Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carlsbad High School 4

Posted March 17, 2016
- a community member
We are very happy with CHS for our son. He is challenged daily and the teachers and kids there are great. My son has never had any issues dealing with 'druggie kids' or bullying of any kind and there are no gang problems at this school either. (Perk of living in Carlsbad is a higher quality of kids and families IMHO.) The coaching staff for the football team is beyond amazing and very fair in how they play their players. (Some coaches are former NFL players- WOW!) My only complaint is that I have had a bit of an issue communicating with the guidance counsellors. I feel that they should have more knowledge of the kids that are assigned to them, I'm not sure my sons counsellor could pick him out in a crowd. My son is an average student, does not take AP classes, and is not as great academically as some kids. However the school does a great job with providing free tutoring and doesn't degrade or look down on the 'regular' kids. All in all I think this is a fantastic school!

Carlsbad High School 1

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
CHS--Disappointed and disappointing. Turnover of athletic directors, principals and yet no turn over of awful teachers and there are many. I know, the union doesn't allow firing of teachers but it's something that will need to be addressed in the future if the public education system is to thrive and survive. There is no reason with the kind of funding this district has that our students at CHS should lack good teachers in most subject areas. CUSD needs to remember that teens are old enough and smart enough to assess what's going on with their education and CHS is failing many students hence the exodus we are seeing to home schools, charter schools and private schools.


Carlsbad High School 3

Posted March 19, 2015
- a parent
We've had two students at CHS with good and frustrating experiences. There are some great teachers, but not as many as the mediocre ones. There are some great, unique classes and extracurriculars, as well--Honors and AP classes, Show Choir, Lacrosse, Rugby, Dance Team. But when Principals and teachers only last a couple years, there are issues. This year, my daughter's Statistics teacher left under questionable circumstances a few weeks into the 2nd semester. To that point, the teacher had not been effective, and then provided little instruction for 2 weeks. Following a 2-week Substitute, a contract teacher came in to finish out the year--all this in an AP Statistics class! The school was very flexible and helpful during the awkward transition and has tried to make amends. My next child is a 9th grader at Sage Creek High School nearby. The trimester schedule with more room for a variety of classes and the STEM focus are a good fit for her.

Carlsbad High School 2

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
Class sizes of over 40. only 6 subjects taught. no emphasis on arts. No, repeat, no, parent conferences. Culture of parental disrespect. A great principal who just arrived, is leaving already. why?

Carlsbad High School 1

Posted August 16, 2014
- a community member
I'm a sophomore at carlsbad and I hate everything about it. The teachers don't teach, the students are mean to everyone, and it's just an absolute joke. If you want your student to have a good education, send them to Oceanside high school or la costa canyon high school.


Carlsbad High School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
CHS is located at great location with new football field and buildings. School is safe and students could participate different activities with their own interests. Teachers are also great!

Carlsbad High School 1

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
It's a great community. Unfortunately, the teachers at Carlsbad High School are not the greatest. They teach from a text book instead of engaging the students. The school does absolutely nothing about the mediocre quality of their teachers yet they expect so much from their students. They boast high test scores and being an AP school but that's because most parents get outside tutoring for their kids. Many families cannot afford the additional cost of an outside tutor...besides, teachers should be doing their job. I don't understand why the district/school is so afraid to get rid of horrible teachers. Example: My son has asked for help and they either work out the problem for him and won't show him the process OR they accuse him of not listening. He goes to school "tutoring" and it's the very same teacher that teaches the subject. If you can avoid sending your kids here, do so.

Carlsbad High School 3

Posted June 15, 2013
- a community member
I am interested in knowing more about this school, especially the AP and honors programs.


Carlsbad High School 2

Posted May 10, 2013
- a community member
I went here last year, and it was mediocre. The English 1 (9th Grade English) education recieved here was so easy, i got an A-, and you aren't challenged to your full potential (unless you take AP or honors classes). The academics (even though with a block schedule) feel extremely slow and unstructured to me. Last year, CHS students had to suffer the symphony of saws and hammers of the construction of the new buildings. Many kids here like to skate and tend to drop out and do drugs on campus. Bullying here is a big issue, and are judged by everything. I got so upset here that i had to visit a psychologist 3 times a week. Sports are mostly funded on football, where most other sports are neglected. However, thanks to Sage Creek, CHS will get smaller, and it will have more of a community feeling, and it might get better. Its a shame that in such a good community that the majority of carlsbad teenagers have to attend this somewhat misguided high school.

Carlsbad High School 3

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
My daughter had attended a high school ranked 4th in the state. Her GPA was 3.5. Now at CHS, her GPA is 4.4. This is because the standards are lower at CHS, and it is easier to earn an A. If you want to prepare your children for college, make sure they are in AP or Honors classes at this school. It is unfortunate that the beautiful community of Carlsbad doesn't have a better school district.

Nearby schools

Carlsbad High School
3557 Monroe Street, Carlsbad, CA  92008-2729
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. (760) 331-5100
Last modified Carlsbad High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top