Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Albert Schweitzer Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 19, 2016
- a community member
The special education staff is terrific, very caring, and compassionate. The front office staff is very friendly, and they know all their students.

Albert Schweitzer Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 19, 2016
- a community member
There are many school events at this school, and they encourage kids to read. The PTA is very active in the school community.


Albert Schweitzer Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2016
- a community member
I am writing this review as a parent of a special education student with ADHD, and auditory processing disorder, and speech and language delay. My child is in a special day class at this school. From day one they were caring and compassionate. They made my son feel welcome, and most important of all he is learning, something he hasn't done in the past year at his previous school.

Albert Schweitzer Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Gerke, has been a part of my children's live many times. She has taken an interest to not only their learning in the classroom, but outside of school. I was amazed to see her over the summer at a swim meet. She was cheering them on like they were her own children. She is very dedicated to their education and who they are as a person. My child struggled in reading. She was very persistent and pushed them to become a reader. My child is very aware of their expectations and how to accomplish them and they know how to push themselves. My oldest child is in high school and she still talks about how she gave her a strong foundation to make her feel successful. I'm forever grateful for her dedication to my children.

Albert Schweitzer Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
Most of the teachers have a masters in integrating the arts. They incorporate the arts into many lessons. Also, many of their teachers have been trained in Readers Workshop in New York. They had an intense week of how to teach reading. They do not use the old hard cover reading books I used in school, but rather they read books that interest them. They have also been trained in Critical Literacy, and Writers Workshop. With this type of whole school training, it's made Schweitzer what it is today, very effective training for very effective learning, which leads to a very successful child.


Albert Schweitzer Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
My child has a very small amount of homework. They have to read 30 minutes in their just right reading book, a book at their level, and a page of math. My child will often have notes on their math paper to show me how she is teaching math. I've had to have a very open mind to how she teaches math. I'm awe struck at what he can do.

Albert Schweitzer Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
My child's 3rd grade teacher has my child knowing they can go above and beyond what they can do. She pushes their thinking and makes them feel successful for any growth. My child hated reading this year, but with her dedication and maiming he believe in himself, he has turned into a reader. She stuck with him, she was persistent with what he was reading, and is in constant communication with how he is growing. She makes him feel proud of what he has accomplished not matter how small. She has taught him to never give up- be persistent.

Albert Schweitzer Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
Students have a strong respect for not only each other but for their teacher. This can been seen and heard in classrooms, the playground, and in the hallways.


Albert Schweitzer Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
The compassion my child receives from their teacher and others in their classroom is amazing to see and hear. Students support one another's learning and are eager to help one another if a classmate is struggling. This is built through my child's 3rd grade teacher who promotes this strong sense of compassion for each other.

Albert Schweitzer Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
Students are held accountable for all their work in class. My child's 3rd grade teacher really pushes their thinking to do their best and beyond. She has built a community of learners in her classrooms that allows all students at different learning stages feel successful. Students respect each other's learning stage and support one another without hesitation.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Albert Schweitzer Elementary School
4350 Glenridge Drive, Carmichael, CA  95608-2043
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (916) 867-2094
Last modified Albert Schweitzer Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top