Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
74 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 85 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ruben S. Ayala High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 07, 2015
- a community member
Thank you Mr. Stone for your dedication to all of our kids. You are an example of integrity and motivation.

Ruben S. Ayala High School 5

Posted December 07, 2015
- a community member
Great Marching Band Program Band and Colorguard is truly amazing. Provides the students with skills needed to endure change from high school to college. Mr. Stone the band director is inspiring and the students learn to become productive and responsible adults. The instructors are so involved to the success of the program and the students development as well.


Ruben S. Ayala High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 08, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to Mr Stone for a great 8 years with my children, keep up the good work

Ruben S. Ayala High School 5

Posted November 08, 2015
- a parent
The Band is the best in the state, Mr Stone is a great Teacher. I wish they would sign up for the tournament of Roses Parade.

Ruben S. Ayala High School 5

Posted March 04, 2015
- a student
This school is the place to be when you're into sports and extracurricular activities. I believe there is nothing wrong with Ayala, it's just very lively and active.


Ruben S. Ayala High School 1

Posted July 03, 2014
- a parent
This school is outrageous and chaotic. My firstborn son could not focus on his studies due to despicable teachers and rude students interrupting in his classes. I talked with the principle myself to ask if he could change my sons classes. He said no problem, but it was weeks before the principle actually REMEMBERED. Last but the very least, the elective my son chose, band. Don't get me wrong, the band is great, but the parent meetings are so important and its a shame that other parents NEVER attend these meetings. As a result, what's the point in calling it a meeting if only a few participate? My son was unhappy and was getting C's in classes when he should be getting A's. I switched my son to Chino, hearing that it also a great school. Reading reviews, I gave it one chance, and it blew my mind. My son is in Chino High, and WILL be staying in Chino High. My other sons and daughters will also be attending here. Overall, I strongly recommend to not enroll your students at this "prestigious" school and enroll elsewhere.

Ruben S. Ayala High School 4

Posted May 15, 2014
- a student
As a current student here I feel certain areas can be improved. But overall this high school is what you make out of it. And I'm truly sorry for the bad experiences students have had. There are students and staff who genuinely care. As I said high school is what YOU make of it.

Ruben S. Ayala High School 2

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I had two children attend Ayala-classes of '09 & '11. The work and teachers were fine. The athletic department was a joke. When Coach Bowler was in charge of the baseball program it was horrendous as he turned that program into his personal "cash cow", if you didn't pay for the Bulldog off season program you didn't play in season. Which is against policy, the Director nor the Principal addressed our concerns nor with other parents. My two boys ended of quitting after being benched, definitely not due to skills as they both play in college. Be cautious with the athletic programs. Had a few issues with our counselor, trying to sway my son from taking classes I wanted him to take to help with college, he just wanted him to pass and graduate, and persuaded him NOT to take Chemistry. I had to go in and change that.


Ruben S. Ayala High School 1

Posted January 21, 2012
- a parent
I have a had children at this school for 6 years. Some of the teachers are great, but I would say at least 70% of them need to go. One of my children's teachers was doing her daughters college essays during class time and would not correct my child's work. Consequently,my child could not continue copying and coloring in her notebook which was the only thing that was done in her history class. Not very challenging. When I confronted the principal, she suggested that I talk to the teacher and tell her that popularity was not in her job description. Since confronting teachers is the principals duty, I was not impressed. Thank god my son went to TROY. That is a great school.

Ruben S. Ayala High School 5

Posted September 13, 2011
- a parent
What great school!!! All my kids that have gone through Ayala have had a wonderful time and have learned from a great staff of teachers and coaches. I have two more kids who will be attending Ayala and they cant wait to do so.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ruben S. Ayala High School
14255 Peyton Avenue, Chino Hills, CA  91709-1607
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 85 reviews. (909) 627-3584
Last modified Ruben S. Ayala High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top