Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Whitmore Charter School Of Personalized Learning

Charter | K-12 | 9 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2010

This school is set to the students who excel which will leave the ones who are stumbling behind. The staff are nice and cordial but beware of the facade. The kindergarten class is expected to recognize words prior to knowing the alphabet and the phonetic sounds and blends. No wonder students from the public are so illiterate!


Posted June 7, 2009

Whitmore is a great school for children who want to learn and whose parents foster a good attitude to the value of schooling. I have two boys at the school and they have done extremely well since being there. There technology skills have been enhanced much more than we would have dreamed of and we all think that Mr. Pyatt has turned round the Technology program from what it was before he arrived. Clean school, clean campus with great teachers. Most of all the expectations are high for learning and Middle School teachers are exceptional. No wonder there is a wait list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

A friend of mine has recently posted and we were encouraged to do so as the school year has just ended and we wanted to make some sort of public statement. As she said it is a great school and the Technology program has come on in leaps and bounds. I actually feel a little bit intimidated about what my children are learning and I work in Technology based job. Wow! - Kudos to the Technology Teachers at Whitmore. The arts program is very good too, although my children are not the arty type. Guess they take after me. Whitmore is great school for kids and has exceptionally high standards compared to other Public Schools. Sign up it is really worth the wait!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

My sons were on a waiting list to get in this school. It was well worth the wait!! Since they have started here their grades have improved so much!! The teachers are awsome and very friendly and nurturing even if they are middle school teachers, which is how it should be. I think this helps the students feel more confident in thier schoolwork and how they learn. I am very satisfied with this school. Love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

Distinguished school award was well deserved. Whitmore is an amazing school. The teachers and staff are caring, and concerned for the children they teach. Students who attend are destined for success. Thank you Whitmore. Go Wolves!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

To say that i am truley amazed and flabbergasted by the amazing effort put in by the incredible staff here at Whitmore Charter School would be only an understatement. They put in an overwhelming amount of work to help their students and peers which hands the name 'Greatest School in Stanislaus County' to itself. I hope and expect to see and hear many great things from and about this School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

whitmore charter is a terrific school. the teachers are all certified. the principal is a terrific man he is the best. they care so much for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2004

I really like the use of music and fine arts in this school, we didn't have it in public school. I also prefer the class sizes and the length of the days compared to public school. I have been a little disappointed in the teachers we have had so far but I am optimistic that it will improve. This school keeps a closer eye on students progress than the public schools to as well. Overall it is a great school, they just need to take another look at their teacher selection.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2011.

This school's
API score

650

Change from
2010 to 2011

N/A

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

N/A

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

N/A


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

This school's
API score

650

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2010 to 2011

N/A

Change from 2010 to 2011
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2010 and Spring 2011. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

N/A

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

N/A

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 83%
Hispanic 17%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 100%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3435 Don Pedro Road
Ceres, CA 95307
Website: Click here
Phone: (209) 556-1610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Adult Education
Ceres, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT