Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northlake Hills Elementary School 1

Posted December 10, 2012
- a parent
Overall, I have had years of struggles with this school to stay informed on my daughters progress and getting the proper education they lead you to believe you will get with all their bragging on state scores. I'm finding my children struggling with homework that has not been taught to them, only to find further issues when report cards are issued even after numerous attempts at communicating ongoing progress requests. Staff is more concerned on the state testing to maintain their ego then properly teaching. I'm having to go to elementary school all over again in order to get my children through. The only reason I haven't changed schools is because of having joint custody has left me helpless in transferring them. When expressing in detail how living between two homes, we as a family need better communication, I'm met with little to no effort on the school's part. This school like the rest of the great city of City of Santa Clarita, pretending to be greater then it really is. Disappointed on many levels and on many topics.

Northlake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2012
- a parent
Love this school, great programs and involved caring staff. Amazing principal and staff. Can't say enough, clean facilities, accountability for students, love it!


Northlake Hills Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 11, 2009
- a parent
I have mixed feeling about the school. We are waking up to the fact that the little school in nice neighborhood does not meet my child s needs and does not fit with out philosophy either. Academically there are better ones in the area. They very easily settle for average. The principal is very visible all over the school in all events - but if I were to ask him if he had heard of my child who has received awards in school he would not know how to pronounce or spell the child s name. The school is deficient in new technology. The teachers still use overhead projectors for presentation. The teachers do not use e-mails as correspondence. Definitely not a new age school! I would have concerns if the school expanded into middle and high school level classes.

Northlake Hills Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
The dedicated teachers, staff, and community make Northlake Hills Elementary a great place to learn!

Northlake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
The feeling of community is the best. The teachers are wonderful and caring and want to see ALL of the kids succeed. It is a great academic school with a small town feel. We are proud to be Northlake Hills Eagles!


Northlake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2007
- a parent
I am thrilled to have my son at Northlake Hills. He has had fabulous teachers and a principal who is a leader, not a follower. Wonderful school.

Northlake Hills Elementary School 4

Posted September 01, 2005
- a parent
The school grounds themselves are spacious and beautiful. The school has a built in music program that actually teaches music instruments starting in fourth and fifth grade. They have laptops for classes to borrow for reports starting in those older grades and have a volunteer Junior Achievement program. My only concern about their overall academics is they seem satisfied with average or proficient. If a child is high, they seem to have little built in to challenge them and even seemed annoyed at the prospect of trying to. This school has an excellent and involved PTA and parent helper program and it is much more accessible than other schools I have had my kids enrolled in the past.

Northlake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2004
- a parent
We have just completed our inaugural year (2003-04) and it was wonderful! Our new school campus is beautiful. The parent involvement and the parent/teacher interaction is fantastic. Our newly-formed PTA was recognized by the State PTA Council and won awards at the end our our first year. Our principal, Rhonda Steinberg, is the best! We have great school spirit and a welcoming and supportive staff and student body. We highly recommend Northlake Hills Elementary School and look forward to soaring into 2005 with our Eagles!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northlake Hills Elementary School
32545 Ridge Route Road, Castaic, CA  91384-4133
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (661) 257-4560
Last modified Northlake Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-7. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top