Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

El Descanso Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Camarillo

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $375,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,450.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2013

I started volunteering at El Descanso last year when my grandson was in kindergarten. He has had a great experience there, with fantastic teachers. He loves school and can already read anything you give him. The teachers at El Descanso are dedicated, talented, caring, and experienced, as are the principal and staff. I highly recommend this school!


Posted August 31, 2012

My Daughter attended Kindergarten there teacher was so so nothing that we were excited about or my daughter. I do have to say that there are major communication issues with the front desk and the clerical staff. This is our second year were my child's registration was done incorrectly. We drove over today to see what class she was in and again she was not listed the same thing happened to her last year. Funny thing is we got the letter from the teacher and class list. They never said sorry but she was able to attend, they ruined her first day of kindergarten. I was sooo frustrated and angry that this is happening again! I emailed the superintendent about the situation so lets see if she even responds. Now I have to waste time again in Tuesday to get this corrected!!!! My husband and I are seriously thinking of moving to east camarillo just to get her out of that so called school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

When I moved to Camarillo, the school in our boundary was full. Based on several factors (other adults opinions), El Descanso was my last choice of an alternate school within Camarillo, but was the only elem. school that had room. However, I can tell you, both my children are extremely happy there. They enjoy their classmates, the teachers are very caring and the office staff has always been very helpful, competent and caring. The first day after I picked them up, my older child stated it 'was the best day of her life'! They continue to love it there and are constantly learning. Before moving here, they attended a Blue Ribbon & CA Distinguished school. I wanted the same for them when I moved here, and they are receiving an excellent education in a wonderful environment and I won't hesitate to tell anyone that El Descanso delivers that to my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

My children came to el descanso in the middle of the school year in 2007, and they have been nothing but great. My son was having trouble reading and now that is not a factor anymore and my daughter recieved student of the month. I feel like el descanso is a great school, no school is perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

It's time for an updated review. My daughter has been at EDS k-4. She has had a variety of 'teaching styles' . This variety has peeked her learning, it keeps things fresh and gives her something to look forward to with each year. We have a new principal since the negative comments were made about Mrs. Sigler (whom I think was firm, but great) Mr. Winters has his very own style. I see him around the campus A LOT, which I love. The kids adore him! He is also very approachable and makes himself available to parents as well as students. We were given the option to change to Los Primeros (another great school I'm sure) but we wouldn't think of leaving. EDS is GREAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

I think this is a great school. The teachers are wonderful and caring. The office staff are wonderful. No complaints
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2005

Great school! Look foprward to the coming years for ny other children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2005

I am the parent of children who have attended this school and also attended in LAUSD. El Descanso puts a high priority on giving their students the best. I have been very pleased with El Descanso and its staff. I know that they work hard to provide a high level of education and security for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2005

The principal is not easy to work with. The teachers are great. Too bad more of them can not be on the play grounds during lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2004

El Descanso is a wonderful school. My daughter has attended there for 2 years now and has had great teachers both years. Her principal Mrs. Sigler is really kind but firm with the children and has her priorities in the right order. Before my daughter attended this school, I saw the lower test scores and it really made me hesitate at first. Then I thought that I should at least give it a chance and I am really glad that I did. I can't say enough good things about the school, I feel very blessed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

788

Change from
2012 to 2013

+6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

788

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females67%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females80%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students30%
Females32%
Males29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino16%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)38%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability32%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only34%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)20%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students49%
Females53%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)40%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females76%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state75%

Math

All Students62%
Females59%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females62%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state42%

Math

All Students41%
Females42%
Males40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate18%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state25%

Science

All Students41%
Females41%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate18%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 52%
White 29% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 11%
Black 4% 6%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Bonny Porter
Fax number
  • (805) 388-8593

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1099 North Bedford Drive
Camarillo, CA 93010
Website: Click here
Phone: (805) 482-1954

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Carden Heights School
Camarillo, CA





Cornerstone Christian
Camarillo, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT