Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

890 students|Pleasant Valley
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Monte Vista Middle School 1

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
I moved my son from a small K-8 school in the 7th grade and this school was nothing but a horrible experience. From the way the administration bullies children in cooperation, through negative reinforcement, to the teacher's "include all" communication style with each other so that they can label students whom they like or don't like. There is no adherence to any standard policy and they seem to have a knee jerk reaction to dealing with issues rather than finding solutions. I don't know how any student can academically excel in this environment. DO NOT ALLOW YOUR ACHIEVING CHILD TO ATTEND THIS SCHOOL. Biggest mistake of my life.

Monte Vista Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
It depends on who is the teacher. I have seen a very mean one, but I think most of them are nice and knowledgeable.


Monte Vista Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
I am not sure about fairness. The person who beat up my son was not punished, so it happened again!

Monte Vista Middle School 1

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
The authorities don't have any supervision on the students. My child was bullied and beaten up twice. The dean said it was his fault!!!! Left a lunch for him 30 minutes before his lunch time. They forgot to give it to him until 4 pm when I went to pick him up. No apology to my son or me what so ever! My son is above average student still I regret for sending him to this school.

Monte Vista Middle School 5

Posted August 24, 2014
- a community member
This is a great school. I am a student here and it will be the best memories I will ever have. And it is better than Los colinas because we have a block schedule so it will be less stressful. And the teachers are so helpful when u don't understand something.


Monte Vista Middle School 5

Posted July 20, 2014
- a parent
We live in another District but had to move my kids due to problems at their school that the Principal could not fix. We found Monte Vista and my kids had a great year. They met some new nice friends and did very well academically. The Principal is great and so are all the staff. The school Counselor is amazing! We are looking forward to another great school year.

Monte Vista Middle School 4

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
My child just finished 8th grade at Monte Vista. He had a great time the three years he was there. We never had any problems with other students and it was easy for me to contact all of the teachers.

Monte Vista Middle School 1

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Students at this school should be doing better. Are they getting the education they deserve? Similar schools seem to be doing a better job.


Monte Vista Middle School 4

Posted August 21, 2013
- a community member
hi i go to this school and i like it. some of the teachers are good some are great and some are uh not so great. i rated it 4 but its more like a 3 in a half.

Monte Vista Middle School 5

Posted May 09, 2013
- a community member
Monte Vista, while not perfect, is an extraordinary school. Almost all of the teachers want to help and guide you to a good future. The programs there are amazing, and some, like the ASB and the Art program, really let the students shine through and show their full potential. I would recommend it to anyone looking for possible options in education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monte Vista Middle School
888 North Lantana Street, Camarillo, CA  93010-3023
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (805) 482-8891
Last modified Monte Vista Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top