Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert O. Townsend Junior High School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Living in Chino Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $377,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,505.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2014

Townsend is great and all but there is one teacher that needs to be fired and her name is Mrs. Groener. She has to be the worst algebra teacher on the planet! Almost every student that goes into her class gets a lower grade! I want her fired. She is lazy and mean to the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

This is my daughter's first year in Townsend Jr High. I hope all will be well with her in this school. So far I did not experience yet what others had commented below regarding Administration staff. They are accommodating so far when we enrolled my daughter and when I had some questions. I hope the teachers are good as well in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2012

This school is great ! I currently am attending Townsend . The teachers, I feel, are very helpful . It seems as if your child is not doing well in a subject , they will constantly help the student until they fully understand . I do agree that the administration is rude at some points in the day , but other than that , If I was not a student here, I would still think of this as an amazing school .


Posted May 20, 2011

Great teachers, administration and office staff, very mean and demeaning. You are almost scare to ask for anything because they seem to be in a bad mood all the time and they will not do anything for you. Everytime I go in there, I see them yelling at kids that have entered the office, they don't have a nice way of talking to people; it seems like they hate their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Townsend is a great school, but the only problem is the administration. They are unhelpful and they always look at you in a demeaning way. They also act like you're always guilty of something. However, the teachers are very helpful and Gradealert is an awesome way for me to look at my grades and see if i need inprovement or not


Posted January 26, 2010

I love this school. They have helped my son in math. Tutorials have been great with allowing him to re-take tests. I thought Jr. High was scary but it doesn't seem that bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

I attend this wonderfull school. And i love it Mrs. Thompson is the best. And i love her. I love this school. I think it si the best
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

I was completely apprehensive about my daughter attending Townsend due to previous issues they had with students. I was determined that she was going to go to Canyon Hills. However, everything that took place up to her starting her 7th grade year, made the decision much easier. Thank you Jesus with every door that opened! The separate Orientations they had for parents and then students was remarkable. Canyon Hills was utter chaos with leadership students speaking to the parents with their 'Like, and this is like...' personalities. The extra activities that Townsend has are a HUGE plus, something Canyon Hills lacks. My daughter is now a 3.8 GPA, involved with the Christian Club and Art Club. She has accomplished far more than I could've ever given this school credit for. The teachers are great! This school has taken a huge turn-around since students I knew attended a few yrs. before
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

I think this school is fun! Even though the principal isn't very friendly, the teachers are very much into their students' achievement. This year Townsend has expanded their extra-curricular activities such as intramural sports and many different clubs. I am part of the band, and it is awesome! Ms. Robb and Mr. Rutt are doing a wonderful job running this amazing program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2008

Townsend Junior High has the best teachers I have ever had. People like Mr. Callaci, Mr. Demartino, and Mrs. Faucher are wonderful teachers. The only downside of this school are the underacheiving kids that do nothing but ruin others.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2008

My son was not getting respect or even learing anything from Canyon Hills. Townsend is now his new school and him and I love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

Townsend Jr. High is the best. i went there for 7th grade as my first public school after attending private school all my life and it was the easiest transition. I am now an sophmore in High School and miss my 7th grade days and how good they were! if there is any school for a student to go to it would be this. The staff is so nice and the teachers are amazing. They would help you through any troubles and just seemed to love thier jobs. Mr. Bates is the best math teacher ever. I always struggled with math but i alway understood his teaching. Over all the school is awsome! Go2Townson!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2008

I am a student that is attending townsend this year and I am not satisfied with the rules or the staff at this school. i believe some of the teachers, like Mr.Kunishima or MrsThompson are wondersful but a lot of the teachers are very unorganized and do not teach some of the proper standards that 7th and 8th grade students need. There are also many fights at this school which is an unsafe environment
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2007

So far, I'm okay with the school. No problems with office staff nor the teachers. My child is a visual, very interactive learner, and Mr.Bates teaching style helped to maintain the interest level in the subject. Way to go Mr.Bates! I love GradeAlert...I wish all of the teachers were on it. I love being able to see the grades as you go along. No surprises! It is also used for positive reinforcement/encouragement. The students need to see that. Lastly, the band teachers are awesome! Looking forward to a successful year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

Townsend is a fun place to learn, depending on the teachers that the student has. Some teachers are really cool, and make the educational environment more fun. Like last year, Mr. Bates had us do activities for both Math and History to help us learn better. I would say that the students academics depends on the teacher and parents who enforce the environment to be approachable. But yet, for other teachers, they make the school un-welcoming for students and even parents. Yes there were problems last year on the school bus, since I took the bus myself, and ours was the only real problem. But it's improved. This year the class schedule system I say has gone down in the dumps. Last year was much better. But make the best of these experiences
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2007

A very few classes seem to have many substitute teachers more than others thus causing students to lose focus and not well prepare for the tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

I agree this is a very poorly run school. Teachers & admin. are aren't intersected in the kids, most are gone shortly after the last bell rings, parents aren't kept informed of many things until after the fact, teachers who were striking and got retro-active raises are paid among the highest in the county abandoned the kids during the strike. They got their money but the kids educational time was lost, the principle is also out of touch with what a good school is and has more discipline problems than average higher socio-economic neighborhood school. I have heard Canyon Hills is much better and the test scores and school ratings seem to be evidence of that. There are issues with safety on the school bus, hazing etc..Half teachers do not use grade alert system. If you have any choice. I would recommend a private school, any would be better. Disapointing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

Very disappointed is the way I feel about this school. They seem to be more interested in students behavior than their academics. Positive encouragement would go a long way towards changing students attitude towards homework and school in general. There is the distinct feeling that the teachers along with the office staff and administrators that they don't want to be bothered with just one student, but they don't seem to care about the students as a group either. Pathetic is a word to describe this Learning Institution.... My child is doing very poorly, not due to any problems but the lack of motivation which seems to be the case with all the kids there... Get your act together Townsend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2006

The office staff and the teachers are great! No question about it. The office staff does listen to the students side. -from a townsend student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2006

Townsend is a good school with strong academic accomplishments. The debate program is awesome! It also offers music and drama productions.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

900

Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

900

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

565 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

486 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

524 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

591 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
72%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

595 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

595 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students97%
Females100%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females80%
Males75%
African American63%
Asian92%
Filipino80%
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability36%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduate65%
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state78%

Math

All Students82%
Females81%
Males81%
African American78%
Asian96%
Filipino87%
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability35%
Students with no reported disability87%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students62%
Females62%
Males61%
African American48%
Asian88%
Filipino88%
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disability26%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to state55%

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Females78%
Males78%
African American61%
Asian90%
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability26%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state72%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students8%
Females12%
Males6%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino8%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged12%
Non-economically disadvantaged5%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only9%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate0%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)9%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Femalesn/a
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students81%
Females78%
Males84%
African American74%
Asian96%
Filipino95%
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability38%
Students with no reported disability87%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state82%

Science

All Students86%
Females82%
Males89%
African American87%
Asian96%
Filipino98%
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate79%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 40%
White 32%
Asian 14%
Black 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/AN/A
English language learners 5%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15359 Ilex Drive
Chino Hills, CA 91709
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 591-2161

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT