015
- a community member
as a student at this school for over 10 years, I have noticed many things have changed. The over all environment of the school was friendly and had a warm welcoming feel to it. But this was only when I was in pre-school through 4. Once I got into the upper grades, not middle school but "upper grades as they call it" the overall feel of the school completely changed. I noticed more negative and slightly nasty things, for example the bullying situation is out of hand. The way they handle it is by "having the situation resolved by the students in their own time" which didn't help at all, and sometimes would only make it worse. All of the classrooms should be knocked down because of mold all over the outside walls and water leaking through the roof when there would be a heavy rain fall. The grading system is totally wack, and very unfair. For students that want to be challenged in school (me as example) you should not send you child there. If you want to go ahead on a subject or be pushed, you will be told that you have to wait until ALL of the students (even the ones with learning disabilities) understand and can perform well in the subject. I hated going to school. Please don't subject your child to this school.

The Waldorf School Of Mendocino County 5

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Our kids attended WSMC for several years before our family relocated. You are not likely to find a more dedicated faculty than this one. The teachers genuinely love their students and have great respect for the parents. They bring an incredible amount of energy, experience, and wisdom to the education model. There have been many fluctuations in the administration, but through it all the education has remained top-notch. As for the school community -- you may be asked to contribute a lot, but in return you will have the loving camaraderie of your fellow parents. This school is a place to call home for everyone in the family. We will sorely miss it!


The Waldorf School Of Mendocino County
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
Not a lot of homework and that's how we prefer it. They do sometimes make children take home work that they don't get done at school.

The Waldorf School Of Mendocino County 1

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
We were so hopeful when we found this school. It seemed so cute and friendly. There are some good teachers (although almost all of them left at the end of this school year due to hemorrhaging enrollment and chronic financial instability) and many well-meaning people. There are also significant problems that prospective families have a right to know about. In looking for specific criticisms I could say that they don't understand that their families are their customers. The school is always in crisis and they look continuously to the families to bail them out with money and time. It wears everyone down. Communication is poor, in part because they are always short staffed but also because in their chronic crisis state they seem to feel that information should only be given on a need-to-know basis. There is no principal or key leader and this is a critical problem. The school is led by the teachers and the ones who have been there longest are There is a failure to deal with bullying in any effective way. In fact, when any of the teachers or staff perceive criticism or resistance to their authority, they become a bully pack themselves. Parents admit to being afraid to speak out for fear of becoming targeted. The students are frequently unsupervised which allows student-to-student bullying to take place. All of this is of course my personal opinion.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Waldorf School Of Mendocino County
6280 Third Street, Calpella, CA  95418
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (707) 485-8719
Last modified The Waldorf School Of Mendocino County is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top