Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

264 students|Campbell Union
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 98 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Village 5

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
Outstanding leadership, active parent involvement and education, experienced and committed teachers and staff, whole child philosophy, teaching of conflict resolution skills, a variety of activities and field trips, engaged, happy and respectful kids by 5th grade.... What more could you ask for? Village is a gem.

Village
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
There is no Homework for Kindergarten and 1st Graders ( I don't know about upper grades homework). Fridays, they bring home work that they haven't finish in the classroom. I personally agree with this homework policy because my child was in another school for kindergarten and had an average of 6 pages of homework form Monday to Thursday. Crazy, right?!?


Village 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
We love Village! The parent involvement is what makes Village School great. The teachers and staff are also very experienced. This is my child's first year at this school and she has learned so much, not only academically, but she also has developed social and life skills. The school set is small so we feel like we are a big family. If you like parent participation, it is up to the commitment this school requires and want your child that attend a school that is not focus on state tests. This is the right school for you.

Village
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Cori Ryan, "the lunch lady", she is so kind, loving and caring with the kids and parents. She is really passionate about her job.

Village
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
Becky billings, the school secretary is wonderful! She is great with the kids and parents as well.


Village
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
You see kids from upper grades playing with the lower grade kids. Also they have buddies programs in which they pair kids from different grades.

Village 5

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
My son just started at village, but I have notice how much he enjoys his day at school. As a parent who is part of this wonderful community, I am very excited too. This is a wonderful parent participation school.

Village 5

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
Great place for kids to learn not just about academics but about community and personal responsibility in a positive environment


Village 5

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
Village offers a challenging academic experience through a foundation of teaching empathy and communications skills. Among other concepts, children are learning the concepts of service (serving each other at snack, for example), patience, tolerance, understanding, upstanding, and confidence. Everything we as adults wish we could grasp so well. I've never met a child so kind, thoughtful, and confident as the average Village 5th grader. The differentiated learning style enables a classroom of children with varying depths of understanding to progress. The enrichment classes called "Centers" allow for exposure and exploration of a variety of topics. The field trips are frequent and rich in context and experience. These pieces function in harmony with our culture of investigation, exploration, and opportunity. Our children are thriving in this school and the community that supports it. May it continue to be the odd and special and ground-breaking beacon of light in an often bleak landscape of public education.

Village 5

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
I LOVE Village school. It is the perfect school for my children and my family. My children feel love, safe and respected. They love going to school. THe whole child curriculum, positive discipline, field trips, centers, class meetings, family camping trip, community etc. are things that make Village school the PERFECT school for us. It is not a school for every family. As a parent, I have taken classes that they have offered over the years to help me become a better parent. All the teachers have treated me and my children with the utmost respect. Positive Discipline works and we use it at home. Like I said, it is not a school for everyone. Please consider if the school philosophy resonates with your family. Village is the BEST and we could not be happier. My one complaint- I wish it was a K-8 school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Village
825 West Parr Avenue, Campbell, CA  95008-6803
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 98 reviews. (408) 341-7042
Last modified Village is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top