Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

San Jose Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 240 students

We are best known for our mission: Love, Learn, Serve.

 
 

Living in Campbell

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $557,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2014

We have been at San Jose Christian School for about ten years. My son went through the whole program, from kindergarten through the eighth grade. My daughter is in the fifth grade. My wife volunteers at the school all the time. If anyone knows this school, my family knows this school. We think it is a wonderful program and have been happy since day one. The academics are rigorous. For example, my son was well prepared for high school after eighth grade. My daughter tests well on national achievement tests. The arts, this school puts big resources in its music program. We have a full time music teacher, a jazz band, a regular band and a choir. The campus is a park with old timey trees and expansive grass fields. Oh, it also has play structures and basket ball courts. But it is not some concrete, asphalt, wood chips and recycled tires park. No, this place feels like the nice places where I went to school. I took one look at the campus and thought to myself, "I want my kids to play here." The place also feels like family since it is not a huge school and the staff all know who I am, who my kids are and who my wife is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

San Jose Christian School is a hidden treasure in Campbell that not only challenges its students academically but helps them to build a solid foundation spiritually in Christ. We have been there for the past 5 years and have seen our two boys grow in leaps and bonds in all areas of the curriculum. The teachers are top notch and have a heart not only for Christ but strive to have each child they teach reach their full potential in all areas of study, so they will be successful beyond the doors of the school. The new principal has really jumped in and taken charge by supporting his staff to "Reach for the Stars" in how they teach each student and demonstrates positive opportunities to further staff development both academically and spiritually. We can't wait to see what the future holds for our school in the next few years. Come check it out for yourself...you won't be disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2014

Such goodness here! We transferred our 2 children in to SJCS mid-fall, and could not have been more pleasantly surprised! The transition was seamless as we were so welcomed and cared for, immediately putting us at ease. This is the most charming school, what you see is what you get- and what you see is truly engaged teachers and staff, enthusiasm, real awareness to school-age issues like bullying and social issues, high academic standards supported by amazing teachers, a real sense of community... I could go on and on. The school faculty seems to genuinely enjoy being a part of this school, it's obvious in the details and in the smiles. And after having had a less than positive experience elsewhere, I can assure you that you and your children are heard and seen here. My children (K and 4th) are so happy at SJCS. They look forward to going to school each day, and I look forward to knowing that they are where they belong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2014

The first time I walked onto this campus and toured the school I knew immediately this was where I wanted my children to attend. The staff are all very loving and professional and share a passion for teaching and living out their Christian faith in the classroom. The community of families is also very strong - very friendly and inclusive. Parents really care and don't hesitate to get involved for the success of the school. The academics are strong and yet there is a balance between keeping the students challenged but not overwhelmed with too much homework - something our family has appreciated. I would not hesitate to recommend this school, as it has been exactly what we hoped for and more in a private Christian school education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

San Jose Christian is such a sweet and amazing school. Both of our kids attend with one in 2nd & one in 4th. Academically it's wonderful but also the unity & friendliness of everyone that works here or is a student is amazing!!! We are new and we feel very much at home. We love that the staff really loves and honors God in decision making as well how they communicate to the kids, parents & one another. I highly recommend this school to everyone I can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2013

My children have been at this school for several years now. I truly see them striving to fulfill their tagline of Love, Learn, Serve. This school year 2013-2014 is the first year for their new principal and we have seen great things so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

We are so grateful lfor the experience we have had at SJCS. Our kids have excelled academically, have been grounded spiritually and have had the opportunity to enjoy band, choir and sports. I can't say enough about the sense of community. Parent participation is encouraged and it is wonderful that we have had an opportunity to be a part (and not a spectator) in our kids education. I recommend SJCS to all my friends and family and am so grateful to have been a part of this great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

We are so thrilled to be a part of the San Jose Christian School community - and it truly is a community. The combination of parental involvement and engagement from the teachers and staff make this a wonderful community dedicated to the spiritual growth of the students. Our daughter is receiving an excellent academic education built on a foundation of faith in God and service to others. It is an environment that allows children to be who they are and teaches them how to make choices and understand consequences, whether they be good or bad, that come from those choices. The music and arts programs also provide wonderful opportunities to learn and explore in various creative ways. We love SJCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

