Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public
Cathedral City, CA
Students enrolled: 729
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rio Vista Elementary School 2

Posted August 25, 2012
- a parent
The test scores are improving and some of the teachers are good, but this school suffers from a fundamental problem with the attitudes of the staff and as a result, several of our peers moved their kids to the local charter school. I noticed one parent on here mentioned the librarian. True, the librarian is condescending and rude towards the students and creates an unpleasant atmosphere to the point where students get intimidated. You speak to the principal but nothing changes. Other teachers seem to have a chip on their shoulders and aren't friendly with parents, so parents don't get involved. I feel with a change of attitude, this school has the potential to be so much better than what it is. I feel you must stay on top of your kid and watch attitudes from the staff at this school because they impact the self-esteem of your child. Choose wisely and pay careful attention.

Rio Vista Elementary School 4

Posted February 17, 2012
- a parent
My child loved this school! After being disappointed with the attitude and professionalism of the teachers at a catholic private school, we took a risk on public school and were actually so pleased with our decision. Our child felt appreciated, supported and for the first time, happy to attend school and excited to learn from the teachers. She especially appreciated her 5th grade GATE teacher, who was and probably still is, phenomenal!


Rio Vista Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2011
- a parent
Wonderful School! Dedicated GATE teachers. A true leader principal. Amazing librarian. Safe school environment for my 2 children.

Rio Vista Elementary School 3

Posted March 27, 2011
- a parent
This is a good school, however some of the staff seem like they hate their job. The librarian is rude to the kids and parents. Yes, there are some great teachers, but there is a great deal of improvement needed with some of the teachers and staff.

Rio Vista Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2009
- a parent
Mi daughter has 2 years attending to this school , we are so happy with everything , teachers are greats and the learning is exellent !!! Love this school.


Rio Vista Elementary School 3

Posted February 06, 2009
- a parent
my kids enrolled in theis school 2 years ago after being in a catholic school for over 4 years. I was very dissapionted to find no playground equipment and no bus service The after care program on property had a waiting list and the more challanged students have priority in joining the program. In comparisson to the other public schools it is one of the best and one of the newest

Rio Vista Elementary School 4

Posted September 02, 2008
- a parent
I really enjoy the teachers at this school they all have an open door policy. it is a pleasure to return to rio vista and continue to support the teachers and staff. they encourage the students to learn.

Rio Vista Elementary School 5

Posted July 26, 2008
- a parent
I really enjoyed this school, my children loved it and felt safe. I felt they were being challenged and enjoyed learning. The only downfall to this school is the parking...!


Rio Vista Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Rio Vista Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2007
- a parent
Highly qualified and dedicated teachers. Excellent leadership by Principal. Great environment for learning!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rio Vista Elementary School
67-700 Verona Road, Cathedral City, CA  92234
(760) 416-0032
Last modified Rio Vista Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rio Vista Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top