Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Lucy Parish School

Private | PK-8 | 332 students

Our school is best known for a well-rounded education focused on the whole child

 
 

Living in Campbell

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $557,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

St. Lucy has had it's ups and downs over the decade we have been there. Unfortunately, the new administration is inexperienced and struggling to keep the school heading in a good direction. It is sad to see. Several wonderful families have left the school because of this. The classes for older kids are particularly troublesome. St. Lucy has stopped letting the kids change classes and that makes for long, boring days in junior high. The community is strong, but only having one class per grade is tough on the older kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2014

I have been a parent at this school for over 4 years now and a parish member for a lot longer. The reason we chose this school was because of all the positive feedback we heard. So far our experience has been great. There have been changes in administration during our time at the school but overall the transition has been smooth. The community at this school is amazing and the academics are excellent. No place is perfect but this school gets our top rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

The school has changed with new administration and the Jr. High. is very poor. Science in particular is very weak, although the facility is nice. We have found teaching in the lower grades to be quite good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2013

Being a parent of two St. Lucy students for the past six years with another child starting Pre-K next year, we couldn't be happier with the overall education our children are receiving along with the community we have joined there. With the addition of the Pre-K and full-day Kindergarten beginning in 2014, it just cements our decision to continue and thrive at St. Lucy. We feel our children are receiving a proper Catholic and academic education as well as being surrounded by unlimited social activities including clubs, choir, sports, family nights out and our annual Fun Fest carnival. The families have been so welcoming and we've truly found a tremendous sense of community that extends from the school to the church. The Pastors are very involved and are focused on growing the Catholic faith within our children and seeing them grow as students as well as good citizens. We are extremely satisfied with our decision to join this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2013

Having almost completed St Lucy's with my oldest child and having two more coming through, I can say I have seen many changes happen over the years. These changes have greatly improved our school, the one thing that has remained constant has been the strong level of community that it has to offer. Families are there to help where they can and the teachers are in turn there for their students and their families in so many ways. St Lucy's goes beyond being just a school, it is a community of families who do their best to get on together, and are connected by a common tread - their children and their children's future. After eight years there I would make the same choice again. Academically, it is of par with any of the Catholic schools in the area, however, the level of parental involvement, commitment and warmth far exceeds all of the others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2013

Amazing school.... We tried a different Campbell school before transferring to St. Lucy and WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!! Our three children attend St. Lucy. They love their school and so do we. Its a warm and welcoming community environment. The parent participation is through the roof. If I could, I would give the parents extra stars. The staff and teachers are caring and dedicated to the children. Students get a well rounded education: academics, arts (music, choir, drawing), technology, field trips, P.E, foreign language, community outreach, religious faith. Like all things, not everything is perfect. Spanish classes don't formally start until 6th grade. A bit late in my opinion. Despite this point, St. Lucy has many great attributes that outweigh any shortcomings. The principal, parents and staff are always looking to continuous improve the school and offerings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2013

At first I didn't consider this school for my kids because of the outside (it's in need of some updating). Then some friends told us about it and said "if you liked St Francis Cabrini, you'll like St Lucy's even better!". How could I resist checking into it? As soon as we were inside and met the staff & teachers, saw the new computer lab & library, and spent time in the Kindergarten room, we were in love. We never considered going to a small school, but it truly feels like family. If there are issues or questions, someone is always there to help out. We found the parents of the kids (regardless of grade) are all there to pitch in and help, and are super friendly. Their attitude is "it takes a village" and a friendly, helpful village is what they have. The teachers are patient, kind and supportive. They give add'l help to the kids that are advanced so they aren't held back, and they provide add'l help (outside of class) for the kids that need it. No one is ostrocized or made to feel different. Everyone strives together to achieve great things. It's a great environment for the kids and the parents! Now all the school needs is a new paint job. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

I could never dream of a better school to send my 3 kids to. The environment here is a community of non-threatning, caring, educated people that put the children first. The faculty seems to put in numerous hours into making the education of the students top notch and the environment nurturing. This school is like a family as the staff knows each of the students personally and treats them with respect. They are always striving to be the best teachers and admin. around constantly educating and bettering their teaching techniques to keep up to date with technology. I feel very lucky to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

This is our third year at St. Lucy School (2 children enrolled) and we couldn't be happier. High academic and conduct standards, talented and welcoming teachers and administration with an eye to continuous improvement, friendly and supportive parent community, new after-care facility, all wrapped up in a environment that instills a joy and love of learning in the children. My kids look forward to going to school each day (and we look forward to the school events to spend time with the parents, teachers, and administration!) We are delighted with our decision to choose St. Lucy School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

We have 2 children at St. Lucy's and couldn't be prouder to have our kids get a great education, learn about our faith, while also exposing them to an array of extracurricular activities. The community at school and in the parish is very strong and active. The admin/staff continue to change their curriculum in order to keep up with the fast pace technology that we are surrounded by.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

We have three children in this school and we love it. The teachers are amazing and instill a love of learning in the children. We visited many schools and found St Lucy's to be the obvious choice. The school curriculum is excellent and the community is very welcoming. We highly recommend attending the open house and/or taking a private tour.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

This is literally the worst school you could ever imagine. From cranky 2nd grade teachers to rude junior high teachers. If i could, I wouldn't even give it one star. The athletic and education program is a joke, you will NOT be prepared for high school. The teachers do nothing to help your education. DO NOT SEND YOUR KIDS, OR EVEN YOUR WORST ENEMIES TO THIS SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

This is my 3rd year as a parent at this school and every year it just keeps getting better! This is a wonderful Catholic school that is very well rounded. Strong academics, a great array of extra curricular activities, an involved and caring parent community, great school leadership all wrapped up in a nice Christian environment. Our school is actually full of families who have come here based on word of mouth from other proud and happy St. Lucy families who love this place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Great teachers and loving enviroment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

This is a great school to have a child go to.. The Music teacher is out of this world.. The art that come from the art teacher is on the same page too. Sports is high on the list too.. If you want a all around school that care for the children I would say this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 26%
Hispanic 22% 52%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Miss Sue Grover
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (408) 378-4945

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 31, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bellarmine
Presentation High School
Archbishop Mitty High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

76 Kennedy Avenue
Campbell, CA 95008
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 871-8023

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Old Orchard School
Campbell, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT