Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomas Kelly Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 356 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

thank you so much for allowing us to drive right up and collector children this has been so great other schools are not as polite and courteous it would have a spark miles away to come and collect our children I am grateful for all the staff and the principal at Thomas Kelly elementary school you guys are awesome keep up the good work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

I have been a parent at TK for 6 years. There have been recent changes to the drop-off/Pick-up circle and I am grateful. The TK staff and PTA volunteers have slowed down the traffic in the circle, created an orderly system that keeps traffic moving and our children safer. They have even offered to walk pre-k & K kids to their playground for parents that cannot park & walk their small children themselves. TK also has a wonderful parking zone that pre-k & K parents can use to walk students to class or watch them walk in. I am sad to see that someone was so negative in their review of our school, when clearly it is their choice. Stopping in the Drop-off/pick-up zone to walk a child to class or the playground will hold up the whole line of parents needing to make sure their own child gets there on time and safely. :( I believe that the TK Principal and Staff demonstrate in words and deed what it truly means to be an IB student. They are thinkers, knowledgeable, open minded, communicators, principled, risk takers, inquirers, reflective, balanced & most of all, caring. I am grateful that they are instructing my child & have created such an amazing environment. Thank you Thomas Kelly!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Thomas Kelly is hands down the BEST elementary school in Carmichael area. I am so proud of our students for bringing the API test score up +36 for 2013! A little over 2 years ago TK began the IB learning program. I really think this shows the POSITIVE impact IB is having on our children!!!! My oldest daughter even scored advanced in English Language Arts and Mathematics on her STAR tests for 2013! BEST TEACHERS! BEST PRINCIPAL! BEST PARENTS and BEST STUDENTS!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2013

i love t.k both my daughters went there and i was very happy with their education .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

his will be my sons last year at Thomas Kelly because of the district changes :( ...I cant give enough thanks to everyone that has come through for us over the years. Mrs. Blaine,Mrs. Rimby, Mrs. Bustamante, Mrs. Carl,Mrs. Gardner, Mrs. Russell,Mrs. Chi ,Ms. Terry, Ms. Spencer Miss Anne...and especially Mrs. Walden. That woman is a rock!!!!!!Thank you to the ladies in the office for all for your support as well!!!!Cant forget Carlos & the P.T.A. Cathy Ennis is a saint in my book...so much that I will sit on the board to ensure that my 3 year old will have the same great experience that my son did!!!!! GO EAGLES!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

Thomas kelly is the best school. Ms. Blain is an amazing kindergarten teacher and ms. Carl is the best 1st grade teacher. My daughters love thier principal ms. Terry!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

The support that my son and myself have received from the team at Thomas Kelly is amazing.This bunch is very dedicated to helping our children grow up strong and wise!!! No complaints!! GO EAGLES!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

My Son has been here since 1st grade and the Teachers have been nothing but supportive and worked closley with me as my son has ADHD and were more than happy to communicate with me even on a daily basis if nessasary to keep my son focused and on track. My son is in 6th grade this year and we will miss Thomas Kelly when we move on to Jr. High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

My son attended this school from K-4th, unfortunately we had to move, and I want to say this school was the best I have been through. If you decide to have your child go here, it is great. The staff, teachers, programs, principal and programs. My son is now in 8th grade and school selection in my district has been trying, although the first steps of his learning I believe has made him the strong person he is today. Great School!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

AMAZING School. We received the 2007-2008 California Distinguished School Award! This is Our child's second year and he is doing great & LOVES school! Incredible Principal. Also a truly dedicated and invested group of educators. If you can get into this school, do it, you will be so glad you took a chance. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

We have been at Thomas Kelly since my oldest started the fifth grade and she is now in college.. My other three attend and are in the 1st, 2nd, and 4th grades.. Never had any problems(except for some parents and their parking/drop off issues, which this year are way better!) The new teacher for 4th grade, Miss Garcia, is a wonderful addition to Thomas Kelly....Thank you T.K. for hiring her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

My daughter just started fourth grade this year. I hope that this year will be as successful as the previous ones. She's been in TK since Kindergarten, and I have not one thing bad to say about this school. The campus is clean, safe and easily accessible. The teachers are amazing, every one of them. Mrs. Terry is doing a wonderful job and her staff are always helpful and great with the kids. Thanks, TK, for starting our kids on the right path towards their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

My family is new to Thomas Kelly this year, but I have been extremely impressed with the principal, the staff, and the teachers. Communication is very positive, and student safety and discipline are constantly reinforced. Teachers are experienced and dedicated. The principal is very available, approachable, and follows through with parent concerns. The entire staff is friendly and hard working. This has been a very positive move for my family. I'm glad my children have had the opportunity to attend such a fine school-- one that stresses high academic and behavior standards and focuses on citizenship and self-responsibility. In addition, there are several extracurricular activities (band, choir, chess club, student council, Roots and Shoots) from which to choose. The PTA is very active, and parents have lots of opportunities to volunteer for activities and in classrooms. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2006

Our kids have been going to Thomas Kelly for the past four years. Overall, we have been very satisfied with their education. We were sorry to see the last principal leave this year - he did so much for the school's vision and sense of spirit! We are not impressed with the new principal at all! She has a very poor discipline of students and tolerates unbelievable behaviors. The teachers seem to be a close knit group and enjoy the kids. There are many favorites among the students. Our only wish is that the kids would be able to go on more field trips, as there are hardly any! There is a great music, art, and band program though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

We have a new principal this year and I cant think of a word to describe her because there isnt any one word in the english language that I know of that expresses what she does. In the morning with Starbucks coffee in hand she greets each child by first name. When the children have an activity she is always there cheering them on and supporting them whether it be behind the scenes making sure they have something or shes there in front. This is my sons second year and I knew the outgoing principal for 21 years and though there are those who miss him we couldnt have a better leader than Deanna Terry (current principal).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

Our daughter has been attending TK for over 3 years now and she has just blossomed under the care of the administration at this school. The teacher's have been wonderful(extra caring) and the classes are set up so that student's receive enough challenge's bases on their academic level. We've made some great friends with students as well as the parents that are involved. We have a new principal this year and she has been very involved with all the activities that have taken place so far-we look forward to another great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

My son absolutely loves this school. The teachers are very helpful and stay in the parents corner whether you need something small or large they are very close knit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

I have been involved at Thomas Kelly Elementary for 5 years. I've always been impressed with the way this school operates. The staff really seem to care about the children. The work sent home is always spelled out so there are never any questions and there are several available ways to contact teachers which makes communication easy. The kids love it and there is also a lot of parent involvement. I wish there was more Physical Education and art available in the district. The level of safety in this school is incredible. I feel confident that my kids are safe at all times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

My two sons attended this schools from 3 thru 6 and from 1-5 grades. They enjoyed this school and all their teachers each year. The emphasiss is teaching respect, honesty and value of self. They participated in band and sports and enjoyed the art programs as well. The school and district spent extra resources in helping my oldest in reading and one on one special instruction and did not drop the ball on his reading studies. Both children have moved to their middle schools with a great knowledge and solid basis for any on going education and always look forward to the next school year. I have Thomas Kelly to thank for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I have two children - a second and a fourth grader. So far, the teaching staff has been phenominal. Consistant and caring. I have not had the best experiences with the principal, Mr. Pederson, but personalities are different. I'm glad my kids get wonderful grades and citizenship awards and seem to be excelling despite those differences. I credit the teachers for allowing parental involvement in the classroom for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

799

Change from
2012 to 2013

+36

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

799

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+36

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Females57%
Males34%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only45%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state24%

Math

All Students49%
Females50%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino25%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females52%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students49%
Females52%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females65%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females73%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females74%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females87%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students64%
Females65%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 27%
Black 15% 7%
Hispanic 12% 51%
Asian 3% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6301 Moraga Drive
Carmichael, CA 95608
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 867-2041

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT