Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
346 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Lucy Parish School 5

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
We have one child at St. Lucy and have found it to be both academically challenging and a strong developer of social skills. The community, both students and parents, is welcoming and tight knit. We definitely feel we are getting our money's worth and appreciate the "old school" feel where religion and patriotism is still a significant part of the curriculum. The teachers are very responsive and create a healthy learning environment in the classroom. The administration provides the right tools/support to prepare students for the future. We are completely satisfied with St. Lucy Parish School.

St. Lucy Parish School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
They manage to get the balance right - not an easy task. Teachers are great and you can communicate with them anytime - very approachable.


St. Lucy Parish School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
I see this in how the children treat eachother - particularly when they interact without the knowledge of a parent or teacher watching them. I have witnessed children helping one another when one child gets injured or falls. I have also noticed a child sitting alone and looking sad and then saw another child go over to them to see what was wrong...this is type of behavior I want my children exposed to. The school fosters this kind of behavior.

St. Lucy Parish School 5

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
We have three children in this school and we love it. The teachers are amazing and instill a love of learning in the children. We visited many schools and found St Lucy's to be the obvious choice. The school curriculum is excellent and the community is very welcoming. We highly recommend attending the open house and/or taking a private tour.

St. Lucy Parish School 5

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
We love St Lucy's and would not consider any other school. I have two children that started in kindergarten and are now in second grade and middle school. The academic standards are high and everyone from the principal to the teachers to the parents are all dedicated to working together to make the school the best it can be. I can go on about why it's a great school, but I think the most important reason why we would recommend this school is that -- above all else -- our children are happy at this school.


St. Lucy Parish School 5

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
My children have loved and thrived at St. Lucy's. We transferred in and felt welcomed from the moment we set foot in the door. We feel as though the administration has done a great job in managing the school effectively, bringing in solid faculty members when the need has arisen, sets priorities appropriately, continually asks for parent feedback (e.g. on-line surveys and Principal's Coffees) and is getting better and better about communicating with parents. There have been bumps in the road, but the administration has been quick to learn and improve. We have really enjoyed the "extras" and innovative things St. Lucy's is doing: Junior High electives, integration of technology, Family Groups, live "Walk Through" histories. We feel confident in the faculty--the teachers are engaging, always positive and are very responsive. The community is a lot of fun (FunFest is the best school/parish festival we have attended). Parents are giving of their time and the parent groups are well run. We have never regretted our difficult choice to move.

St. Lucy Parish School 5

Posted October 05, 2014
- a parent
My 2 kids have been attending St Lucy's for the past 4 years and we've been very happy here. As I've heard many times before, it truly takes a village when raising kids and that is what it feels like here. Because it is a small school, you really get to know a lot of kids and parents in different grades. The school sets up "Family Groups" which consists of one kid from each grade in a group, and this allows kids to get to know and learn from older kids as well. The ongoing school events, class trips, and Mom's Nights Out really helps create a community where we want to help each other and be involved. The ongoing message to the students of lending a helping hand, being a friend, never bullying, etc has really helped raise great kids across all the classes. It's a community I love being a part of which I didn't see in the local public schools.

St. Lucy Parish School 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
We looked at several schools--charter and private--before choosing St. Lucys for our kids. Positive recommendations from other teachers were a big factor. Yes, the new administration had unusual internal issues to deal with in years 2012 and 2013. However, recent new hires and changes in programs have been very impressive. Personally speaking, our kids are flourishing and, as parents, we love the community. We highly recommend St. Lucy's!


St. Lucy Parish School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
We have been at St. Lucy School for years, and I wouldn t enroll my kids anyplace else. The teachers are warm and nurturing, the community is strong, and the leadership is experienced and forward thinking. This year is off to a great start. The principal added a new elective program in Jr. High, improved the Jr. high class schedule so the kids move more, added school-wide community service days, and moved to a new hot lunch option that is organic and healthy! New teachers in 3rd, 5th, and science seem to be great additions. Our kids are also excited about having iPads and laptops in the classrooms. We love SLS for our family.

St. Lucy Parish School 1

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
St. Lucy has had it's ups and downs over the decade we have been there. Unfortunately, the new administration is inexperienced and struggling to keep the school heading in a good direction. It is sad to see. Several wonderful families have left the school because of this. The classes for older kids are particularly troublesome. St. Lucy has stopped letting the kids change classes and that makes for long, boring days in junior high. The community is strong, but only having one class per grade is tough on the older kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Lucy Parish School
76 Kennedy Avenue, Campbell, CA  95008
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (408) 871-8023
Last modified St. Lucy Parish School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top