Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carmel High School 4

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
Carmel High School has so many strengths, especially through the 9-12 grades curricula, beautiful campus, and many dedicated teachers and faculty. Coordination amongst teachers regarding class projects and test schedules needs to be strengthened. However, the greatest weakness from my viewpoint is the school climate being one that neither acknowledges or celebrates diversity. If the Carmel School District would commit to the education that is needed in this area, then model that for students and parents, we might (in years to come) find the CHS community to be a more "endearing" one, filled with wonderful academic and social experiences. Perhaps then, more families representing a diversity of backgrounds would remain in the Carmel community.

Carmel High School 2

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
I beleive that Carmel High discriminates against students with mental and physical diabilities on the 504 Plan in order to maintain high test scores.


Carmel High School 5

Posted January 19, 2013
- a parent
My son attended CHS for 2 years and as a family who moves a lot, we found the culture of the Carmel schools to be closed to outsiders. People are nice, but are less willing to include outsiders. The teachers are mostly fantastic, the education and the extras the schools offer like "Rachel's Challenge" are amazing. The campus is beautiful, technology forward and open. It is an awesome school, but the social aspect can be challenging for newcomers.

Carmel High School 1

Posted August 07, 2010
- a parent
Some of the staff and teachers here are wonderful, and I have nothing but praise for them, but Carmel High is severely lacking in intelligent leadership, and it is plagued by racism and a class based system in which all but the wealthiest students are treated poorly. I do not blame the students, because they are only following the example their snobbish parent's set. However, anyone who is perceived as different will be an outsider and will be targeted for harassment and bullying. They also do not listen to the majority of parents. They only listen to board members and the wealthiest parents. Each year there is a parent survey. Each year parents make their feelings known. Though most of us are concerned with bad leadership, poor communication with that leadership, and a horrible counseling department, the admin and board instead say their primary goal is to beautify the school.

Carmel High School 1

Posted February 24, 2010
- a student
I find many kids are doing some for of illegal activities including under aged drinking and use of marijuana. The rate at which these kids do this seems to be 50% or higher, which is awful. The classes offered there are nice, but limiting, as most schools are these days. There is a general lack of discipline and the 'bullies' go either unpunished, or not punished severely enough. Over all, I found the school to be a terrible learning environment.


Carmel High School 5

Posted February 15, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Carmel High School 5

Posted October 09, 2009
- a student
I love this school so much. The teachers are amazing and they teach so well. I feel as though Carmel High has given me oprotunites that other schools havent

Carmel High School 5

Posted August 19, 2009
- a parent
Five stars! Incredible academic counselors that go above and beyond the call of duty, engaged active student leaders, friendly warm environment and a welcoming of diversity in all ways. Anyone paying for a private school tuition is wasting their money when they have CHS as an option. My son just graduated and was accepted into a program at a private University in Southern California with a 5% acceptance rate, obviously he was more than prepared. The creative arts, music and video production programs are impressive. There is also a great ROP program so obviously CHS gets that kids want viable options. They also have impressive programs for addressing alcohol, drugs and teen depression issues. They are realists! Still have two more there and I could not be happier!


Carmel High School 5

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
I think this High School does a good job of including a more diverse population than you would think for Carmel. It is all there. Something for everyone. A lot of AP courses and ROP courses for those wanting to work. THe expectations for this school are unrealistic. People are looking for a private school in a public school. The principal keeps it together. You can go anywhere from here. Why go to a private school?

Carmel High School 5

Posted January 31, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carmel High School
3600 Ocean Avenue, Carmel, CA  93923
(831) 624-1821
Last modified Carmel High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carmel High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top