Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Del Dayo Elementary School 4

Posted September 20, 2014
- a parent
Del Dayo is a great school with involved, caring teachers and an amazing amount of parent involvement. Sadly, the school suffers under the burden of a principal who seems to find children and their parents an aggravation. He is unavailable and unconcerned when confronted with an issue. The party line is we don't have issues at Del Dayo which is of course, not true. The reality is that issues are ignored, district policy consequences are not enforced and parents are left uninformed. It is a pity that the person employed to create a positive school environment is the person who I prevents this school from having one.

Del Dayo Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
The teachers at this school are the best. The principle is great. I love Del Dayo!


Del Dayo Elementary School 1

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
I love the teachers at Del Dayo and had a very positive experience when my older children went to this school. My youngest is there now along with a different principal. Recently, I've been having lunch with my child at school and have been greatly disturbed by how controlled lunchtime is. The kids have a 20 minutes recess followed by 20 minutes to eat lunch. They have a stoplight which shows how LOUD the children are and when it turns yellow, "WATERFALL....sssshhhhhhh" is what they do which I find creepy. They have to raise their hands to ask to go to the bathroom, throw garbage away, get a drink of water. and are only allowed to talk quietly to the person(s) in front and to their immediate sides (not allowed to turn around to talk to anyone behind them). They call this tables manners...I call it tyranny!

Del Dayo Elementary School 2

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
I thought this was a great school and I was wrong. For the past 3 years I have tried to understand the algorithm used for class assignment. This year it became very clear that it is based on discrimination. There are three 2nd grade classes this year. The kids were selected by their last names; all kids with immigrant parents as well as the poor kids were assigned to Mrs. Barton s class. Mrs. Barton is a transfer from another school. Her class has no resources even though the principal knew well in advance there will be three 2nd grade classes this year. The principal, Thomas Harp, does a very poor job on planning and allocating the resources. Mr. Harp is full of himself and, when you talk to him, all you hear are empty words. He judges you by the car you drive and the clothes you wear.

Del Dayo Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
This is our second year at Del Dayo. The Kindergarten teachers are superb! My 1st grader is doing amazingly well and he has the support he needs. His reading has improved two-fold as has his math just in the last four months. I must say too that his teacher this year is an angel. Don't be surprised if you have to get added to a waiting list to get into this school. It has tremendous parental and community support. Del Dayo is in a class of its own and it's worth the wait!


Del Dayo Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2012
- a parent
This school is the best! Hands down.....the staff is excellent, parent involvement is excellent and the students are excellent. =-)

Del Dayo Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2012
- a parent
I have a 5th and a 3rd grader, and can't say enough good things about the school. Great parent involvement, exceptional teachers and a supportive principal. I am shocked at the negative review posted on 5/31/12- that has been the opposite of our experience. The principal is hands-on and is doing the best he can under the severe budget constraints. Also- open enrollment is a poor excuse to blame the school's performance- if anything a strong desire to attend Del Dayo (including driving a distance) helps keep it a high-performing environment. The fund raising provides excellent perks- band, orchestra, and technology in the classroom that is unique to Del Dayo. I would highly recommend the school to any incoming parent.

Del Dayo Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2012
- a parent
I have a soon to be 3rd grader that has been going to Del Dayo since Kindergarten. My husband and I have been extremely impressed with the teachers, principal, staff, students, PTO, extra programs, field trips (the list goes on and on) - since day 1. Not sure what the last parent who posted a comment on May 31st, 2012 is talking about but the Principal has always been very supportive, positive and does the best he can with school budget cuts and other political influences of the district. We highly recommend Del Dayo! Can t say enough good things about the school.


Del Dayo Elementary School 3

Posted May 31, 2012
- a parent
This school used to be very special but it has lost its vibrancy. The current principal is worthless. Absolutely a "yes" man for the District and very little advocating for the school School has really gone down hill since Trudy left. Open enrollment, lack of support for academically gifted children and too much teaching to the standardized tests has created a poor environment. While there is lots of parent involvement, it comes some parental nonsense too. Too many sacrifices here...we are leaving.

Del Dayo Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2011
- a parent
Third year attending and this is AN EXCELLENT CHOICE OF SCHOOL! Outstanding teachers/ staff that are dedicated PLUS high parent involvement PLUS high academic standards EQUALS test scores among the highest in the region. Technology abounds, 2 computer labs, computer techinician on staff, full time librarian, library itself is fantastic, author days, music teacher, art teacher, PE classes, family library nights, science nights, assemblies, art docent program, book fairs -- the list goes on and on. Beautiful campus, friendly neighborhood school that is committed to educating and preparing the students to become well rounded and thoughtful citizens!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Del Dayo Elementary School
1301 Mcclaren Drive, Carmichael, CA  95608
(916) 575-2323
Last modified Del Dayo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Del Dayo Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews.