Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marshall (Thurgood) Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 737 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 18, 2013

We have been here for two years (K & 1st) and love this school. The principal is absolutely fantastic... cares about the kids and goes above & beyond what he has to do. Parent involvement is very high and the PTA provides a lot of funding and events for the school. My son's K experience was average but I absolutely love his 1st grade class. They think outside the box to help the kids... for example, all of the 1st graders are divded into groups (below, at, and above reading level) and every day go to a specific classroom with their group to work on appropriate reading/writing. Kids who need extra help get it and students who are excelling aren't "held back" by other students. We are very lucky to go to this school.. of course every teacher has a different style, but if there is a true issue in the classroom the school will address it and move the child to another classroom if needed. Only downside is the 1st-6th playground area... mostly blacktop, little playstructure and no room for imaginative play. But other than that, top notch (and clean, well-maintained) school with caring staff & parents!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

My child's school experience at Marshall was NOT positive. We attempted to talk with the teacher and guidance counselor to make positive classroom changes but they were not accepted by the teacher. We did however, see changes in my child s relationship with the teacher, but never experienced a class room change (like we hoped). I volunteered in the class and experienced a fake, disrespect and manipulative teaching style. I never went to the principal but other parents did (wish I had). The classroom and the teaching were stagnant and kids seemed unhappy and bored, with little to excite their weeks. During the time at Marshall my child was difficult to rise in the morning and came home with a bad attitude. I chalked this up to my child having issues. We are currently at a different school district and my child rises easily and comes home very well mannered. My child is already behind at new school district. My advice, be in tune to your child's manners, they can reveal a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

I had a different experience with my child's 2nd grade teacher. She was very negative and didn't do well with kids who were spirited. I think she should be teaching upper grades, not lower grades. Also, they need to take the children out to PE as much as is required by the state. I found they would skip PE sometimes because they had other things to review....math, language arts,etc. PE is very important for our kids. Especially boys. And be careful if they try to label your child ADHD....it is not unusual to hear this complaint from many moms who have wiggly, talkative children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Im a student at Thurgood Marshall Elementary and i really like this school because you learn more than other schools, every single teacher thinks that their whole classroom as family and that welcomes everyone to be nice to eachother and it makes us feel not uncomfortable. Im in 5th grade and i really like my teacher, but im afraid to go to 6th grad because i will be leaving her and she's almost family to me.


Posted February 25, 2010

As far as the negative comments on this school - are you serious! you may want to look at the californian school system in general - before you blame marshall school for curriculum issues. Our family came from another state and can prove this state is seriously lacking in all areas of its curriculum and extra activities like music and sports. Most schools in california are looking to cut those programs now anyway due to budgets. Marshall school is actually a very good school. The californian school system is ranked one of the lowest in educational standards all 50 states. And as far as marshall school glorifying mediocrity, i think you will find it is a sign of the times at all schools in the us. Marshall provides a safe atmosphere and good overall basic public school education. If your seeking more - try private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

My daughter is a member of the second grade at Marshall Elementary. We could not be happier with her teacher, Mrs. Watkins. She is always helpful and interested in our daughters success. She is professional and a joy for my child. Mrs. Watkins continues to overperform. Thank you. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

Glad Mr. Matz is gone. Just seemed concerned with student testing. Not concerned with student overall progress. Teachers are nice, but that's it. Not very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

Nice teacher and a new dedicated personable principle does not make up for the poor curriculum. Most reviews seem to be about how nice the teachers are...that is not why we are sending our kids to school. It is to learn, to be educated with knowledge. On this measurement, it is lacking. After half way through the school yr, no science (did learn the continent song), no music, no art, no PE. It's just reading and math. For the upper grades it is the same, barely covers history/geography , no science (yet), no music, no art, no PE, still told to print work. No directed reading material just let kids pick there own books then sit in front of the computer and answer questions. Very minimal directed - teacher lead reading. Grading is based on a 1-4 system that is not clearly defined.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

excellent school for elementary grades! Teachers are wonderful and they instill discipline to their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

We love this school for our daughter. The teachers have always been excellent and Mrs. Oneal who runs the office is exceptional. They lost their long time principal, Mr. Matz to retirement and that gave us some short lived concern. The new principal, Mr. Gunnett is just as caring and helpful. We could not be more pleased. The 'Gate' student program isn't all that much, but they are trying to improve it, each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2009

Marshall Thurgood offers stracture, discipline and academic excellence. My daughter is so proud to be in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

The start of the school year was absolutely fabulous for our family. The school looked great! The principal and his team did a great job of controlling the traffic on the first day of school. This was the best opening day for traffic since I have been there. There are some new programs at Marshall this year that I am glad are there, most especially the 'Be A Buddy, Not a Bully' program. The principal is really on top of what the school needs to remain safe for all kids. I love the new district calendar sent home for our family. It is so much nicer than the calendar of previous years. Marshall is just an all-around wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2008

I love this school! All of the teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2007

Thurgood Marshall is an excellent school. I'm a credentialed teacher myself and I value the leadership and amazing teachers at this school. They are caring and committed to helping my child. The principal is amazing and took time to call me personally to see how I was feeling about my child's progress. No school is perfect, but this school is the closest I've seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

I think this school is great. However, I barely see the principal interact with the students espescially during recess. My son used to attend another school where the principal would play with the kids in his suit and tie.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

There are always a few parents you can't please, but Marshall School is an incredible place for students. My daughter has been given small group support in reading and is now at grade level. The teachers team teach, splitting the kids up into differentiated math groups based on learning style and ability. Some of my daughter's friends are really high in math and they are challenged appropriately say their parents. I'm so glad the teachers have a day to meet each month to look at my daughter's work, talk about curriculum, and make plans. Lord knows they don't get any prep time. I'm proud of my daughter's school, and our family feels very appreciative of the caring and safe atmosphere this school provides. Go Mustangs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

We are disappointed in the quality of education at this school. The current grading system promotes mediocrity, as students who excel in an academic area are given the same grades as students who are proficient at a basic level in the same area. As a parent volunteer I have been allowed to administer assessment tests to students, a task that should be performed by teachers. Discipline also seems to be a problem, as rude, disruptive students are allowed to remain in classrooms detracting from the education of other students. Teachers are given full-day substitutes monthly to meet for grade-level planning, which further diminishes the quality of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

Its a great school. I am very happy with my child improvment. They have great teachers and parents are very active in this school and also they have good programs for kinder
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

Great teachers. Excellent school spirit and very caring staff. It seems like Prinicpal Matz runs a tight ship.Top quality education in all the Southbay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

Quality of academic programs leaves much to be desired and average at most. Seams to be a lot of reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

910

Change from
2012 to 2013

-7

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

910

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-7

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females80%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner65%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state83%

Math

All Students91%
Females88%
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino93%
Hispanic or Latino89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learner85%
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females72%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino67%
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state73%

Math

All Students87%
Females87%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino93%
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learner88%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Females90%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learner94%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state96%

Math

All Students92%
Females88%
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner84%
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females89%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino80%
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state63%

Math

All Students79%
Females78%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino93%
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state75%

Science

All Students75%
Females80%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino80%
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females83%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino95%
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state88%

Math

All Students73%
Females74%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino77%
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to state80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 44%
White 27%
Asian 6%
Black 5%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/AN/A
English language learners 21%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Scott Woodard
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (619) 656-4248

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2295 MacKenzie Creek Road
Chula Vista, CA 91914
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 656-6262

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT