Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Ridge Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Living in Chino Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $377,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,505.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 15, 2014

School located in the great area, surrounded by gorgeous parks. Wonderful parents who are helping as much as they can. Amazing speech therapists. Classes are small and messy, not organized. School is old, no renovations done in years. Every year they have new principal. Teachers doesn't care about kids education, they just do minimum. I would not recommend that school, if you care about your child education don't bring them there. If it located in good area at Chino Hills it doesn't mean it's a great school :( glad my kids are out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

This school is very good. However they are very face paced when it comes to learning. Of your child falls behind then they will be pretty much left behind. Teachers are pretty good also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

We moved to Chino hills mid school year, so my son has been having a hard time in this school. Not only that but he has been in private school his whole life. I do find that the teachers are no help in helping him catch up. Which for me is to be excepted, but I am the type of mother to call or talk to someone as soon as I hear of problems. His math teacher has done little to help and when I ask she really does nothing to help me understand what I need to do to get him caught up. So we are hiring a math tutor. As for his primary teacher, she is alright, as far as I can see. I am going to start helping in my sons class to see what's really going on. I call the school a lot about any problems, so does my husband. The principal seems to be good at handling our problems so far. I do like her and the office staff, as of now. My son has only been at this school 2.5 months. By the end of the school year the staff will definitely know who I am. If my son is not treated right, they will hear from me. Overall, we have had some problems, but they seem to try their best to help us out. I can't expect red carpet service like we had a the other school, I just have to put in a little more effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

The parents are what make this a good school not the teachers. My child is in kindergarten and he has not learned a thing all year. He is being taught things he learned in his 3 year old preschool (shapes, colors, letters) Advanced kids are not helped to continue improving and kids who struggle are brushed off as a burden. Very disappointing that the previous reviewers were correct. I was hoping that is was just a few disgruntled parents but they are very accurate. This school has such great potential but some of these lazy teachers who are set in their ways do not care about lovingly pushing students to achieve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

I agree with the others when they say the principal is sarcastic & insulting. She does spend more time socializing with the groupie ladies then paying attention to the kids. Unless they are bringing her gifts and showering her with attention. The office staff can be insulting and rude. I've witnessed some bad behavior to students that the parents probably don't even know what is being said to their children and with such attitude. Unacceptable! I have a 4th grader enrolled and I hope that they make some very needed staff changes. Chino Hills is known for being such a wonderful community and great schools. I'm sure the wonderful reviews are from the groupie ladies/PTA. And if there is such a teacher or staff member using some form of corporal punishment on any child, they should be immediately removed from the ability to be around children. Period!


Posted September 6, 2013

Great school, nice staff. I love the PTA team, parents and teachers do a lot to support to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

Yes the schl has a high API score. Above 910.so what? It does not reflect the school reality. It's the recent influx of new students that are raising the score' like any other Socal suburb public schools. Teachers are placent. Not innovative. Of course I am sure not aaalll but most I wud say. Most hv been there forever, just waiting 3~5 more years to retire and cash on the retirement which theywell deserve. Most blame on budget cuts and standardized testing for lack of energy in the classroom. The frequent change of administrators only hurts the school to achieve anything. All are set in their old ways. The past principal n vice principal were so dedicated n active on campus. The current principal who came out of retirement knows it all so most parent comment/ concern is just brushed off. All she cares are datasdatas of the past. Her sarcasm is sometimes insulting to parents. The parttime VP is at a loss as her time is being pulled btwn 2schls. The PTA groupie ladies are only concerned about fund raising. Only recently they are involved in helping out on campus n making difference. The "rumored" teacher is wonderful encouragingfunnyhappy. Unruly sts anthr story.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

Terrible!!!! Teachers and staff are bullies and unfair. They all stick up for each other (of course), even if it means lying!!! If you want your child to be treated fair, do not take then here!!! All the teachers and staff gossip about each other, students, and staff. I and several other parents have heard this going on. The new principle is wonderful this year but here staff is terrible, and some of the teachers are too worried about gossiping then teaching!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2011

I love the teachers in the school especially the first grade teacher she took good care of my kid...About the principal...lack of professionalism....I think the principal needs to think first before she say something... So far I have not seen a worksheet dated 1973.. I agree as well that there is no differentiation for advance students,,, But overall the school is so far developing my kids ability to learn. The parent involvement is awesome...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

As a professional educator, I was extremely dissatisfied by the archaic methods used to "teach" children. One worksheet my daughter was given was dated 1973. It was a "one-sized-fits-all" approach with NO differentiation for advanced students. Luckily, we were able to transfer to a school where teachers actually teach rather than hand out a stack of worksheets each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

If this school were my only option, I would home school my child. I cant post it here under threat they wont allow my posting to warn other parents, but there is a current teacher that disciplines by corporal punishment. With the exception of a few, this school is full of teachers who are there to collect a paycheck and not there for your child. They refuse to actually teach things like reading and writing and believe the best way to educate is to overwhelm kids with worksheets-lazy! For that matter, I could buy workbooks at the teacher supply store. This school expects the parents to send their children to school knowing how to read and the teachers do not take any true responsibility for a childs struggles. Oh but they are quick to pat themselves on the back with praise the years the kids achieve high API scores. CH is a community of professional parents who believe in education and take an active part in their children's education which benefited Oak Ridge. This school is a poster child for why the public dislikes teachers unions. I would love to see the school board clean house here. Oh and by the way, OR had the highest mass exitous for transfer to Oxford.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

This is truly a great school! The principal is kind and caring. The staff run a tight ship. My child has enjoyed her years there. As it is at whatever school you attend, there are better than other teachers though I've had mostly good experiences. And there are a variety of student's personalities but most seem to care about academics. There is a lot of parent input as well. The atmosphere is conducive to learning and each child seems cared for well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2010

I went to this school for seven years kindergarten through sixth and graduated in 2009 the school is awesome!!!!!!!! Kindergarten was great! First grade was a little lacking, but second through 6 were great!!!!! I was struggling in math during 4th and 5th grade but got it up in 6th grade, and now am taking geometry as an 8th grader, which is unusual. I like Mr. berg, he was great!! Mrs.Coleman,the principle during my 2nd year was not very good. Mr. Wilson was okay but i preferred Mr.Berg. Overall a great school!!!!


Posted May 23, 2010

My son is in 2nd grade. His 1st grade teacher was fantastic! However, it's a different story for his 2nd grade teacher. It's very sad when it's obvious that a teacher no longer has any passion to teach. She is very old school and has no problem letting the parents know that. Frankly, this teacher should retire. I've also been hearing that since the new principal took over, his leadership skills are a bit suspect. Some parents are considering a new Charter School but we're not at that point. Our son likes the school and has many friends and the parent involvement is amazing. If anyone has anything to add to make us feel better about the quality of teaching in grades 3-6 at Oak Ridge, it would be much appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

I am 100% satisfied on the overall performace of this school.My two kids are currently enrolled as 1st and 6th graders and they have achieved excellent grades. I give credits to the principal, teachers and all the school staff members who are continously working hard in helping each students achieve their goals. Though I am not an active parent when it comes to school activities (due to the fact that I am a working mom), I admire the parents who always devote their time to volunteer. Last but not the least, Oak Ridge students will sure have the best a school can offer with the superb supervision of their school principal Mr. Wilson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

Good school! great teachers! very nice principal ! very friendly staffs and environment !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

Excellent, friendly, effective staff, principle, curriculum, activities, and environment. My daughters enjoy the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

Oak Ridge has asuperb staff led by number one principal, Mr. Berg !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

My family has been involved with Oak Ridge Elementary for 7 years. I have found Oak Ridge to be a top notch school. Not only is the staff, faculty and principal simply the best; but the parents are highly involved. There is usually a 98% turn out at all family/school functions. I feel truly blessed to be a part of Oak Ridge and a mother who is very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

Amazing! Wonderful! Top notch! Cannot imagine enrolling my children at any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

896

Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

896

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females96%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students97%
Females100%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learner100%
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females59%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disability17%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females84%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disability46%
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females85%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students92%
Females94%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females74%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females79%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students73%
Females67%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disability15%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females75%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disability14%
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females78%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability26%
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 26%
Hispanic 33% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 21% 11%
Black 4% 6%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15452 Valle Vista Drive
Chino Hills, CA 91709
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 591-1239

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT