Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Chatsworth, CA
Students enrolled: 375
Before care: No
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Our Community School is an award winning, tuition-free, public charter school serving K-8th grades where staff members, students and families collaborate in the ongoing process of education. We are an intentional small learning community of 450 students--two classes per grade level. We value manageable classroom sizes with teaching assistant support to meet the varying needs of our students and to promote close connections between and among students and staff. Our diverse and caring community balances academics with creativity, thereby fostering independent thinkers, problem solvers, and leaders using innovative music, art, P.E., garden programs and technology. OCS students are guided to become ethical, empowered and informed members of our community and therefore, every community. Our school program is based on three main themes: • Constructivism/Hands-On Learning: Students learn through connecting new ideas to prior learning. Each learning experience is an opportunity to construct new meaning through discussion, collaboration and reflection to integrate new concepts. • Responsive Classrooms/Developmental Designs: This approach is a way of teaching that fosters safe, challenging, and joyful elementary schools. Developed by classroom teachers, this approach consists of practical strategies of bringing together social and academic learning throughout the school day. • Integrated Common Core Curriculum: Our goal is to prepare our students for active, rewarding membership in our community and our democratic way of life. Students will learn about people and culture, will be immersed in democratic practices, will participate in conflict-resolution and whole class discussions and will have the opportunities to self-reflect.
July 07, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
By allowing OCS students time to process, brainstorm, problem solve, collaborate with peers while building confidence through small successes, students come to know that hard work and tenacity has a pay off. OCS teachers are adept at stepping in and out of individual and group work to guide toward solutions while not giving answers. We know and value that finding the a zone of proximal development means that answers don't come quick and being in a state of unknowing is okay.
Posted July 07, 2015

Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
One of the ways OCS develops compassion, caring, and empathy is through community service projects. Every OCS classroom implements at least one year-long community service project. Students and staff engage in meaningful talk about needs on campus and in the community at large. These conversations are structured by taking a closer look at problems in the community and brainstorming solutions. This consistent valuing of giving back, service and empathy for others is embedded in this process. Students easily transfer these activities by coming to learn another's perspective into their daily lives as they develop and grow.
Posted July 07, 2015


Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
OCS teachers are evaluated and observed daily. Professional development is based on the specific needs of our students and school-wide academic goals. OCS works closely with many LA area colleges for support in professional development as well as a resource for top-notch student teachers/teaching assistants that often become lead teachers through a process of working through the ranks while learning OCS culture and traditions. OCS implements a thoughtful and rigorous hiring process to find "the best of the best." teachers who are able to meet the academic, physical and social-emotional needs of our students. Teachers and staff are committed to kids. Teachers reflect on best practices and are encouraged to take individualized professional development courses based on specific needs and/or goals.
Posted July 07, 2015

Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
Homework is meant to be manageable, developmentally appropriate and meaningful. We encourage daily reading and practicing of skills learned at school while avoiding assignments that are rote and excessive that do not benefit a student's academic growth or love of learning.
Posted July 07, 2015

Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
Each school year, OCS staff members start the school year using the practices of "The First Six Weeks." We value the time spent to engage students in the developing of classroom and school-wide norms, building the foundation for community, getting to know each other, and learning each others' strengths and challenges. We know that when students feel safe to take risks, their learning and confidence increase. We directly teach our students strategies in conflict resolution and use a platform called Peaceful Learning Community where students share "shouts outs" as words of encouragement as well as discuss issues and concerns in a whole group, constructive manner. These processes allow for student develop in self-advocacy and working toward solutions to everyday problems. We hold ourselves and students accountable for co-creating a respectful, safe, and nurturing environment.
Posted July 07, 2015


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Our Community School is an award winning, tuition-free, public charter school serving K-8th grades where staff members, students and families collaborate in the ongoing process of education. We are an intentional small learning community of 450 students--two classes per grade level. We value manageable classroom sizes with teaching assistant support to meet the varying needs of our students and to promote close connections between and among students and staff. Our diverse and caring community balances academics with creativity, thereby fostering independent thinkers, problem solvers, and leaders using innovative music, art, P.E., garden programs and technology. OCS students are guided to become ethical, empowered and informed members of our community and therefore, every community. Our school program is based on three main themes: • Constructivism/Hands-On Learning: Students learn through connecting new ideas to prior learning. Each learning experience is an opportunity to construct new meaning through discussion, collaboration and reflection to integrate new concepts. • Responsive Classrooms/Developmental Designs: This approach is a way of teaching that fosters safe, challenging, and joyful elementary schools. Developed by classroom teachers, this approach consists of practical strategies of bringing together social and academic learning throughout the school day. • Integrated Common Core Curriculum: Our goal is to prepare our students for active, rewarding membership in our community and our democratic way of life. Students will learn about people and culture, will be immersed in democratic practices, will participate in conflict-resolution and whole class discussions and will have the opportunities to self-reflect.
Posted July 07, 2015

Our Community Charter School 5

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
This school is a true gem! The school's philosophy is wholesome. It focuses on the children's needs and growth potential. It has an innovative approach of motivating the children to learn without stressing them. They have found a unique balance on learning, but at the same time they foster creativity, fun of learning and a strong emphasis on interpersonal skills and other soft skills. The teachers are extremely dedicated and passionate about teaching. They truly care about the children and give personalized attention to their children. I was amazed when I attended the student-parent conference earlier in the year. The teachers spent time with us (50 minutes) going over the our son and daughter's strength, weaknesses and goals. This has never been my experience at LAUSD where I always felt that teachers mostly did a "check" on parent-student conference. The Principal is truly committed to making the children's experience a truly rewarding one. We are truly fortunate to have been accepted to the school. My kids used to hate going to their LAUSD school, but now they are thriving in this positive school environment.
3 people found this helpful

Our Community Charter School 5

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
OCS is an amazing school and my children and I have been lucky to have my children attend over the last few years. Children are engaged, the class size is kept low, and each class has a part time, TA. They provide PE, Technology, Music, and Art in addition to the core subjects. This is a progressive school that utilizes a cutting edge curriculum. The teachers and staff are very helpful and welcoming. They have onsite morning and aftercare and enrichment programs too. When you join OCS you don't just join a school, your whole family joins a community.
3 people found this helpful


Our Community Charter School 4

Posted August 31, 2014
- a parent
I can't see enough good things about OCS. We are starting our 5th year at the school and things just keep improving. The teacher/child ratio is such a great number with dedicated TA's for the Kindergarten and 1st grades and additional teaching supports for the elementary and middle school grades. My 4th grader has PE twice a week, enjoys music and technology/computer lab time as well. The teachers are so dedicated to their craft and the curriculum and methodologies create such well-rounded students. I am so happy with this school and all of the progress it continues to make. It is a joy to be a parent in this community and to see my kids thrive.
2 people found this helpful

Our Community Charter School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
As a new parent to school.. having entering twin kindergarteners... I can't compare.. but I can tell you that I'm so impressed with the amount of attention and dedication this school has in education, service, and character. Many of my friends are unhappy with their chosen schools and I wish they all could be at ours. They think outside the box. Critical thinking is taught and the students are big participants as to how things are done. They vote, their voice is heard. I'm in the classroom daily and it's encouraged. It's a thriving school with dedicated parents and teachers, all just grateful to be there! I feel privileged to send my children there. knowing too that they are in good hands, prepared for life and learning!!!
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Community Charter School
10045 Jumilla Ave, Chatsworth, CA  91311
(818) 920-5285
Last modified Our Community Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Our Community Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 94 reviews. Top