Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Canoga Park Senior High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 07, 2016
- a community member
Thanks to the two Attendance Counselors at this school. They have helped me to keep track of my daughter's academic progress.

Canoga Park Senior High School 3

Posted June 07, 2016
- a community member
I found the staff to be very responsive and helpful. However, if your child struggles with following the wrong crowd, I wouldn't send him/her here. There is evidently a lot of weed being smoked; I noticed it when I was waiting to pick up my kid. Also my kid was assaulted two times in one month, and the two offenders were still allowed to go to school there. I basically had to pull my kid out of this school for her sanity and safety's sake.


Canoga Park Senior High School 5

Posted December 21, 2015
- a teacher
The "best kept secret" in the San Fernando Valley that LAUSD has to offer anywhere!

Canoga Park Senior High School 5

Posted October 06, 2015
- a teacher
I truly believe the unique extracurricular programs I was involved in made me a well-rounded individual, and helped me get accepted into all six of the UC and CSU schools I applied to. Where else in Los Angeles can you raise farm animals as your own and attend leadership conferences and competitions all over the state? Now I have come back to teach and enjoy it very much!

Canoga Park Senior High School 1

Posted May 13, 2015
- a parent
This was a good school but the principal (now gone) caused considerable harm. More concerned about his career than the students. Many programs were cut and the students suffered. Bullying is rampant and nothing is done to curtail it. Most of the good teachers have given up. Don't send your child here.


Canoga Park Senior High School 2

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
The Principal is horrible! !! He does not return parent phone calls, address any issues he simply passes the buck. The teacher's are not held to any LAUSD or ethical standard. They are pretty much given free range to do as they please. Student requests or concerns are discarded with the days garbage. My family was so excited about their Agricultural and Veterinarian Magnet it looked very promising and it has been nothing more than a disappointment. My child is a hard working student with good grades and has never been in any sort of trouble and this school doesn't help support any of these student's, they are all left on the back burner. This will definitely be the last year my child attends this school. Anyone who is considering sending their child to this magnet or school should seriously reconsider and look into North Hollywood Zoo Magnet or the new Animal Science Magent at Verdugo Hills High School.

Canoga Park Senior High School 1

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
The new administration is terrible. Most of the programs are being cut and kids are suffering. They do not comply with LAUSD policies and trying to get any action is a losing battle. This school needs a complete overall - starting from the top.

Canoga Park Senior High School 2

Posted January 28, 2014
- a teacher
The old administration loved the kids and were open to working with the parents and teachers. There were many good programs and teachers. Things have changed in the past two years. There is no longer a voice among the staff or parents. Many key people are gone and the programs are dwindling. Things are very sad at this campus.


Canoga Park Senior High School 5

Posted September 06, 2012
- a community member
I attended this school and it offered all the tools I needed for success. Canoga park is not perfect. Unfortunately, like any other school it does have its bad crowds, so it really all comes down to who the students choose to be and how they choose to act. However, overall Canoga is a great school. It offers various challenging courses, and leadership positions the teachers are very attentive and tutoring is offered after school. Last but not least, the fact that it is a small school really does help kids get around and get to know each other like a family.

Canoga Park Senior High School 5

Posted July 27, 2011
- a parent
My two sons have graduated from CPHS, with my first son, I wanted him to go to El Camino HS, big mistake. CPHS is small, you get to know the teachers well, if you take your time for your kids and both graduated with honors. Be involved in your child's education and it will pay off.

Nearby schools

Canoga Park Senior High School
6850 Topanga Canyon Boulevard, Canoga Park, CA  91303-2354
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (818) 673-1300
Last modified Canoga Park Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top