Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
240 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Canyon Heights Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
I do think the staff members, teacher, school principle are working hard to improve every day. But kids growing will not stop and wait. We need to choose another school who spend time on regular learning kids rather than special needs.

Canyon Heights Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Some teachers are effective, some are trying to pick up, because of the high turnvoer ratio, quite a few new teachers.


Canyon Heights Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Homework is about 10 to 15 minutes each day for my 4th grade. It seems like not much. But for some kids who "need different type of learning", it maybe too much. Again, I am disatisfied with the fact that each class has a few students who has special need on academic education. I worry about the resource, where does my tuition go? I think we all paid the same amount.

Canyon Heights Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Not really see the school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students. Again, the education resources are limited, so we can only get little. I never count the school on academic eduction. I teach my kids math at home, and we polish our English writing with another institute.

Canyon Heights Academy
Develops respect: Agree

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
The school treats kids well, as much as they can, but they do have limited resources.


Canyon Heights Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
The principle and teachers are trying to develops compassion, caring, and empathy in their students, but almost half of the teachers are new to school withh light experience of eduction.

Canyon Heights Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Some of the students shows integraty, but some of kids are really mean although they most come from Christian families. The Virtue eduction seems like stays on paper, not really have kids get much.

Canyon Heights Academy 3

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Our three kids joined the school five years ago. Overall, I think the school is ok, at least many mothers involved to build up a close community and support our kids in school. The good part is all facility is ok, huge playground grass field let kids enjoy their break time. Teachers are kind, dressed properly every day. Kids come from families who cares about eduction. Bad parts are teacher turnover rate is pretty high from 2013 to 2015; Kids are not in a close relationship, and we are losing students in each class. My youngest one attending 2nd grade can't even find someone to play with during recess time. All three of my kids complained the school life is boring because no friends. Academic is not challeging, and many lower school class has special need kids. I wonder how much time teacher actually spend with my kids. The feeling is mixed when we have to decide to choose another school. Extracurriculum is weak, no strong sports neither art or music program.


Canyon Heights Academy 5

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
Our son and daughter have been at the school since they were in pre-school which was 5 years ago. We love the academic, religious and holistic approach to education. The teachers are very dedicated and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Our kids (and the parents) have made some great friends here. We look forward to staying till the 8th grade.

Canyon Heights Academy 1

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
It is heartbreaking to see many teachers leave this school every year after year. Terrible administration. They focus so much time about your bank account. Be carful! they can lead you with false promises and get you no where. Many teachers are not credentialed and the curriculum is not a match for a private school. Horrible administration. Look for many other great school in the area.

Nearby schools

Canyon Heights Academy
775 Waldo Road, Campbell, CA  95008
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (408) 370-6727
Last modified Canyon Heights Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top