Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Carmel, CA
Students enrolled: 508

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carmel River Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
My grandson is blessed to have the best team of teachers I have ever seen. I was an educator for 30 years and have never experienced such a high level of positivity and support for students.

Carmel River Elementary School 1

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
I am not giving this school a rating. I agree with the previous person's comment. The principal does not treat newcomers well.


Carmel River Elementary School 1

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
My family had to move a few times during my daughter's elementary school, and Carmel River School is the worst school we had ever seen. Bulling and favoritism are big issues at school. Principal Jay Marden has an attitude "take it or leave it". The school counselor Veronica Craft is not familiar with Ethical Standards for American School Counselors. We had to visit family phycologist after Veronica Craft 'talked' to her. Overall, the school environment is not healthy. There are so many schools around there which are much better in terms of environment, academic achievements and quality of teaching.

Carmel River Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2013
- a parent
River School is beyond amazing in all aspects. The fair, and intelligent leadership of Principal Jay Marden sets the tone of the school. Teachers are incredible! My child has computer lab, music, PE twice a week (although wish it was 5 days), science, and Spanish. There is a real sense of community between the parents and a lot of involvement. Could not be better. I have one child that went from kinder through 5th and my second is on her way to third grade.

Carmel River Elementary School 4

Posted February 02, 2012
- a community member
I am a student at River School and this is my 2nd year here after moving from another city. I came here at the beginning of 3rd grade. The education is great and people are very welcoming. Overall the school is great but WAY to much homework. In my experience some of the homework assignments are more difficult than what we do in school.


Carmel River Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2011
- a parent
We have traveled all over the U.S./overseas, due to my job, and found Carmel River Elementary School to be top-notch in every aspect. The school truly focuses on building fundamental skill and provides an atmosphere of learning and enrichment. Excellent support from the community and PTA to enable students to experience extracurricular activities, which are truly out-of-this world! By far, one of the best elementary school in California and the U.S.

Carmel River Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2010
- a parent
This school is fantastic it thoroughly deserves the great reputation. The principal is very fair and approachable. The teachers are extremely good. However, the parents are very disappointing, to borrow a phrase from a previous review "the club-like, cliquish social atmosphere" makes this school a very difficult environment to be in.

Carmel River Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a community member
I appreciate this school because the Administration and staff are sensitive to the needs of their students AND their families.


Carmel River Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Quality of education is really high, teachers are great, kids do great academically and on tests, bullying is minimal.

Carmel River Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a community member
As a grandparent and retired educator, I really appreciate the efforts and follow through of the staff for the benefit of all families.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carmel River Elementary School
Monte Verde Street And 15th Avenue, Carmel, CA  93923
(831) 624-4609
Last modified Carmel River Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carmel River Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top