Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Canyon Hills Junior High School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

My son is finishing up his 7th grade. I am impressed overall with the academic program and couldn't ask for more. Yes he does work three times more than he used to in elementary, but he is challenged and WANTS to work hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2013

As a student attending this school, I feel that it is truly the World's greatest. I used to attend a private school, so when I entered the public system, I was extremely confused. I didn't even know what GATE was! However, by 8th grade I got everything on track: got into GATE, have all honours, taking geometry, in Leadership, debate, FBLA, and tutoring. As an answer to one parent's review, I suggest that you talk to Mr.Finkbiner about the situation of not getting honors classes. I had the same situation in 7th grade, so i know what your daughter feels like. I feel extremely blessed to attend this school, and i feel that I will be very prepared for what is to come in high school because of all the great teachers and students at this school. I also want to mention that it slightly irks me when parents post negative reviews of this school when they haven't even tried to broach the subject, based on what I've concluded from their reviews. The staff are all very friendly and understanding, and are willing to talk and help you no matter what. There are teachers who see their job as only that, a job.so please take that into account and stop tarnishing this wonderful school's reputation


Posted December 21, 2013

Canyon Hills Junior High is definitely the World's Greatest Junior High. Transitioning from elementary school to junior high was one of the scariest moments for me in my life, but the welcoming atmosphere, inspirational teachers, amazing counselor (Ms. Uhr <3), and how easy it was to make new friends, made me almost forget all about elementary. The AVID program (my 7th grade elective) was a very life- enhancing experience for me, and I decided to use my newly attained skills as a leadership student in 8th grade. The only thing keeping me from a 4.0 in my 7th grade year was the shockingly high expectations from the PE department. However, in 8th grade, when I was FINALLY able to maintain an A in my PE class, I had new troubles dealing with not only the 7 hours of hw from all my honors classes, but also from geometry, and by the looks of it, so did everyone else in my class! I joined the debate club and the tutoring club, which was a lot of fun... but enough about my experience at Canyon Hills. It's time to make your own mark at the World's Greatest Junior High.


Posted July 3, 2013

I believe that this was a considerably great school, with the exception of a few minor problems. I recently promoted from the school, and I will miss it. I think this is a great school for your child. Although the office/library staff is quite rude when it comes to having trouble doing things, I think this school is great! There are a few teachers that I feel are unable to properly teach; in my 7th grade year, I independently had to study pre-algebra because my teacher taught at the last 5 minutes of class daily. Also there are some truly great teachers that enjoy getting to know you! They have many honor classes, and PE is very vigorous. This school has un-satisfactory lunch meals, it is very unappetizing as well as unhealthy. They are trying to have healthier lunches, but it's not working well, and does not taste good. The work-load is average if you dedicate your time well enough. There are various electives to choose from. Many say band/drumline is the best. They also have an avid-program (its not only for kids in danger of failing) Many with 4.0's still join ( probably bc of the disney trip) It's in general a good school!


Posted June 7, 2012

This school is great i moved here for 8th grade from woodcrest jr.high with a 5 out of 10 rating it wasnt a good school. when i came to canyon hills everyone was welcoming and had great pride in there school, a pride i never felt untill now. the teachers are great and caring. you can tell they want you to achieve. i love this school.


Posted April 20, 2012

i am a 7th grader and am in all gate and algebra the teachers are great. not a ton of homework i'm in band and drumline the instructors are great so much fun love this school


Posted September 18, 2011

an amazing school with great staff, great facilities, great opportunities and its all in an excellent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Why on earth did this school's administration feel the need to rearrange class schedules after three weeks of school? I do not buy the statement that enrollment is up. I have heard that they wanted to create more Honors classes, which is fine, but to make the kids that are not involved with that still change their schedule.......nonsense. The first day of school is hard enough, let alone having to do it twice four weeks apart! This new administration is being questioned by a lot of parents right now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2010

This school is horrible! My child rarely has homework. She isn't learning much. She is constantly being sent to the office by the teacher for really ridiculous reasons. She's a GATE student, but she wasn't enrolled in any GATE classes! She is very unhappy at this school and I REFUSE to send her there next year for 8th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

