Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

574 students|Pleasant Valley
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Santa Rosa Technology Magnet School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 21, 2015
- a parent
This school is an excellent Elementary school. It is NOT a good Middle School. Let me start off by saying the front office woman/Principle's secretary is horrible. She is rude and very intimidating. She acts as though she doesn't want to be bothered. So if you call to have her give your child a very important message,they will NOT get it! This school could have easily had a law suit on their hands for not giving a message to my child. The assistant Principle or Dean of the Middle School is even worse. He yells at the students and it is my understanding he just does not like children. (he will be leaving next year) This school also has a point system where you get points off for doing absolutely nothing. Maybe your locker is disorganized or you accidentally didn't have your lap top charged. They punish and degrade these children and they enjoy doing it. They also hire some of the worst teachers. My child learned NOTHING in science. Thanks to the sub they had most of the year. She even apologized to the children for being a lousy teacher! She clearly hated her job and the kids suffered because of it. They had a brand new lab which was built last year and they didn't even get to use it!!! If I were you I would pull my child out of the middle school and put them someplace else. You would be glad you did.

Santa Rosa Technology Magnet School 3

Posted May 20, 2014
- a community member
SRTMS's elementary school is amazing. The teachers are great and the classroom sizes are just right. It's a little small but you grow old with your friends. The middle school however fails miserably. I was a straight A student and I went to high school and struggled. I hate to blame it on the middle school but truly it just isn't a good one. The students are overall nice but it's time for some new middle school teachers. When the principle doesn't send his own kids to the middle school but the elementary, that's a red flag.


Santa Rosa Technology Magnet School 3

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
This school is perfect for average students. It isn't designed for those who have gifts or are exceptional. Gifted students find themselves bored, frustrated and seeking alternatives. Having had 2 children attend SRTMS, my experience was adequate, not great. The teachers and principal are committed to their jobs however the skill level of the teachers vary greatly. From a technological stand point, if this is a technology magnet, we have a lot to be concerned about. This may be the best that the public school system has to offer which is why I moved my kids to private school. They can release incompetent teachers, have a more diverse program (including a real language and music program) and can meet the needs of gifted students. So sad for the truly bright students who are there through 8th grade.

Santa Rosa Technology Magnet School 2

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
I am absolutely disappointed with this school. My child attended about 1 1/2 and what not so smart decision we made when we decided to put my child in this school instead of her home school. They are rude (specially the older lady in the front office) who is never helpful, and it seems to rule everything including the over hyperactive Principal who is nothing but a yeller and self centered individual. Many parents are involved, some of them seem rule the school and get special treatment over other families (specially the ones with less money) from teachers and faculty. It was frustrating to talk to a teacher who never followed through with anything. I am so happy to have found a better school for my child, and I feel bad for those who are sold into the whole "rating" thing. ITS NOT WORTH IT!!!

Santa Rosa Technology Magnet School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
My 3 children all attend - K-5 so far. They are excited to be going back to school, learn an amazing amount - not just subjects but character as well. The teachers are motivated, the parents involved and the Principal is seemingly everywhere at once. I'm shocked at the negative reviews here. We've had no negative experiences, and it's one of the top performing schools in the County (test scores). I have no doubt my children will be very well prepared for high school and for life. They are all off to a great start.


Santa Rosa Technology Magnet School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Excellent School. Best start anyone's children can have. Teachers are excellent. The communication between parents and teachers is owesome!

Santa Rosa Technology Magnet School 3

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
My child graduated from the middle school program and is having a very difficult time writing essays in high school. The writing program is particuarly bad even though your child might receive high grades in English Language Arts and perform well on STAR testing. The main problem with the school is the tiny middle school teaching staff since you have the same teachers for 2 years in a row for ELA and History and electives, too. The technology program really did significantly improve our child's computer skills. The middle school program is worse than the elementary school program due to lack of teaching staff. The SRTMS families are motivated and involved.

Santa Rosa Technology Magnet School 5

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
We couldn't be happier with this school! Excellent leadership, excellent teachers and challenging and interesting curriculum. We opted for this school instead of the larger middle schools in Camarillo and our child is thriving. I couldn't disagree more with previous negative comments regarding technology and teachers. My 6th grader uses her Netbook constantly for schoolwork, including using Google Docs & Calendar and loves her teachers. She is fully engaged in learning without the distractions that go unchecked at some of the other schools. This school has a lot of parent involvement, engaged teachers and a principal who is 100% tuned into the kids. EAGLE PRIDE!


Santa Rosa Technology Magnet School 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
I have two sons at this school and this is the 2nd year they attend SRTMS. This school has provided my sons with an academically challenging environment and it is well worth the drive out of our area. I am especially happy with the middle school curriculum. I have compared other schools and did quite a bit of research before deciding to register my sons at this school and have not been disappointed thus far. I have found that my 7th grader uses his laptop at all times and submits majority of his work electronically. He has been able to take advantage of electives such as French and Robotics, I have found very limited choices at other middle schools for electives due to budget cuts. The Robotics class this year is introducing a programming language called Scratch. i feel that the laptop fee is a small price to pay when you consider the advantages at this school. To this day i don't recall having to pay for any of the field trips. My 3rd grader has a great teacher this year and is doing great as well. This school has provided a safe, non bullying environment for my sons to learn.

Santa Rosa Technology Magnet School 2

Posted January 14, 2012
- a parent
Unfortunately, this school is billed out as a technology magnet. The kids from grades 6 to 8 lug around a laptop that they use for email and word. Occasionally they use the internet for research. They charged the current class $500 a year ($1500) for a laptop worth $200. They have finally changed for a netbook. Which will be much better because there is not a thing "technical " about what they do!!! The PTA recently used designated "laptop" funds to make an $80,000 dirt track. So if you send your child here realize that technical and computer savvy are not what you are getting. Academically, they score well -but we will see when they enter High School how well prepared they really are.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Santa Rosa Technology Magnet School
13282 Santa Rosa Road, Camarillo, CA  93012
(805) 491-3822
Last modified Santa Rosa Technology Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Santa Rosa Technology Magnet School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top