Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Capitola, CA
Students enrolled: 494
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


New Brighton Middle School 1

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has sadly attended this school for the past two years and she and I will be glad to move one. This school is focused on everything but whats important which is the students and their success. I've always felt a very negative atmosphere. Ms. Cervantes makes comments to students that are un acceptable like "Ill see you next year", "your not going to graduate" quote on quote. This school is only worried about ratings and not the students. . A Very disappointed Parent

New Brighton Middle School 4

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Great school counselor (Bernard Larsen). Truly, he is excellent. Unfortunately, he has to serve two middle schools. It would be great if the district could afford another counselor to lighten Bernard's load. This would allow him to provide longer and more personalized help to kids who need counseling.


New Brighton Middle School 5

Posted July 21, 2011
- a parent
My son attended New Brighton in 6th and 7th grades. We moved to San Mateo before his 8th grade year. Vito had the best teachers at New Brighton: Ms. Roster and Ms. Bridi for Humanities and Mr. Segura for Art stand out as stellar, inspirational instructors. I have taught secondary school in California for more than 12 years, and I have nothing but good things to say about the staff and administration at New Brighton Middle School.

New Brighton Middle School 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
We've been very happy here. Very dedicated staff and great leadership. Definitely one of the best middle schools in the area.

New Brighton Middle School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a community member
There is a wonderful atmosphere created by the principal and teachers which supports children learning, making their decisions and empowering their sense of self worth!


New Brighton Middle School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a community member
Still has a shop program which is a character building opportunity for our children.

New Brighton Middle School
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers and principals.

New Brighton Middle School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are very creative about exciting the imagination of the students, and they have been doing so on a shoestring budget.


New Brighton Middle School 5

Posted January 12, 2009
- a parent
NBMS continues to go above and beyond in providing a rich learning environment for students at all levels. The teachers have a passion for teaching and this comes across to the students. In hard budget times, it is comforting to know our school administration is doing all they can to keep cuts are far from the students as possible.

New Brighton Middle School 5

Posted November 05, 2008
- a parent
Hi I am a sixth grader at New Brighton Middle school, it is outstanding here and i cant wait for more grades. The teachers try to make learning fun and they know when we need a break there is even advanced classes for your child to take! I am in intergrated advanced math 1 and it is great. we are learning things 7th and 8th graders are learning and we are very high strung about learning new things. We always look for more ways to improve, almost every other firday we have a dance to end the week great! Go New Brighton!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Brighton Middle School
250 Washburn Avenue, Capitola, CA  95010
(831) 464-5660
Last modified New Brighton Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
New Brighton Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top