Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Castro Valley, CA
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Independent Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 19, 2015
- a student
Values are core to the curriculum with awards given to those who model good behavior.

Independent Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2015
- a student
Fantastic leadership and staff, high parent involvement, excellent PTA, top quality after school program (Adventure Time). There does appear to be an emerging issue related to higher needs kids coming in from outside the area. These kids are placing extra demands on the teachers, straining their ability to maintain the existing high standards.


Independent Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 19, 2015
- a student
Fantastic principle, faculty, and parents. There are some emerging challenges associated with higher needs students coming in from outside the area.

Independent Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
Independent is an excellent school with wonderful principal, caring teachers and outstanding PTA. I'm so happy that I chose this school for my daughter.

Independent Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2010
- a parent
Having been at private schools previously, it was an easy transition for my children to acclimate to Independent Elementary last year. The teachers I've had the honor to work with in my children's education, the other families we've met, and the after school program associated with the school are all of the highest quality. It is a wonderful community of teachers and families that provides a well rounded environment for the children to grow and mature in. Definitely didn't expect to find this level of quality and sense of community in a public school. Such a happy surprise!


Independent Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
The community is amazing at Independent elementary. The staff have always made us feel as though we are truly, all one big family. The teachers genuinely care about their students and the families of their students. The teachers guide the children through their academic adventures with love, intellect and compassion. I love the school so much that I am now earning my teaching credential and doing my field work at Independent. This school cares about all of us, they deserve to be appreciated.

Independent Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school. Teachers are great. They definitely assist and foster the growth of each students.

Independent Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 27, 2009
- a parent
My son is a new student at Independent. His teacher Mrs Hanson is GREAT!. She is a natural. The principal is great leader and most of all my son loves going to school there.


Independent Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2009
- a parent
Both of my children are students at Independent and they love it!!! The teachers are great and know how to chanllenge the students while encouraging their individual strengths and fostering growth when it comes to their weaknesses. The principal is friendly and is always available.

Independent Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2008
- a parent
Teachers are expectacular. They are open minded and very caring.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Independent Elementary School
21201 Independent School Road, Castro Valley, CA  94552
(510) 537-9558
Last modified Independent Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Independent Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top