Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

San Jose Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 240 students

We are best known for our mission: Love, Learn, Serve.

 
 

Living in Campbell

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $557,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2008

San Jose Christian School is a good Christian school. The teachers and other faculty are friendly, caring, and the teachers pray with the children! SJCS is a safe and nurturing learning environment for the students. We're impressed with how advanced kindergarten was, as our daughter was doing 1st grade math. She'll begin her second year there, as a first grader. We're pleased with our decision, although we wish the cost of tuition would be more affordable for families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

My children have attended this school for four years. I so appreciate the balance between high academic standards and a caring, nurturing environment. The teachers are top notch, with a passion for their field.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

My 8th grader is graduating this year, and I am starting all over in Kindergarten with my younger. It is a warm, loving and nurturing environment. Issues are taken care of immediately if the teachers are notified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

My children attended this school for one year. The teachers they had were excellent. The band/music program is also excellent. The playground is beautiful. My younger child had a great experience with the other children. My older child was excluded on the playground, verbally and physically bullied, and it ruined his school year. The administration refused to believe that a Christian school could have a bullying problem. The lead bully was described to us as a 'wonderful child' by the school administration-2 years after we left SJCS, that bully was expelled. Also there is a real lack of parent involvement at the school, and as a result, it is difficult to get to know other parents. It was a very lonely year for us at SJCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

My son enjoys this school. Good teacher and student ratio. It provides music, art and sports programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2004

San Jose Christian School is one of the best school around that I have seen for our children. Before choosing this school I interviewed six other schools in the Santa Clara area and did not find one that matched our needs. This school is a loving, family school. Our children love the teachers and staff and enjoy going to school very much. In addition they have a great special learning program for those that have challenges with reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2004

SJCS is a great School that goes to the 8th grade. Our children love the school and their teachers. The staff is a loving, caring staff that truely cares for our children. The teachers pray with the children and teach them weekly bible verses. Our family is very Happy here and would highly recommend this school to your loved ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

San Jos Christian is not a good reflection of what Christian schools should be about. The administrators handle discipline matters quite arbitrarily and use old-school approaches that are ineffective. A significant amount of bullying, name-calling, teasing exists on the playground that is not monitored. Our child felt very unsafe.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 26%
Asian or Pacific Islander 16% 11%
Hispanic 8% 52%
Black 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • CUE Outstanding Emerging Teacher: Rachel Diephouse (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Many languages using Rosetta Stone.
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:00 am
School end time
  • 6:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. David Intlekofer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Calvinist
Associations
  • CSI
Fax number
  • (408) 371-5596

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Many languages using Rosetta Stone.
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Valley Christian High School
The Kings Academy
Archbishop Mitty
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Sheffield Avenue
Campbell, CA 95008
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 371-7741

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT