Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 50 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


54 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carlsbad High School 2

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
Class sizes of over 40. only 6 subjects taught. no emphasis on arts. No, repeat, no, parent conferences. Culture of parental disrespect. A great principal who just arrived, is leaving already. why?

Carlsbad High School 1

Posted August 16, 2014
- a community member
I'm a sophomore at carlsbad and I hate everything about it. The teachers don't teach, the students are mean to everyone, and it's just an absolute joke. If you want your student to have a good education, send them to Oceanside high school or la costa canyon high school.


Carlsbad High School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
CHS is located at great location with new football field and buildings. School is safe and students could participate different activities with their own interests. Teachers are also great!

Carlsbad High School 1

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
It's a great community. Unfortunately, the teachers at Carlsbad High School are not the greatest. They teach from a text book instead of engaging the students. The school does absolutely nothing about the mediocre quality of their teachers yet they expect so much from their students. They boast high test scores and being an AP school but that's because most parents get outside tutoring for their kids. Many families cannot afford the additional cost of an outside tutor...besides, teachers should be doing their job. I don't understand why the district/school is so afraid to get rid of horrible teachers. Example: My son has asked for help and they either work out the problem for him and won't show him the process OR they accuse him of not listening. He goes to school "tutoring" and it's the very same teacher that teaches the subject. If you can avoid sending your kids here, do so.

Carlsbad High School 3

Posted June 15, 2013
- a community member
I am interested in knowing more about this school, especially the AP and honors programs.


Carlsbad High School 2

Posted May 10, 2013
- a community member
I went here last year, and it was mediocre. The English 1 (9th Grade English) education recieved here was so easy, i got an A-, and you aren't challenged to your full potential (unless you take AP or honors classes). The academics (even though with a block schedule) feel extremely slow and unstructured to me. Last year, CHS students had to suffer the symphony of saws and hammers of the construction of the new buildings. Many kids here like to skate and tend to drop out and do drugs on campus. Bullying here is a big issue, and are judged by everything. I got so upset here that i had to visit a psychologist 3 times a week. Sports are mostly funded on football, where most other sports are neglected. However, thanks to Sage Creek, CHS will get smaller, and it will have more of a community feeling, and it might get better. Its a shame that in such a good community that the majority of carlsbad teenagers have to attend this somewhat misguided high school.

Carlsbad High School 3

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
My daughter had attended a high school ranked 4th in the state. Her GPA was 3.5. Now at CHS, her GPA is 4.4. This is because the standards are lower at CHS, and it is easier to earn an A. If you want to prepare your children for college, make sure they are in AP or Honors classes at this school. It is unfortunate that the beautiful community of Carlsbad doesn't have a better school district.

Carlsbad High School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
Excellent teachers and facilities. The number and quality of AP and Honors courses exceeds or is comparable to other highly rated high schools. The number and variety of extra curricular programs is impressive.


Carlsbad High School 1

Posted September 04, 2012
- a parent
One lady in particular that answers the phone at the school's office is setting a horrible example for the school. Her name is Trish Rivier. She is extremely rude and treats your call as if it is not important and your wasting her time. She will cut you off and say "I have other calls waiting hurry up". There are plenty of people that would love to do her job and get paid alot so she should lighten up. Every single time I have called she has not once been friendly. She should find another profession.
1 person found this helpful

Carlsbad High School 4

Posted February 02, 2011
- a parent
Both of my children graduated from CHS. Each attending there all four years. The diversity of classes available is a plus. Surf PE and Skate PE are good and unique options made available to students. The quality of the AP courses and Honors classes are excellent. My son had one math class that was a waste of time due to the teacher s disorganization. He is now a 3rd year Civil Engineering major so it did not cause irrespirable damage. Both of my children have gone on to attend one of the nation's top public universities. Due to having taken CHS AP courses the adjustment to college level classes has been fairly easy. Hopefully now that building a new high school has been ruled out the upgrades to the current location will bring the facilities up to grade along with the academics.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carlsbad High School
3557 Monroe Street, Carlsbad, CA  92008
(760) 331-5100
Last modified Carlsbad High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carlsbad High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top