Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Castro Valley, CA
Students enrolled: 433

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Castro Valley Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
Overall, this school is really great. We have a daughter in pre-k and k, and they both have learned so much from their teachers. They really do encourage parents to volunteer, which I think is hugely important. The biggest issue is that there is a large percentage of students coming in to kindergarten without some of the basics. This does slow down some of the large class work. Luckily, the teachers do small group instruction as well, which helps those students who are a little further along. The thing I love about this school is how multicultural it is. Students literally from around the world. This bit of education is invaluable.

Castro Valley Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
Very happy with school. I know my child is receiving a great education by caring and knowledgeable teachers & faculty. Would highly recommend this school.


Castro Valley Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school. Great grounds and awesome teachers. I found that the teachers not only were excellent at their job (teaching) but at gaining trust, respect, and even friendship from their students.

Castro Valley Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
My son goes here for over a year: Great school & amazing & dedicated teachers!!! Very happy to be part of CVE!!!

Castro Valley Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
I love this great school because the teachers pay full attention to every single child and give them the love and respect.


Castro Valley Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2012
- a parent
My son goes to school here he is just finishing 1st grade. I must say I love this school and the involvement with the teachers.

Castro Valley Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2011
- a parent
My Daughter is in KG and she loves it!! I am proud that my daughter is in CVE!! Initially when I saw the ranking of 7 OUT OF 10....I was little worried but very soon I realized that my choice was correct!! My daughter loves to go to the school each day, I have seen the education method by her teacher and am confident about my decision!!

Castro Valley Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
My son is just about to end 1st grade at CVE. I can't think of a better place for him to spend his elementary school education. Principal Denise Hohn is an amazing lady who makes it a point to respect and get to know the kids as well as the parents. I am impressed by the amount of enthusiastic parental involvement through PATA, family participation and class volunteering. CVE has an excellent teaching staff, and friendly school staff coming together to make this uniquely diverse campus work.


Castro Valley Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
My son is entering 1st grade in September. I could not be happier with his wonderful kindie teacher. She was truly meant to teach little ones. Her dedication to her class and her craft really shined through. The teachers I encountered were all enthusiastic about CVE. I was impressed by the parent involvement in continuing to make CVE the place to be!

Castro Valley Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2008
- a parent
My son is in Kindergarten this year. I am lucky enough to have had a transfer from san Leandro District to CV. I think this school is great so far!! Very academically driven, great staff and principal. I am very impressed with this school. CVE is the place to be!!!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Castro Valley Elementary School
20185 San Miguel Avenue, Castro Valley, CA  94546
(510) 537-1919
Last modified Castro Valley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Castro Valley Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top