Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Campbell, CA
Students enrolled: 198
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Canyon Heights Academy 5

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
Our son and daughter have been at the school since they were in pre-school which was 5 years ago. We love the academic, religious and holistic approach to education. The teachers are very dedicated and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Our kids (and the parents) have made some great friends here. We look forward to staying till the 8th grade.

Canyon Heights Academy 1

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
It is heartbreaking to see many teachers leave this school every year after year. Terrible administration. They focus so much time about your bank account. Be carful! they can lead you with false promises and get you no where. Many teachers are not credentialed and the curriculum is not a match for a private school. Horrible administration. Look for many other great school in the area.


Canyon Heights Academy 3

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
There are a couple of good teachers in the Upper School, and a few that should not be allowed near the classroom. Unfortunately the administration can't tell the difference. All in all not too bad of a school if your child falls under the fat part of the bell curve and doesn't want to be pushed too hard. If you are not a follower of the Legionnaires you might want to Google their history to see their leadership's vision.

Canyon Heights Academy 5

Posted May 16, 2012
- a parent
At one of the recent Open Houses, a parent spoke about his children's experience at Canyon Heights Academy. His children went on to a local, private, Catholic high school and a very important person of this very prominent high school said, "Send me as many students from Canyon Heights Academy as you can. I've been very impressed with every student I have seen come from Canyon Heights Academy." I believe parents get just as much out of Canyon Heights Academy as the children do. It's a wonderful school with excellent leadership and teaching quality. This is the catholic school you have been looking for...

Canyon Heights Academy 5

Posted May 10, 2012
- a parent
Come and see why Canyon Heights Academy is a great school from Preschool to 8th grade! I love the small class sizes where my children are academically challenged and cared for in a nurturing environment. Other schools will tell you they have small student/teacher ratios of 11:1; but this school has the perfect number of students for optimal learning and social situations. Their class sizes range from 15-20 students! Every child has a special place in the hearts of the teachers and staff at Canyon Heights Academy. This is a school that will prepare your child for life and the journey that awaits them! The children are taught to be the leaders of tomorrow and the best leaders have a strong foundation. This school will give them that foundation to be great leaders!


Canyon Heights Academy 5

Posted January 25, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school with a fabulously supportive and welcoming community for the entire family. Challenging academic environment teaches more than just knowledge of facts and figures. Students develop critical thinking and communication skills to know not only the right answers but to be prepared to ask the right questions. Combined with stellar faith formation and virtuous character development, Canyon Heights Academy will prepare your child to be a leader at the high school of their choice.

Canyon Heights Academy 1

Posted January 15, 2012
- a community member
Not a good school. The fact that all negative reviews for this school seem to disappear off this site is disturbing. Many of the teachers at this school are not excellent, leadership is poor, and academic program is lacking.

Canyon Heights Academy 5

Posted March 19, 2011
- a community member
We moved 3 kids to Canyon Heights Academy (CHA) from our local school in the fall of 2010. We were looking for more intellectual development - not just memorizing facts for standardized tests - but learning to think critically about issues and problems, and then being able to effectively articulate their views. We wanted a school where kids were more actively involved in service activities - to their family, their community, and to God. We wanted a place where kids learned how to be good citizens, to take responsibility for themselves, and where they would recognize right and wrong and be challenged to take the (often) tougher path. And, of course, we wanted a school where spiritual growth was a sincere priority that received daily attention. This is the basis of the Integral Formation model that CHA employs. With dedicated and talented faculty, staff, and priests, CHA is a place committed to forming good, well-rounded, and happy kids. And best of all, it is also a very inclusive and immediately welcoming community. We feel truly blessed to have found this wonderful school!


Canyon Heights Academy 5

Posted November 30, 2010
- a parent
Canyon Heights Academy is an environment where children flourish in all aspects of school and life. Our child entered CHA in middle school and has benefited tremendously from the emphasis on developing analytical, abstract, and critical thinking skills and on the ability to transmit those thoughts and ideas through extensive written work, verbal presentations and speeches, and multimedia presentations. Our child has excelled academically and has been accepted into a national talented youth program. The Theology and Catholic Formation curriculum is exceptional in its richness and depth. The Integral Formation approach produces leadership qualities and develops the children intellectually, morally, spiritually, and apostolically. This is especially evident through the Middle School Service Program, which though mentored, is led and run by the students. Through their own initiative they have been performing great apostolic works which far exceed imposed service requirements of other middle and high schools. This program is one example of forming young leaders with a strong sense of charity who look beyond themselves and to those in need in the local community.

Canyon Heights Academy 5

Posted October 31, 2010
- a parent
This school does a wonderful job preparing students to excel and lead in a competitive high school environment. They emerge as confident, independent, articulate young men and women, able to think critically and ready to make a positive impact on the world through service to others. What my child learned from this school will be with him his whole life.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Canyon Heights Academy
775 Waldo Road, Campbell, CA  95008
(408) 370-6727
Last modified Canyon Heights Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Canyon Heights Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top