Also the complaints of unsatisfactory special needs accomadtions. I am a P.E. class with 'special' students which I feel drag the rest of us down. I apologize for seeming harsh, but I feel that they are detrimental to the learning process for those of us who are average or advanced students. I know I must seem like a bigot, but I feel that 'special' students could have their own removed learning area, or school within the district. I apologize if I treaded on a few toes, but this is my own opinion from a current student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2009

My child has gone to this school for 2 years now and it is a great school to have your child in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

Canyon Hills is on track. I wish that they had a foreign language program but I hear they are working on it. Some parents are uninformed about what it takes to prepare a child to be on the right track for college, that's why they complain about the homework load. When kids apply for college they are competing internationally so we as Americans need to prepare our children to meet high standards. To those who don't know, this may require a heavy homework load.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

It's really funny how the reviews from students, like me, are about how much we love Canyon Hills, and from the parents are a different story. That is ridiculous! You guys have no idea. if you think that CHJH gives too much homework, that's stupid. We are in junior high, and we need to learn responsibilities. You can't just expect for us to get the same amount of homework as elementary, and then go into high school not prepared for the heavy workload. We only get 1 hour or so, not even that much on most days, which is pretty resonable. Canyon Hills is an awesome school :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2009

Interesting how the students seem to think very favorably about Canyon Hills Junior High school, while the parents don't. Probably says a lot about the parents...which isn't favorable. I had two children go through Canyon Hills and both excelled, with the help of teachers, administrators, and me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

As far as junior high schools go it's a good one if you have a motivated child that wants to learn. If you have a child that has a hard time organizing him or herself or requires any special attention watch out! The principal and vice principal are are accomidating and will do whatever they can within Chino Valley Unified school district limits. The breakdown in helping kidsthat have special needs such ADD, ADHD etc comes down to the district and most (not all) the teachers. From personal experiance, other 'Distinguished Schools' in other areas do a much better job of recognizing and working with these kinds of childen. I do not feel that Canyon Hills Junior doesn't care about the kids the do. I believe they do not have the tools and experiance to handle them properly. In the end with all the special meeting you will end up frusted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

If you have a child with special needs, this school is a nightmare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

I'm an 8th grade leadership student and this school means so much to me. We do so many activites. The teachers give homework so they can LEARN. All the teachers and great and a lot of them are there to help. I used to have one teacher for 3 classes before I got transferred but I still have her for two classes. My memories will last a lifetime!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

BEST school ever! This school gave me one of the best years of my life. I met many people, and made life-long friends as well. The teachers are great (hence the high API that they have). They're fun, interactive, and made you WANT to learn (not messing with you). They may be a little strict, but later you realized that what they taught you was extremely valuable skills that will definitely benefit you later on in high school. This school is second to none.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

Wow I LOVE this school to death! (I was a former student.) One of the best years of my school life came from this school. I met so many new people, and made life-long friends. The teachers are great! They're fun, interactive, and they actually made you WANT to learn. This school is second to none and made my 7-8th grade exciting.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2008

This school is great! I don't know why there it some comments very low and disapproving. I know they give a lot of homework...but it teaches us great responsibility and more learning. Plus the dress code is fine...why do we need to wear tank tops..wait till high school but right now we need to respect each other! Test notes are great because they help us on our tests...I know parents might not approve but don't you want your child to get good grades? The teachers are awesome and the staff as well, they are not that strict, they are funny, and they teach great things! Trust me if you read this comment, because this comes from a former student!!!! :)
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

894

Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

894

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

509 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

411 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
56%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

524 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

533 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

523 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students94%
Females100%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian98%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state100%

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females82%
Males72%
African American55%
Asian89%
Filipino86%
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability39%
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state81%

Math

All Students64%
Females65%
Males64%
African American41%
Asian87%
Filipino63%
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner56%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to state77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students60%
Females63%
Males58%
African American67%
Asian83%
Filipino77%
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disability40%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate61%
Parent education - declined to state48%

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females77%
Males73%
African American59%
Asian88%
Filipino76%
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state69%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students26%
Females42%
Males19%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino25%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only24%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)18%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students99%
Females100%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability99%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students83%
Females81%
Males84%
African American77%
Asian90%
Filipino91%
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state80%

Science

All Students81%
Females81%
Males81%
African American73%
Asian90%
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disability38%
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 32%
Asian 28%
White 22%
Black 4%
Two or more races 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/AN/A
English language learners 3%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 Madrugada Drive
Chino Hills, CA 91709
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 464-9938

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT