Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Castro Valley, CA
Students enrolled: 588
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Independent Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
Independent is an excellent school with wonderful principal, caring teachers and outstanding PTA. I'm so happy that I chose this school for my daughter.

Independent Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2010
- a parent
Having been at private schools previously, it was an easy transition for my children to acclimate to Independent Elementary last year. The teachers I've had the honor to work with in my children's education, the other families we've met, and the after school program associated with the school are all of the highest quality. It is a wonderful community of teachers and families that provides a well rounded environment for the children to grow and mature in. Definitely didn't expect to find this level of quality and sense of community in a public school. Such a happy surprise!


Independent Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
The community is amazing at Independent elementary. The staff have always made us feel as though we are truly, all one big family. The teachers genuinely care about their students and the families of their students. The teachers guide the children through their academic adventures with love, intellect and compassion. I love the school so much that I am now earning my teaching credential and doing my field work at Independent. This school cares about all of us, they deserve to be appreciated.

Independent Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Independent Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school. Teachers are great. They definitely assist and foster the growth of each students.


Independent Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 27, 2009
- a parent
My son is a new student at Independent. His teacher Mrs Hanson is GREAT!. She is a natural. The principal is great leader and most of all my son loves going to school there.

Independent Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2009
- a parent
Both of my children are students at Independent and they love it!!! The teachers are great and know how to chanllenge the students while encouraging their individual strengths and fostering growth when it comes to their weaknesses. The principal is friendly and is always available.

Independent Elementary School 3

Posted December 18, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Independent Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2008
- a parent
Teachers are expectacular. They are open minded and very caring.

Independent Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
Great School, great teachers, fine principle. My kids are thriving there.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Independent Elementary School
21201 Independent School Road, Castro Valley, CA  94552
(510) 537-9558
Last modified Independent Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Independent Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top