Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Independent Elementary School 1

Posted December 30, 2015
- a parent
So many issues with this school. From the indifferent staff and principal, to the complete lack of security or caring for your child's safety (mine was left alone to wait for me after school on her own in the parking lot), the 3 story staircase that all the little ones have to walk up every morning (God forbid one of them fall down and domino all the others). I would like think the teachers are caring. Unfortunately, my child did not get one of those. Please consider a different school for your child. I left an honest review on Greatschools and it was deleted. Nothing defamatory in it, and did not name names. Are you going to delete this one too, GS???

Independent Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 19, 2015
- a student
Values are core to the curriculum with awards given to those who model good behavior.


Independent Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2015
- a student
Fantastic leadership and staff, high parent involvement, excellent PTA, top quality after school program (Adventure Time). There does appear to be an emerging issue related to higher needs kids coming in from outside the area. These kids are placing extra demands on the teachers, straining their ability to maintain the existing high standards.

Independent Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 19, 2015
- a student
Fantastic principle, faculty, and parents. There are some emerging challenges associated with higher needs students coming in from outside the area.

Independent Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
Independent is an excellent school with wonderful principal, caring teachers and outstanding PTA. I'm so happy that I chose this school for my daughter.


Independent Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2010
- a parent
Having been at private schools previously, it was an easy transition for my children to acclimate to Independent Elementary last year. The teachers I've had the honor to work with in my children's education, the other families we've met, and the after school program associated with the school are all of the highest quality. It is a wonderful community of teachers and families that provides a well rounded environment for the children to grow and mature in. Definitely didn't expect to find this level of quality and sense of community in a public school. Such a happy surprise!

Independent Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
The community is amazing at Independent elementary. The staff have always made us feel as though we are truly, all one big family. The teachers genuinely care about their students and the families of their students. The teachers guide the children through their academic adventures with love, intellect and compassion. I love the school so much that I am now earning my teaching credential and doing my field work at Independent. This school cares about all of us, they deserve to be appreciated.

Independent Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school. Teachers are great. They definitely assist and foster the growth of each students.


Independent Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 27, 2009
- a parent
My son is a new student at Independent. His teacher Mrs Hanson is GREAT!. She is a natural. The principal is great leader and most of all my son loves going to school there.

Independent Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2009
- a parent
Both of my children are students at Independent and they love it!!! The teachers are great and know how to chanllenge the students while encouraging their individual strengths and fostering growth when it comes to their weaknesses. The principal is friendly and is always available.

Nearby schools

Independent Elementary School
21201 Independent School Road, Castro Valley, CA  94552-4826
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (510) 537-9558
Last modified Independent Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top