Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

508 students|Carmel Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carmel River Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. Very few teachers are less than ideal. Keep up the good work of letting go of not-so-good teachers and hiring great teachers! This school has the best financial and kids to support the best hires possible.

Carmel River Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
Yes. I think so. There are issues when parents are hired to work at the school and their kids are under their own supervision with others.


Carmel River Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
Yes. This school has high standards in this area however, favoritism has been observed and given to kids' whose parents are classroom moms/dads or on the board and such.

Carmel River Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
When a school has a good program for kids with learning disability, on the other hand, to be fair, it must have advancement programs for kids who need more challenges.

Carmel River Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
Minority students treated unfairly by the school administration and the principal. Favoritism is a big issue needs to be resolved at this school.


Carmel River Elementary School 1

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
This school is good in terms of education but the minority students treated unfairly by school administration and the principal. Favoritism is the biggest problem at Carmel River Elementary School.

Carmel River Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
My grandson is blessed to have the best team of teachers I have ever seen. I was an educator for 30 years and have never experienced such a high level of positivity and support for students.

Carmel River Elementary School 1

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
I am not giving this school a rating. I agree with the previous person's comment. The principal does not treat newcomers well.


Carmel River Elementary School 1

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
My family had to move a few times during my daughter's elementary school, and Carmel River School is the worst school we had ever seen. Bulling and favoritism are big issues at school. Principal Jay Marden has an attitude "take it or leave it". The school counselor Veronica Craft is not familiar with Ethical Standards for American School Counselors. We had to visit family phycologist after Veronica Craft 'talked' to her. Overall, the school environment is not healthy. There are so many schools around there which are much better in terms of environment, academic achievements and quality of teaching.

Carmel River Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2013
- a parent
River School is beyond amazing in all aspects. The fair, and intelligent leadership of Principal Jay Marden sets the tone of the school. Teachers are incredible! My child has computer lab, music, PE twice a week (although wish it was 5 days), science, and Spanish. There is a real sense of community between the parents and a lot of involvement. Could not be better. I have one child that went from kinder through 5th and my second is on her way to third grade.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carmel River Elementary School
Monte Verde Street And 15th Avenue, Carmel, CA  93923
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (831) 624-4609
Last modified Carmel River Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top