Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Castlemont Elementary School

Charter | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 22, 2013

Castlemont also has PRESCHOOL and Transitional Kindergarten! Skilled teachers. Smaller class sizes. Super outdoor education center/garden. Very active and supportive parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 23, 2011

Castlemont is a great school! My daughter is in kindergarten and she has a wonderful teacher. There is a lot of parent involvement which is key to a great school. It is only January and I feel that my daughter has learned an incredible amount in such a short time. I think the principal is wonderful. She is passionate about her job and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

Most of the teachers are great and very interactive, however, some will incorporate their own personal academic research to study the students. I'm not a big fan of using children for these types of research at such a young age when they cannot comprehend this type of exploitation. Principle is not very helpful and tends to ignore parent concerns. Campbell Care staff is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

I grew up in Campbell, and went to Capri. I wanted my son to go to my Alma Mater. That didn't work out and Castlemont was our home school. Thank God we have had the best experience their. My oldest son is in 3 grade and my youngest 1st. They have never had the same teacher, and all of the teachers they have had have been awesome. Every staff member of this school I have encountered has been awesome. Everyone their is respectful. I volunteer often and have never seen staff act anything but positive with students. Bethel church also does a great job with thier kids club after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Two of my grandchildren attend Castlemont Elementary School. They are getting a good fundamental education. And both enjoy going to school!


Posted April 8, 2009

My son has gone there to Preschool: Loved it! Than Kindergarden: Loved it! Now first grade: Loved it! Thumbs up for Castlemont. An all over great experience, we feel safe, our son is thriving there, we like the 3 R's (Responsibility, Respect, Right to be safe), nice atmosphere, what more could a private school do without overwhelming the kids? We feel extremely lucky!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

We were concerned as the official public ratings of Castlemont are not the best. Our son was in Kindergarten and now he is in 1st grade and we just love this school. They have really great teachers and in all comparison with private schools like Stratford or so - this public school comes out to be great and nothing short of those private schools. The key point always about any school is the parent involvement in their kids education and this is the one area where we all need to do a better job to make a school at the end a better school with better ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

Unique opportunities, Diversified, Friendly Principal and School Staff, Creative learning Techniques.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2008

This is the most caring staff of teachers and administrative I've ever seen. We moved out of the area and decided to move back just to get into Castlemont and for good this time. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

The teachers are very good and the ESL population has not affected my children's learning. If a parent is committed, as we should all be, children will learn well. There are enough learning and support in Castlemont, but, it needs parent involment if you want to see results. Good school overall: excellent staff, diversity and safety. I love that fact that the school teaches them about the environemnt - they even have an organic garden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2007

I enrolled my son this year in Kindergarten at Castlemont after I was unable to get him into a Charter school in Cambrian District. I was worried at first because I did not know much about Castlemont and they only offered all day kindergarten. I wasn't sure how my son would adjust but his teacher is wonderful and because of her, he really enjoys going everyday. He has made friends easily and is always willing to tell me about his day. The new prinicipal seems very motivated and safety is a number one concern, which makes me feel better about him being there all day. The ESL population has had no effect on my son's learning so far and he seems to enjoy the diversity. Parent involvement is encouraged and I plan to volunteer as the year continues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2006

I highly support Castlemont Elementary School and encourage parents with school grade children to send them here. Regarding the ESL students - my son was placed into a classroom where 1/5 of the children were unable to speak or write English, with no detriment to his learning. The teacher was wonderful, placing special emphasis on each child's learning capabilities and assisting them on any problems they encountered. I was able to see this being a homeroom mom who came into the classroom almost every day to help out. There appears to be a decline in parent involvement and spirit, from what I've seen, in the past three years however. Perhaps the two new principals coming to the school after Mr. Short's departure may have contributed to the decline, due to uncertainty of what needed to be done first. Hopefully things will stabilize this 2006/2007 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2006

Castlemont is a good school. It has a lot of high quality teachers. my kid started castlemont since K, every teacher she has is good, she loved everyone teacher of them. teachers are responsible, funny, patient, enxusiastic. GTAE programm is ok, not so much activities as other scholl as I know of, but I am ok with that. Principals did not have much deeep impression on students, but overall they are goo, just leadership point of view, I can not say that much, because I am not told many. After school activity is ok, day care is in same camp which make it very easy, I do not have to go to school and pick up my kid, they can just go over the day care them self. I think this school is still limited to people who know each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

Gone downhill for the last two years since principal left. No leadership or teacher morale. New boundaries mean drawing lots of ESL population. Scores lower two consecutive years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

STAR test are dropping and the school has now been under attack by gangs tagging and vandalizing. ESL students are outnumbering english speaking students and as a result the STAR test scores have dropped 26 points in one year. This causes the school rating to drop and thus the property values of Campbell residence and surrounding San Jose are taking a hit as well. Something needs to be done...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

We have been at Castlemont for 10 years now and still counting! This is a good school. As in any school, there are staff and demographic changes each year. As a parent, it is important to be flexible in your child's schooling and to expect change. At Castlemont, my family continues to have *excellent* teachers each and every year. The parent involvement in the English- and Spanish-speaking communities is phenomenal - *this* is the key to a good school. The principal is not as good as the old (no one could match Mr. Short), though I heard from a teacher that 'curriculum' is supported more now for the teachers and it's appreciated. She seems to be doing a good job with hiring more good teachers. Though it was sad to see one long-term employee get transferred by her, the change is not a bad one. I recommend Castlemont without reservation. Nov2005.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2005

I go there and it is wonderful. They rebuilt it last year and it lookes awesome. they have great teachers allround. It gos up to 5th grade and is very welcoming.it also has a very nice principal. So send your child(s) there and I guarantee they will have a blast!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2005

I believe that the parents that dedicate their time is what value Castlemont currently offers. The new principal is lacking in her leadership qualities and is too much into control and felt it was necessary to make changes involving people that worked and had dedicated themselves to Castlemont.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2005

My son attended Castlemont Elementary for 6 years, starting in kindergarten. The school had a good staff and a high level of parent involvement. I particularly liked the Life Lab science garden. I recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

Castlemont Elementary has met my expectation, my daughter has learned a great deal in the two years she's attended this facility. The staff is extremely patient, and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

811

Change from
2012 to 2013

-16

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

811

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-16

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females63%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate8%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students62%
Females69%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner46%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females52%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asian57%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females76%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females67%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asian64%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students66%
Females68%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner53%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females77%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students84%
Females83%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate79%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students75%
Females75%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 52%
White 22%
Asian 9%
Black 5%
Two or more races 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/AN/A
English language learners 41%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3040 East Payne Avenue
Campbell, CA 95008
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 364-4233

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Heritage Academy
San Jose, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT