Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Thank you to all parents, students, and staff for the positive comments and input regarding our school. Please remember to share any questions or concerns with the appropriate school personnel according to the Resolution Process found in the Parent Informational Handbook found on our school website.
October 14, 2013

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
139 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (7 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 198 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oxford Preparatory Academy - Chino Valley 5

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
We love OPA and my children have thrived in this learning environment! This school has foreign language, music, PE(with an actual PE teacher), science lab for all grade K-8 at least once a week. Various grades also participate in Tae Kwon Do and band is required for upper grades. They focus on the theory of Multiple Intelligences which helps each child learn in their own way. As for concerns posted, school Administrators work with those that have financial needs offering payment plans or scholarships determined on a case by case basis. The most amazing teachers are on this campus and they work VERY hard and long hours because they love their students! We appreciate all of the teachers, staff and parents who work together countless hours each year to make this school great. This school stands for school choice and respect a family or teachers decision to choose something different, but for my family and 1,200 other students...this is the best choice.

Oxford Preparatory Academy - Chino Valley
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
I was pretty shocked that OPA wanted my friend to have her son and daughter repeat their grades just because their they were no over excelling. Two of my son's best friends will be leaving because of personal issues. They say it's a multiple intelligence school but they really do not have the resources to do that for each child when there is 35 students in each class.


Oxford Preparatory Academy - Chino Valley 2

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
This school is definitely not for everyone. As a parent I will do everything for my children to receive the best education that is available to them so we were excited to come to this school. However, I do feel that OPA should offer more budget friendly options for the low-income students in the immediate Chino area. They do not offer free or reduced lunches, the uniforms vary from $30 and up new or you can buy them used once a month if you find the sizes you need. Seeing all of the audi's, mercedes and even a lambo in line to pick up their children is not uncommon. Another thing, we were not able to take our own tablet for class use, we had to purchase them for $300, it adds up if you have more than one child. I just hoped being a charter school it would serve the immediate community and not be so $$ demanding as for our large family it became financially tight. To my surprise it is really overcrowded and yes there were some bullying incidents as mentioned in other comments. The parent involvement is really awesome though, which is in my opinion why the school is successful

Oxford Preparatory Academy - Chino Valley
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Mrs. Ortiz and Mrs. Booth for making this school year great for my children! They are learning so much and are having fun too! Mrs. Roche, Mrs. Black, Mr. Crow and all the staff at OPA we love and support you! Thank you for making our school what it is today!

Oxford Preparatory Academy - Chino Valley 5

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
OPA is the best school ever! My children have been with OPA since the first year it opened. Even after all these years, they still look forward to coming to school everyday! I hope OPA gets the renewal and expansion it deserves. All the negative reviews are absolutely false!


Oxford Preparatory Academy - Chino Valley 5

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
opa is fun and it is like no other school i have been to so far.

Oxford Preparatory Academy - Chino Valley 1

Posted March 11, 2016
- a teacher
Please take these reviews with a grain of salt. As you will notice there are multiple reviews on the same days. This is because OPA has their staff members fill reviews out at their staff meetings to try to push the negative reviews down. This school is struggling for a reason. It is not good. As a former teacher there, I was appalled at the things I witnessed. I resigned on my own and have since had many students leave this school as parents are finding out what I saw.

Oxford Preparatory Academy - Chino Valley
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
Mr Raven- thank you for your enthusiasm towards teaching music. My son is developing a real love for music and speaks very highly of you.


Oxford Preparatory Academy - Chino Valley
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
I would prefer no homework but so far in 1st grade the homework is not too much.

Oxford Preparatory Academy - Chino Valley
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
Whenever I am on school grounds I always find the children to be very respectful and polite.

Nearby schools

Oxford Preparatory Academy - Chino Valley
5862 C Street, Chino, CA  91710
(909) 464-2672
Last modified Oxford Preparatory Academy - Chino Valley is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top