I am very thankful to be a part of the SJCS community. First as a teacher and now as the parent of a young student, my experience has been that the staff and administration seek to honor God in every area of the school experience. While no school is perfect because no person is perfect, I have confidence that the teachers make every effort to teach my children how to walk with Jesus. The Bible is presented to the children as the only rule for faith and life. This is what we teach at home, and what is reinforced at our church. I am so thankful to be a long-time member of the SJCS community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

San Jose Christian School has been an enormous blessing for our family. Our son began his academic career at SJCS in Kindergarten and is now in 1st grade. Thanks to the dedicated staff and SJCS families, our son is thriving both academically and emotionally. Choosing the right school for our children can be such a difficult decision with so many factors to consider. SJCS has surpassed all our expectations. We are so fortunate to have found such a safe, loving, encouraging environment for our son. San Jose Christian families together with the staff all strive for one common goal; to raise kind, responsible, successful individuals. It is hard to express with words just how much we love SJCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

San Jose Christian School is an excellent school overall. Our daughters are not only receiving an excellent academic education, they are learning what it means to love God and serve others. The teachers are all phenomenal and skilled in each grade. The Music program provides many opportunities for students to learn and develop a variety of musical skills. The parent community is supportive and involved. We often say that SJCS is a diamond in the rough and it has been an enormous blessing to our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2012

My son has been at SJCS since kindergarten. I do not have enough accolades to share how much I love this school and staff. From the time my son started in kinder until 8th grade, there has been nothing but love! There is not a day that goes by where I don't see the fruits of the spirit being exemplified by the staff & teachers. There is a geninuine love and concern for the success for our children. SJCS has become family and as family we will continue to play a part in the success of our children and our wonderful school. SJCS is a great choice for parents who seek a committed staff that follow Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2010

My son started this year and this is my daughter's third year. Both are thriving at the school. They are developing their own relationship with God while at the same time excelling academically. The teaching staff takes a very personal vested interest in each child and we couldn't be happier. I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

San Jose Christian School teaches that our world belongs to God. We believe in educating the whole child and therefore offer music, band, art, PE, and computers as part of the required curriculum. Our office and teaching staff are committed to providing a quality liberal arts education that prepares our students well for the rigorous standards of our local high schools. In addition, we work hard to build community among our students and families. It is an honor to work at this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 8, 2010

SJCS is a great Christ centered environment for students Preschool to 8th grade. Small class sizes with outstanding academics. A well balanced program with exceptionally qualified teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I have two children in this school. My daughter and my son are thriving here. The academics and arts here are awesome. The test scores here are impressive. This school has a real music program--band, choir and jazz band. My son is learning how to play the trumpet here. I know many of the other parents and have made some good friends here. I could go on and on. But I'll just say if you want a great school then check this one out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

My child went here for middle school. She failed math and the school did nothing about it. She received help from the math teacher (who also happened to be the school bookkeeper) in the morning before school. I had several conversations with the principal about this problem. They did nothing to help the several children that were failing and they made it seem like she was the only one. They also did not teach the kids how to have a relationship with God. My daughter had a terrible first year as the kids were unfriendly. They constantly swear. I am very unsatisfied with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

San Jose Christian school is a community of loving teachers & Families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Why do you love San Jose Christian School? It is a great school with wonderful teachers


Posted October 19, 2008

My child has attended this school for 3 years. The staff is wonderful. There is a sense of community. The only drawback is the tuition continues to climb. My child is learning average level. I am not sure if they have any advanced teaching for the kids that striving to reach beyond their level in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 26%
Hispanic 8% 52%
Black 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • CUE Outstanding Emerging Teacher: Rachel Diephouse (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Many languages using Rosetta Stone.
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:00 am
School end time
  • 6:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. David Intlekofer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Calvinist
Associations
  • CSI
Fax number
  • (408) 371-5596

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Many languages using Rosetta Stone.
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Valley Christian High School
The Kings Academy
Archbishop Mitty
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Sheffield Avenue
Campbell, CA 95008
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 371-7741

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT