Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carroll Fowler Elementary School 1

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
Bruce Clifton is an ineffective principal. The only thing we like about the school is a hand full of fabulous teachers!!! The school has gone way down to zero in incentives for the kids with good behaviors and fabulous grades!!! The students are treated like they're in a juvenile detention center where the kids have to squat in the yard like prisoners, now they have their gates to complete their prison. The younger teachers that are now there give out referrals for Nit Picky reasons. The younger teachers have issues with communicating with parents and do not like proactive parents. They love parents that don't care!!! This school is a negative 10!! Real disappointment they are rated a 2 out of 10, like I said the Principal is ineffective!!! VOTE BRUCE CLIFTON OUT OF CARROLL FOWLER!!!

Carroll Fowler Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
They're a handful of teachers that are amazing!! I believe they should get VOTED for Teacher of the Year!! One already received this honor!! Mr. Brink, Mrs. Ratajczak, Ms. Highiet, Ms. Goehring, Ms. Bynum, Mrs. Meece, and Mrs. Calou. That's it out of 28 K - 6th grade teachers that earn the respect to be called Amazing Educators!! They really care about their students and their students future and education!!!


Carroll Fowler Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
They have Great teachers that have been there awhile and some that are terrible. No respect to the children or parents!!!

Carroll Fowler Elementary School 4

Posted August 19, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school! The teachers are very nice and make learning fun. The only complaint I have is that they could spend more time memorizing math facts because it seems that all the kids have trouble remembering them.

Carroll Fowler Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2007
- a parent
Between three children, we have been a Carroll Fowler family for eleven years and we are very pleased with our children's education. Their state test scores are good, the oldest two have excelled in Jr. High and High School and our daughter loves to go to school every day. She has never missed a day in three years. As parents, we try to stay involved in our school and support our teachers and staff. Carroll Fowler has always cared about the students first. We are very proud of the accomplishments the school has made over the years. We have seen many changes and upgrades over time and can honestly say Carroll Fowler gets better every year. We are proud to be Carroll Fowler parents.


Carroll Fowler Elementary School 4

Posted June 05, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has attended for three years. The first two years I loved. She gets excellent grades however this year I felt she was deprived of some of her education. She was only taken on one field trip. I do like the renissance program because it definately motivates the kids to try their best. I would like to [see] my daughter get more music and technology study. Overall Carrroll Fowler is a good school.

Carroll Fowler Elementary School 4

Posted April 22, 2006
- a parent
I think that, overall, Carroll Fowler School is quite good. Academically most of the teacher work very hard in providing all students with a quality education. The school has met or exceeded all academic growth targets set by the state. Futhermore, many of the teachers go above and beyond in helping the students. The new Renaissance program has helped many students, including mine, work a little harder academically. I think that the afterschool programs could use a lot of work. It does not seem that children get the assistance they need. It just seems understaffed. While there is a small network of very dedicated parents, it would be great to see even more parents get involved.

Carroll Fowler Elementary School 1

Posted January 23, 2006
- a teacher
If any school, especially carroll fowler school intends to provide excellent education to/for its students, all teachers must know & understand the state & text book scope & sequence. Administration must insist and enforce that each and all textbooks be used daily & judiciously. Without daily use of textbooks, a sequential, uniform curriculum is not taught and students are deprived of a quality education. February is a whole month for teaching citizenship and social studies: 2 presidents birthdays are celebrated in feb. February is too valuable a month to be devoted only to valentine's day. Organized and daily character education and conflict resolution programs and activities must also be modeled and directly taught by all teachers and administration. There are teachable moments every day. Use these to educate students to become informed, productive and quality citizens of this country. Get serious with curriculum. Test with integrity.


Carroll Fowler Elementary School 4

Posted December 14, 2005
- a parent
I am very glad that my student is attending Carroll Fowler. The teachers are very involved with the community and have the student's best interests at heart. My student loves going to school every day!

Carroll Fowler Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2005
- a parent
From day 1 I realized the quality of school my child now attends compared to the last school. I enjoy the incentives the kids have for doing there best. My boy came from a uniform school (i did not agree with.) Fowler is a no uniform school and it allows the child to make decisions. I am overyl impressed with this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carroll Fowler Elementary School
2611 Garrison Street, Ceres, CA  95307-2736
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (209) 556-1640
Last modified Carroll Fowler Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top