Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Junipero Serra School

Private | K-8 | 190 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Carmel

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $835,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2013

Years after I completed grades 1-8 there, I am sad when I think of my time at JSS. Kindness was rare from staff and parents alike. I try not to think that my non-English speaking, single family home had something to do with the way I was treated. Supportive, intelligent priests when I was an altar boy keep me from giving zero stars.


Posted November 29, 2012

We relocated as a military family to Carmel, CA in July 2011 in time for our daughter to attend 6th grade at JSS. She was invited to participate in the Volleyball Camp before school started. She loved it and was able to meet some classmates before the start of school which really helped. Our daughter had been at the same school back in North Carolina from kindergarten through fifth grade so this was her first time going to a new school. Since day one, our family has been welcomed with open arms and we feel very blessed to be part of such a faith-filled close-knit community. We have been happy with the curriculum as well as the variety of school sports offered. And what a beautiful campus! Not all of the missions are able to have schools; how fortunate we are to have one here at the Carmel Mission!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

Our family has been at Junipero Serra School for 13 years. We have a son who graduated from Junipero Serra and is a senior at a local private Catholic boys school. He was very prepared for high school and has continued to be successful maintianing high academic honors. He could have not done this without the solid foundation he received at Junipero Serra School. We also have a daughter who graduated from Junipero Serra last year and is in her freshman year at a private Catholic girls school. She also receive a very impressive academic foundation and is doing well in high school. Our youngest is a fifth grader at Junipero Serra School and she has loved each of her years there and all of her teachers. My husband and I are Catholic and we feel very strongly that our children have a grounded moral compas largely in part to their interaction daily with the staff, administration, students and other parents at Junipero Serra School. The school has high academic standards as well and puts great emphasis on curriculum development across all grades. My husband and I have always been involved and volunteered at school, parent participation is needed and encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2012

Our daughter has been at Junipero Serra School for more than six years now, and we have found it to be a great learning environment! We feel that JSS, thus far, has provided our child with a very complete education encompassing her academic self, as well as her character and all of this has been done in a structured, yet loving environment. In fact, the environment has been so positive that our daughter has referred to it as her second home, and even at this age, looks forward to school every day. The teachers at JSS are known for their longevity at the school, as well as their dedication to and investment in their students. As a whole, they concern themselves with providing each child an outstanding education, and finding the key that unlocks each individual s potential, at all levels of the learning spectrum. And although each teacher has his/her own methodologies, we ve been impressed at the various grade levels over these past six years and the successful nature of each has been consistently reflected each year in our daughter s performance on national standardized testing. Needless to say, we recommend JSS to any family searching for a new school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2012

We have 3 children attending JSS. Our daughter is in 8th grade (and has attended since kindergarten) and our sons are in 2nd grade and Prek this year. Between all 3 kids we are in our 14th academic year. We couldn't be more pleased with our experience. Our children love going to school and have experienced a rigorous academic schedule, made great friends from lovely families and participated in many extracurricular activities. The middle school sports program is unbelievable. No other school can compare. Jss athletes have superb coaching and excellent role modeling...they are always top of the line in terms of skill and sportsmanship. The teachers (and we have had all of them by now) are excellent. Extremely talented, loving professionals who take great pride in their work. They know and focus on every child always extending themselves past the "usual" academic day. My daughter is applying to very competitive private high schools in our area and is being received by them very well. I have no doubt she will do well in one of these schools next year. This is a great choice if you are looking for a place for your child to learn, feel special and a part of a loving and welcoming spot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

Our daughter is now in her 3rd year at Junipero Serra and she's had a great experience so far. We did a lot of research when we got stationed in Monterey, as there are several public and private schools in the area. Junipero Serra was one of the most affordable options that offered strong academic and extracurricular programs in a close, family-like atmosphere. The teachers and staff are fantastic and dedicated to the students. They also stress morals, values, and faith which is very important to our family. In addition, the school is very military friendly and welcomed us in with open arms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

My daughter went to school here K through 2nd grade. It was not a good fit at all, and I wish I had never left her there as long as I did. While she was there her self esteem was very low. It was amazing to me that she could become invisible in such a small school. I moved her to Carmel River School in 3rd grade and she instantly was a new child, happy and loving school. I wish she could have gotten that from JSS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

My daughter completed 2nd grade last year at JSS. We are a Hispanic family on military orders. I had big hopes for this school but it has been a huge disappointment. 2nd grade had 30 kids.The academics level is very low compared to other private schools in the area. "Special" teachers are basically babysitters who teach almost nothing. The social aspect of the school concerns me. JSS gives a weird vibe and I want to believe that our race is not the cause, but rather that we're a military family that will move in 2 years and we were never considered part of the JSS family. The administrative assistant is very rude. She yelled at me when I brought up a mistake they made on my daughter s attendance records. The principal corrected the mistake but no apologies from her rude staff. Some parents say she's rude to everyone, but nobody does anything about it. My 2 stars are for the 2nd grade teacher and her aide; my daughter loved them and us leaving has nothing to do with them. Kudos to the classroom moms. To sum up, yes, this school isn't for everyone. Since I care for my daughter s education and I prefer a friendlier atmosphere, I decided to take my money and invest somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2012

We completely disagree with the previous reviews. Our children have attended Junipero Serra School in Carmel, CA for 7 years. Today, they attended the Monterey County "Mathletics" competition. They have recieved an excellent education. almost all of their teachers have been excellent, and the school's small class size and nurturing environment vs. cost are beyond compare in the local area. The schools budget is paltry and requires parent participation in fundraising. Teachers don't work for the salary; they could make more at McDonald's. Most are retired, long-term teachers who are there because they love the school. It's not perfect, but for 4-5 times more, kids can go to other private schools. Unfortunately, the school isn't for everyone, but if you find it not suiting your needs, there are numerous other public\private schools in the area that are top-notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2012

I completely agree with the review posted on Feb. 08, 2012. It is 100% accurate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

The campus and curriculum are great. I feel that the staff teachers aside act as though they pay us rather than the other way around. They do not give a very warm vibe although I'm sure if I made generous donations as if my $1,000+ (after school care, lunches, extras, fundraisers) a month didn't cover it. The communication is lacking unless your a stay at home mom who hangs out at the school all day. The calendar events page is terrible and half of the information is not on there. They are very vague and communication is given as though your you are an alumni of the school. Good luck newbies. Also the $150 per parent chrarege unless you attend volunteer events is ridiculous. They won't work with even if someone is in the hospital. They will still charge you. It's unfortunate because it could be an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2012

When we relocated to the Carmel area we were surprised by the number of excellent private schools throughout the Monterey Peninsula. After carefully researching each one of them, visiting the campuses and interviewing past and current families, we decided on JSS. We found it to provide the nurturing environment we wanted for our children, passionate teachers who respect the unique learning styles of each student and a challenging academic program that prepared our three children for high school. We were amazed that such a small school (in such a beautiful setting) could provide the above in a mutually respectful Christian environment.....and offer so many extras, as well!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

Junipero Serra School is great! They have wonderful teachers and staff. The children are excited to go to school.


Posted November 6, 2010

They try to give each child a superior education.


Posted November 6, 2010

It is part of a beautiful Carmel Mission.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2010

It is a loving enviroment for our kids & they are willing to accomidate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Excellent academics, safe and nurturing environment, small class sizes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

I love Junipero Serra School because it still presents Christian teaching.


Posted November 5, 2010

Best Teachers in the world and small class sizes:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Its a great school. My kid loves it and the teachers are fabulous.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Martha F. Frauenheim
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3090 Rio Road
Carmel, CA 93923
Phone: (831) 624-8322

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Monte Vista
Monterey, CA


Monte Vista
Monterey, CA



Webb Home School
Monterey, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT