Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stanton Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2013

Diverse learning environment, fantastic principal, high standards, plenty of extracurricular activities. Wish more parents would get involved, but that seems to be the norm at any school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

I too had problems with a teacher at this school. I caught her yelling at students and once at my daughter as I stood behind her. She was caught off guard as there was no justification for her behavior. Favoritism was definitely apparent. I also spoke to the Principal about my concerns and felt she was too passive. Fortunately, my daughter only attended one school year. She graduated and I sought out an alternative school for my son who was going into Kindergarten through Open Enrollment. I could not be happier. I gave this school two stars for their literacy programs and ELAC (English Learner Advisory Committee).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2012

At the time my son was there Jack was principle and he was great. But my son had a teacher who was cruel to him. Essentially she bullied him. She had favorites and he wasn't one of them. I didn't know how bad it was until a year later when his friends started telling me about the way she treated him. She teaches a different grade now and it's been a few years but she will always be remembered. The other teachers were great but she made a 10 year old boy feel terrible about himself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

As a retired teacher who ended her career at Stanton Elementary School, I was always impressed with the wonderful support the Parents' Club gave to me and my students. I couldn't have done it without my amazing parent helpers in the classroom either. The community school is outstanding in every respect! :^)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 1, 2010

I'm really impressed by the recent STAR test results from 2nd and 5th graders. Congrats to the students, parents and teachers for a job well done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

I'm a Dad with a similar experience as the other parent who rated this school at 2 stars. Bullying is not punished by the teachers. We had an experience where bullying became a serious safety issue, and even the principal refused to address it until the problem was escalated to her superiors at the district office. Too many of the teachers yell at the children, and two of them hand out 'behavior cards' (intended to punish bad behavior) for children with good behavior who don't finish writing assignments on time. The school has good test scores, but is critically misguided regarding discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

I love this great school because they, put atention to every single child an what they need help, thas way they are the # 1 start
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

It is unfortunate that the person before me had a bad experience, but I don't think that is usually the case. My children and my neighbors' children love Stanton Elementary and the teachers. They work hard and really care about the students. The pressure for high test scores is true for all schools, not just here at Stanton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

Well, my opinion is probably not going to be too popular here. While the teachers in general are, for the most part, caring and hard working, bullying against children (and yes, it does happen) is often ignored, or the child is expected to handle the problem better than many adults would do. There is also a tendency if you're a parent who is unable, due to real world constraints such as work to be very involved, to have your concerns brushed under the carpet. Problem children who do something positive get praised, good kids who are consistently good are often overlooked for the same praise. I was told by one teacher that this individual felt that 'Caught Being Good' should really be given to those more problematic as a way of encouragement. Where's the encouragement for the kids who strive to do their best and stay out of trouble? Sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

Fantastic school. All my neighbors love it, I love it, annd more importantly my children love it. Every teacher I have encounter seems to really know their stuff. Some teachers don't seem to get involved as much as others. I always recommend this school to my friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

My son has attended since 2005. Scores have gone up, scores have gone down. The push to learn is too much, too fast - just for test scores. Most of the teachers are good enough, but nothing spectacular. Not enough parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

Both our daughters attend Stanton Elem. The elder one transfered in from a private school after her kindergarden year and have thrived so much. And our younger daughter knows just about everyone, most happy go lucky kid. Great school, great principal and great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

My daughter was in Kindergartn last year and Miss Souvanasane was her teacher. I am new to this, being that this is my first child enrolled in school, but I must say we really enjoyed our year at Stanton. Parent involvment was great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

Stanton Elementary School is an outstanding school in almost every respect. I serve on the school's Site Council and keep in close contact with my children's teacher. Over the course of the past 5 years I've witnessed some of the most talented and passionate teachers and administrators work tirelessly to mold our children while working with fewer and fewer resources as budget cuts take their toll. Unfortunately, there is but a small core of parents/guardians who perform most of the volunteer responsibilities. Stanton Elementary has a very racially and economically diverse student population that I find very rewarding and refreshing. My children are thriving at Stanton!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2004

Very active principal, sometimes too pushy for partents assistance and/or fundraising. Teachers seem to be nice, however they demand a lot of parents' help. Overall there's a lot of attention paid to the child's behavoir and academics. Good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

This is a great school. Great grounds and awesome teachers. I found that the teachers not only were excellent at their job (teaching) but at gaining trust, respect, and even friendship from their students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 16, 2004

I have to say, our principal Mrs. Lee is awesome. She seems to really know all of the children. She keeps watch over the classrooms and activities throughout the school. I have never seen a principal do so much work outside the office. I was told by a random lady that I met in the street that the middle school loved her. They too thought she was wonderful. She went so far as to decorate her wedding receptionn hall with their art. That tells me that she loves her students and her school a lot. I just get teary when I think about it. The only bad part of the school is that it is always the same parents volunteering. There's maybe 20 parents that actually do the things that they commit to. Our teachers are the best ever. This is the first place I have felt comfortable leaving my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2004

I think the principal is awesome! She raised the standard for professionalism and expects the best of everyone, especially herself. There are some teachers who undermine her leadership and gossip about her spreading lies that are untrue. Many of them have left but still continue to gossip. The principal's only downfall is that she is naive and trusts people to be as fair and ethical as she is. Hopefully with the sour people gone, Stanton will have a great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

We miss Jack the Principal. He put children first and brought teachers, children and parents together as a community. Its not there for us now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

As an involved parent I cannot speak highle enough about this school. Yes, we have issues that come up periodically, but we are striving. In the district we, surely have the most transient community, the most non-english speakers, and the least aprent involvement. The school board president has said 'the amount of parent involvement directly relates to the succes of the students.' Our new principal is fantastic, the teachers and staff are great, there is anew playground this spring, and the kids are having fun and learning alot. What more can we ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

890

Change from
2012 to 2013

0

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

890

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

0

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females81%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner95%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females91%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learner90%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females61%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asian64%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females74%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females89%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asian79%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females95%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asian79%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females72%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students69%
Females67%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asian79%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students71%
Females65%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 31%
White 28%
Asian 21%
Two or more races 8%
Black 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/AN/A
English language learners 23%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Tomita
Fax number
  • (510) 247-9610

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2644 Somerset Avenue
Castro Valley, CA 94546
Phone: (510) 727-9192

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Camelot School
Castro Valley, CA



Anchor Education, Inc.
Castro Valley, CA


Chabot Elementary School
Castro Valley, CA


Our Lady Of Grace School
Castro Valley, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT