Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mary Deterding Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 7, 2011

Deterding is an excellent elementary school where the arts are academic. I love that my kids have art from a credentialed art teacher with challenging lessons several times a week. They also have art instruction in the classroom with their teachers. The band program is fantastic and the choir (although after school) is even more amazing. The school provides music in the classroom too and endless after school activities. I share concerns that the school has grown too big, but that is being addressed. The teachers are fabulous and provide a healthy learning environment which results in a high API score. I would encourage those who have a poor opinion of the school to get more involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

I am glad I am not the only one who feels this way. I really thought it was me...I thought I did something wrong...when I had to go into the office or have some sort of communication with one of the teacher's I always felt like they all hated me. I am now thinking about pulling my kids out of that school. I do not feel like my kids are safe or in a positive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

Deterding was a good school years ago under principal Kenfield. Not anymore. The teachers have become complacent and cannot be bothered. The principal is crass, deceitful and uncooperative all the while defending the complacency of the teachers. The current curriculum is just enough to "get by" to meet the basic state standards. The school would be nothing without parental/family involvement to provide the extra funding and programs.


Posted May 19, 2011

Just returned from visiting the children from 4th grade classes, camping at Malakoff Diggins State Park. What a awesome experience. I have been so impressed with this school over the past 4 years. It really warms my heart and gives me faith that our children and grand-children are in good hands. Thank you from a students grand-mother.


Posted April 10, 2011

This is my daughter's second year at Deterding. I like the school. But don't LOVE it!? My daughter has had some academic problems, and I feel that the teacher/principal should go through some training on how to talk to parents about this. I do not feel that they handled it in a sympathetic manner. I will however give the office staff a 5 star rating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

My child has attended Deterding for two years, and our experience has definitely been hot and cold. We had an excellent, experienced, and actively involved teacher the first year - she made all the difference. This year, not so lucky with either the teach or the administration. The emphasis on the arts is great, but it unfortunately comes at the expence of academics. Science is not even part of the curriculum in the lower grades (!) and computers are largerly absent from the classrooms. My child's class work and homework is comprised entirely of worksheets this year, and if "hands-on" learning is occurring, I'm unaware of it. No field trips because the teacher can't be bothered. The after school program is very good, with experienced and engaged staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2011

This school is so wonderful...teachers are great, parent involvement is great, and the PTA/DART/PERLE associations are all excellent and do their best to provide extra funding to promote music and art in the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

my daughter started her kindergarten this year and i should say we are very happy with that. I can see her interest and involvement in everyday activities that they handle. I think this school is very nice. They create all benefits for students to be successful. the parent involvement is also very strong. she has an amazing teacher and I am very happy with his methods of teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

I would lke to rate this school very high for several reasons. I'm sure that many, if not all parents agree with me when I say that our children are the most important thing to us. I loved how physically secure the school is and how the gates are regulated. It's big for me since I'm a Military Security Contractor and I notice things like this right off the bat. The staff is very attentive and cares very much for all of their students. All of my interactions have been positive even when things were not in my sons favor. I noticed that the teaching staff interacts regularly with the principle and they appear to be on the same page with the all issues concerning the school activities and student. In conjunction with the many programs this school has, I would rate their afterschool program 5 stars as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

The principal Donna Kenfield is wonderful and helps make this school as great as it. The teachers are all awesome too. They have an excellent art program with a resident art teacher. There music program is outstanding too! My daughter attends here and she loves it. I love to participate any way I can, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

My children have been to 3 different schools in this area. This school is absolutely amazing. The teachers are so involved and caring and the parent work together to insure the children get plenty of extra activities. I wouldn't take my children to any other school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2007

The RL program is great! The kids really listen, ever sice my daughter went there it has been great, she is now in Mr. Harringtins class. The band teacher just changed,it used to be Mrs.Lehr, but now it's Mrs.Takanikos,she is very cool. She must really have it hard teaching Chuchill Middle School with Deterding it must be hectic. But the band souds great. And the art teacher Mrs. Weil is a very good art teacher. Mr. Dozet the chior teacher is very nice and he can sing too. The P.E. teachers are acually the teachers witch is okay. I really enjoy Deterding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

We have been at Deterding from our daughter's first day of Kindergarten in 2003. We absolutely love the school, especially the Art and Music programs. Our daughter is now in the Rapid Learner program, and we are working hard to make sure that there isn't such a big dichotomy between the RL kids and the rest of the kids at school. I think that by sharing the grade level musicals, the same recesses, lunches, etc., the principal is really trying to ensure that all the kids at Deterding feel special and equal. This school is like a hidden jewel in the middle of Carmichael, and more people should be aware of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Deterding is a wonderful school that provides great access to art, music, band. They had, for most of my daughters tenure, an amazing choir. As soon as the teacher left, it seems the air just went out of that program. The band and art programs are still amazing for elementary schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

Incredible schhol for an Arts focus....Love the music (vocal and instrument) program.The choir director George Dozet is the best I've seen. He has such a wonderful program and really knows how to get them exposed to the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2003

This is a great school. My child went to this school K-6. While she was not in the Rapid Learner Program (by our choice). She did learn the hard rule that those are the children that get the 'perks'. As far as the scores, I know one year not too long ago, it was the neighborhood classes that pulled the scores up, and the Rapid Learner was somewhat of a disappointment that year. I have never found a school that is so 'us' and 'them'. While my daughter got a good education from this school, I would not do it again.


Posted June 1, 2003

One reason the test scores are high is because this school has a 'rapid learner' program. Push your child hard to make the grade and they will get into this program and receive the extra 'perks' and will feel like the they own the school, and what 'they' do rules. The neighborhood children, on the other hand, are considered on the lower rung-of-the-ladder. It is sad that children learn about social class at such a young age. My children attended this school (as neighborhood students) from K-6th. I did not have them tested more than three times to get them into the rapid learner program. Is there that many gifted children in our neighborhood, or is it their parents total involvement that makes the grade?


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

894

Change from
2012 to 2013

-25

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

894

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-25

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females58%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state49%

Math

All Students67%
Females68%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females79%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to state50%

Math

All Students87%
Females91%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Females88%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state59%

Math

All Students92%
Females92%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females80%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state77%

Math

All Students85%
Females84%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state85%

Science

All Students82%
Females76%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females69%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state62%

Math

All Students69%
Females63%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Hispanic 14%
Asian 9%
Black 8%
Two or more races 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/AN/A
English language learners 5%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6000 Stanley Avenue
Carmichael, CA 95608
Phone: (916) 575-2338

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




El Rancho School
Carmichael, CA



Paragon Program
Carmichael, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT