Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public
Cathedral City, CA
Students enrolled: 656
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Agua Caliente Elementary School 4

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
TWO OF MY KIDS WENT FOR 3 YEARS AT THIS SCHOOL AND THEY LEARND A LOT,GATE CLASE IS THE BEST, AND I MOVE THEM TO A "BETTER" SCHOOL AND THEY FORGET EVERITHING!!!

Agua Caliente Elementary School 1

Posted January 29, 2012
- a community member
The good first: the most important factor in education is the classroom teacher, and the ones at this school are caring. Now to the not-so-good: the school lacks direction, it lacks proper integration of technology, there is no enforcement of behavior. The school is located in a gang neighborhood. The school is very old and rundown. Good luck ever talking to the administrator, as you'll be continually referred to speak to someone else from a secretary to teacher to aide. The arts/physical education/character education/ are non-existent. The focus of this school is teaching to "the standardized test" as that is all that seems to matter. Teachers here even offer a "limo ride" for students who score perfectly on the standardized test. What message does that send? It's all about the test? Or maybe, "perfection" is what you should strive for in life? Get real, nothing is perfect and sending this message to our children is WRONG. . Now that I think about it, so is spending the entire year teaching to one test. I wouldn't send my child here if you paid me.


Agua Caliente Elementary School 1

Posted December 27, 2010
- a community member
The teachers at this school (most of them) receive 5 stars for their dedication, perseverance, and knowledge of the profession. The principal receives 3 stars - intelligent, caring, and proactive in the field of education but is deficient in enforcing behavior and the school's uniform policy. The school receives a 1 star "unsatisfactory" score because it is located in a very dangerous, gang neighborhood, the infrastructure is beyond dilapidated, and the school itself is essentially segregated - 98% hispanic and the district makes no effort at making this number more representative of the demographics of the Coachella Valley.

Agua Caliente Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a community member
3 of my grandchildren go here and I personally think the teachers andDr.Medina set the examples of what all schools should try to be!

Agua Caliente Elementary School 2

Posted January 28, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Agua Caliente Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2009
- a teacher
Agua Caliente Elementary School's mission is that 'every student be proficient' and through collaboration between staff, students, and the community they have made significant progress, every year, towards achieving this goal.

Agua Caliente Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
Since my daughter starting attending Agua Caliente, I have seen her blossom. She has goals and believes that the sky is the limit to her dreams. It takes a strong educational program to promote success for all student.

Agua Caliente Elementary School 4

Posted April 10, 2009
- a parent
My children come from privlege and with the housing crisis recently we had to move to this area. I have to admit that I was frightened of this school. but much to my surprise it is fantastic. The teachers are brilliant and compassionate. My daughter had learned so much here. For what they have to work with I am impressed. Cugdos to Agua Caliente! Bravo!


Agua Caliente Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 31, 2008
- a parent
My son Attends here and has learned so much.

Agua Caliente Elementary School 3

Posted September 03, 2007
- a teacher
While it is true that this is a mainly Hispanic group of children, office personnel are mostly bilingual, speaking both English and Spanish as needed. In the classrooms, children are taught primarily in English, unless the parent requests that their child be prompted periodically in their native language in order to facilitate learning. Also, the majority of teachers at A.C. do not speak Spanish.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Agua Caliente Elementary School
30-800 San Luis Rey Plaza, Cathedral City, CA  92234
(760) 416-8235
Last modified Agua Caliente Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Agua Caliente Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top