Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Palomares Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
We absolutely love this school. The teachers are passionate about helping all of the kids learn. The new, now full-time principal has provided even greater focus. We like the small school size and sense of community among the parents. The PTA is great and seem to fill in all of the technology deficits that come from budget cuts. Overall, an amazing small school.

Palomares Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Although a review will spill the secret...I do think this is one of the best kept secrets in Castro Valley. We have a small student population, a great dedicated staff of teachers, a vibrant parent community and an environmental treasure for on site learning - our creek. In a time of budget cuts and declining education, I feel privileged to call Palomares our home school.


Palomares Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
My daughter came from another distinguished CV school but there's a total diffference with the principal, teachers and parents from this school. Iam highly impressed and looking forward to this school year...

Palomares Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2009
- a parent
We feel so lucky to have found this school. My son started Kindergarten here and loves it. Being a child who thrives in nature, the school setting is perfect for him. Situated next to a creek in the forested canyon, it feels as if your child is attending summer camp everyday. And the quality of education is excellent. The school is small enough to offer individual attention to every student and parent involvement is very active. Perks you usually only find at expensive private schools. This school is a hidden gem!

Palomares Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2006
- a parent
There is a strong sense of community at Palomares Elementary, including parents, teachers and students, and an unparalleled (in my experience) devotion to education - not just excellent academics, but about life and being a responsible person.


Palomares Elementary School 4

Posted December 06, 2005
- a parent
This small school is in such an idyllic setting and has very a collaborative work environment. The school has its own organic garden and children walk past an interpretive nature trail on their way to and from the school site. Parent participation in very high, especially in the primary grades. One of the things that impressed me the most was how comfortable the kindergarten students felt with their classmates' parents. The active participaters reach out to the kids from more troubled homes. Currently there is no cafeteria, but this new building is also nearing completion. There se good options for providing sports activities after school including a winning girls volleyball team. The principal is in her first year at Palomares, but she appears to be a hands-on, take charge problem solver.

Palomares Elementary School 4

Posted October 01, 2005
- a parent
Palomares is a very unique, small school. The Watershed Program is the big attraction. In addition, there are plenty of school wide functions (this is rare in other schools and is only possible here because of the size of the school) such as the Thanksgiving Feast, the Easter Egg Hunt, the Palomares Heritage Day etc.

Palomares Elementary School 4

Posted June 25, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Palomares Elementary School 4

Posted September 04, 2004
- a parent
Palomares offers an exceptional learning environment for students. My child has attended K-5th and enjoyed his time there. The opportunity the small campus provides for everyone to know each other and communicate is wonderful. The ability to have big classrooms and a wonderful rural setting makes up for the lack of a gym/multipurpose room.

Palomares Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2004
- a parent
Palomares is a well hidden jewel in the CVUSD. I've had my two children there for the last 4 years and strongly encourage interested parents to consider this school. Granted there are some aspects that are undesirable but seem insignificant when you weigh them against all that is good such as: smaller child/teacher ratio, strong science program, pretty good enrichment program such as foreign language and art, excellent teachers, environment that you and your child will fall in love with. Advice: stay involved and informed. Be an advocate for your child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Palomares Elementary School
6395 Palo Verde Road, Castro Valley, CA  94552
(510) 582-4207
Last modified Palomares Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Palomares Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top