Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Lucy Parish School 5

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
We love St Lucy's and would not consider any other school. I have two children that started in kindergarten and are now in second grade and middle school. The academic standards are high and everyone from the principal to the teachers to the parents are all dedicated to working together to make the school the best it can be. I can go on about why it's a great school, but I think the most important reason why we would recommend this school is that -- above all else -- our children are happy at this school.

St. Lucy Parish School 5

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
My children have loved and thrived at St. Lucy's. We transferred in and felt welcomed from the moment we set foot in the door. We feel as though the administration has done a great job in managing the school effectively, bringing in solid faculty members when the need has arisen, sets priorities appropriately, continually asks for parent feedback (e.g. on-line surveys and Principal's Coffees) and is getting better and better about communicating with parents. There have been bumps in the road, but the administration has been quick to learn and improve. We have really enjoyed the "extras" and innovative things St. Lucy's is doing: Junior High electives, integration of technology, Family Groups, live "Walk Through" histories. We feel confident in the faculty--the teachers are engaging, always positive and are very responsive. The community is a lot of fun (FunFest is the best school/parish festival we have attended). Parents are giving of their time and the parent groups are well run. We have never regretted our difficult choice to move.


St. Lucy Parish School 5

Posted October 05, 2014
- a parent
My 2 kids have been attending St Lucy's for the past 4 years and we've been very happy here. As I've heard many times before, it truly takes a village when raising kids and that is what it feels like here. Because it is a small school, you really get to know a lot of kids and parents in different grades. The school sets up "Family Groups" which consists of one kid from each grade in a group, and this allows kids to get to know and learn from older kids as well. The ongoing school events, class trips, and Mom's Nights Out really helps create a community where we want to help each other and be involved. The ongoing message to the students of lending a helping hand, being a friend, never bullying, etc has really helped raise great kids across all the classes. It's a community I love being a part of which I didn't see in the local public schools.

St. Lucy Parish School 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
We looked at several schools--charter and private--before choosing St. Lucys for our kids. Positive recommendations from other teachers were a big factor. Yes, the new administration had unusual internal issues to deal with in years 2012 and 2013. However, recent new hires and changes in programs have been very impressive. Personally speaking, our kids are flourishing and, as parents, we love the community. We highly recommend St. Lucy's!

St. Lucy Parish School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
We have been at St. Lucy School for years, and I wouldn t enroll my kids anyplace else. The teachers are warm and nurturing, the community is strong, and the leadership is experienced and forward thinking. This year is off to a great start. The principal added a new elective program in Jr. High, improved the Jr. high class schedule so the kids move more, added school-wide community service days, and moved to a new hot lunch option that is organic and healthy! New teachers in 3rd, 5th, and science seem to be great additions. Our kids are also excited about having iPads and laptops in the classrooms. We love SLS for our family.


St. Lucy Parish School 1

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
St. Lucy has had it's ups and downs over the decade we have been there. Unfortunately, the new administration is inexperienced and struggling to keep the school heading in a good direction. It is sad to see. Several wonderful families have left the school because of this. The classes for older kids are particularly troublesome. St. Lucy has stopped letting the kids change classes and that makes for long, boring days in junior high. The community is strong, but only having one class per grade is tough on the older kids.

St. Lucy Parish School 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
I have been a parent at this school for over 4 years now and a parish member for a lot longer. The reason we chose this school was because of all the positive feedback we heard. So far our experience has been great. There have been changes in administration during our time at the school but overall the transition has been smooth. The community at this school is amazing and the academics are excellent. No place is perfect but this school gets our top rating.

St. Lucy Parish School 1

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
The school has changed with new administration and the Jr. High. is very poor. Science in particular is very weak, although the facility is nice. We have found teaching in the lower grades to be quite good.
1 person found this helpful


St. Lucy Parish School 5

Posted December 16, 2013
- a parent
Being a parent of two St. Lucy students for the past six years with another child starting Pre-K next year, we couldn't be happier with the overall education our children are receiving along with the community we have joined there. With the addition of the Pre-K and full-day Kindergarten beginning in 2014, it just cements our decision to continue and thrive at St. Lucy. We feel our children are receiving a proper Catholic and academic education as well as being surrounded by unlimited social activities including clubs, choir, sports, family nights out and our annual Fun Fest carnival. The families have been so welcoming and we've truly found a tremendous sense of community that extends from the school to the church. The Pastors are very involved and are focused on growing the Catholic faith within our children and seeing them grow as students as well as good citizens. We are extremely satisfied with our decision to join this wonderful school.

St. Lucy Parish School 4

Posted December 14, 2013
- a parent
Having almost completed St Lucy's with my oldest child and having two more coming through, I can say I have seen many changes happen over the years. These changes have greatly improved our school, the one thing that has remained constant has been the strong level of community that it has to offer. Families are there to help where they can and the teachers are in turn there for their students and their families in so many ways. St Lucy's goes beyond being just a school, it is a community of families who do their best to get on together, and are connected by a common tread - their children and their children's future. After eight years there I would make the same choice again. Academically, it is of par with any of the Catholic schools in the area, however, the level of parental involvement, commitment and warmth far exceeds all of the others.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Lucy Parish School
76 Kennedy Avenue, Campbell, CA  95008
(408) 871-8023
Last modified St. Lucy Parish School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Lucy Parish School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top