Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Poinsettia Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 549 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 20 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2014

Our 2 kids recently joined Poinsettia. They were at a private school before, and so we were a little hesitant as to what we would get at poinsettia both in terms of academic as well as social environment. So far, we have been very impressed and happy with our decision. The teachers are great, the principal is responsive and engaged, and the PTA is very active, with lots of parents volunteering and fundraising. Our kids have met and made friends with several kids from the neighborhood, which helps to build a sense of community. A couple of areas where public schools in general don't compare well with private schools is in class sizes and differentiated learning. The class size has not been an issue as the teachers and volunteer parents do a great job of managing the classroom, plus with the reduced class sizes, our kids have 24-25 kids in their classes. The differentiated learning is a challenge, but the teacher has been very receptive to working with parents with advanced kids so that they are not bored in class. We are glad that we tried our neighborhood school before deciding against it, as the pros have definitely outweighed the cons thus far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2014

My child no longer attends Poinsettia Elementary - he's moved on to middle school. That said, I am giving a review as a parent who has experienced both the old and new principals. Things in the last two years have gotten MUCH better at Poinsettia since the new principal took over. From day one we had serious issues at Poinsettia Elementary (staff was unbelievably rude to parents, the teachers (not all) were very mean and/or sarcastic, and the principal was horrible with a capital 'H'. A very bad energy all around. The bullying at this school was a huge issue involving kids, some teachers, and believe it or not, some parents, as well. Not good. Enter the new principal. She is very dedicated to the children first and foremost - and in my opinion has changed the school for the better - even the teachers/staff members are a little kinder to the students/parents under her supervision, and while she has a ways to go (cleaning up a messy school can be hard work and take time), I've no doubt she will do just that. Parents remember to support your kids and your principal by teaching your children to be respectful of others and follow the rules. This is what makes a good, strong school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2014

Great school!!! PTA is making great strides adding Music, Art, PE AND Science. I have two kids in this school and could not be happier. And now that we have smaller class sizes....it's only going to get better. Small community feel. Great kids, parents and teachers!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

I transferred out of this district to a school with smaller class sizes right before they lowered the class sizes. Friends that stayed say it is still crowded PTA is screechy with a "we wish we were still in a sorority" vibe..teachers always complaining about class sizes -rightfully so
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2014

Poinsettia is making great strides! Art, Science, Music, reduced class sizes and more. It's amazing what a community can do when it bands together to work on a common goal ~ giving our students the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Thrilled with the newly reduced class size (25:1 in my son's class). We are extremely happy with his teacher and my son loves his school. I've enjoyed getting involved too. We are lucky to be at a newer campus (6-7 years old?) with a smaller student body than surrounding public schools, which gives more of a community feel:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2014

I recently visited my grandson and his family in Carlsbad and accompanied himto the Poinsettia Elementary School one morning, where he is a first-grader. When we arrived that beautiful morning, my grandson joined his classmates for fun and games before the school day began. The joyful chatter from the playground was contagious! When the morning program started, all the kids lined up with their classes to listen to a positive message from the principal and to stand at attention, hands over hearts, facing our flag as they said our Pledge of Allegiance. The teachers were by all indications totally dedicated to the wellbeing of the kids. It was truly a heartening experience for me, and based on my observation and other information my grandson's parents have shared with me, I believe Poinsettia Elementary is a truly exceptional school. I am especially happy to see the kids are learning the meaning of our pledge to our flag and nation. I'm proud that my grandson is able to attend this fine school. Nick Ganaway


Posted October 31, 2013

We came to Poinsettia Elementary from another country and it has been a fantastic experience so far. All the teachers and staff are helpful and have been really helping our grade 5 student adapt and fit in really quickly. The community / families of Poinsettia are wonderful and have made us really feel included. We are so happy to be at Poinsettia. It is great to find everything in one school great teachers, welcoming families, great kids........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

We switched over from a charter school. Really scared because of some bad gossip in the community but have found out it is only a few people talking bad. Since switching, my kids have never been happier at a school. We have been impressed with the teachers, families, everything. Yes, has bigger class sizes but most public schools in Carlsbad do. For the person below that says to do private, please note that everyone is not financially secure as you must be. Private schools are very expensive & you live in a little bubble which is not real life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

This school is poised to do great things! Passionate parent involvement, rising test scores, talented teachers, and a dedicated principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

Poinsettia Elementary has been amazing for my kids! The teachers are very challenging and we are loving all the family involvement in school events. The class sizes have not been an issue and we love how small, in population the campus is compared to other Carlsbad schools! We are so happy that we get to go to this great school.....Go Panthers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

Poinsettia is an elementary that has on going problems with large class size, low teacher student ratio, a portion of the school population that are "entitled" - and deplorably low test scores. Just look up how they rate compared to other elementary schools in Carlsbad. Then make a note to yourself that, in general California schools suck across the board. If you can beg,borrow or steal the money to put your child in a good private school - DO IT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Leadership asked/told pta parents to write positive reviews on this site. This turned me off. The school is crowded. The teachers try their best, but, both kids and teachers are suffering with 35 kids per class. if you can afford private GO....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

Great school! The overall parental involvement is very impressive. There are so many fun activities throughout the year to help support the school and to keep both the parents and students involved. It's great to see how supportive the staff is too. I really like the new principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

Poinsettia Elementary has a great community feel. The principal and staff have succeeded in making my son feel comfortable at the school. My son is excited to have access to computers and enjoys the music program. Our 1st grade experience so far has been great- with an awesome 1st grade teacher!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

Great neighborhood school with involved parents and an active PTA. My son started here as a kindergartener last year and had a wonderful experience. I cannot speak highly enough of his teacher, Ms. Gilbert.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

My children are not challenged. They are learning, ok, sure, but are they motivated? Nope. This school is just average. Nothing to write home about. Star testing scores are low compared to other Carlsbad schools. Sure we went up by 12 points, but we are still trailing others by a huge percentage points. Also, I am not crazy about the PTA and the administrative people. Front desk, please, you have one job! Greet the visitors with a happy face! The new principal is great, though. I can see that she is trying to improve the schools. I do feel for the teachers. Some of the teachers here are excellent, others, not so much. Maybe it's the same everywhere....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

Poinsettia is a great school. The parent involvement and PTA are wonderful in providing funds and fun. I'm so happy my child has been at this school for 5 years. I admit that the first couple years were rocky due to the principal and since it is a newer school it took a while to get into the swing of things. But Poinsettia has blossomed into a great place to send your children. The surrounding neighborhoods are winners too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2013

Great community school. Disregard any reviews that were made before 2012. This school has gotten so much better with the new principle. She is great. All of my kids are excited to go to school everyday/happy when they come home and learning. Parent involvement at the school has also gotten a lot better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2013

We transferred to Poinsettia after an atrocious experience at a different highly regarded school in the district. We have no regrets. My daughter's Kindergarten teacher has been CUSD Teacher of the Year and was absolutely outstanding. Enrollment at the school is only about 500, compared to nearly 800 and 900 at nearby schools. The campus is new and beautiful. The PTA is working hard to bring additional funding to the school and keep valuable programs for our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

887

Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

887

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females90%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females87%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learner88%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females67%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females71%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females88%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females86%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disability67%
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females71%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females71%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students68%
Females57%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 55%
Hispanic 26%
Asian 10%
Two or more races 5%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/AN/A
English language learners 15%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Marjorie Giordani
Fax number
  • (760) 930-6005

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2445 Mica Road
Carlsbad, CA 92009
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 331-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT