Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Arroyo Vista Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
Kids at this school can use bad language, talk about people's family, steal, and everyone turns the other way like they didn't hear or see any of this stuff happening.

Arroyo Vista Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
The principal is a bully herself, so she recognizes bullies and she protects them. And leaves the good kids to try and figure out how to defend themselves against these bullies at the school she runs.


Arroyo Vista Charter School 1

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
Just another day on the school grounds where my children have been bullied. Same child for 3 years and my children have gotten blamed for everything. Something has got to give. Roth wants to take away my children's rights and this other child gets a free ride. Roth does not have any compassion for my family or my children. How long is she (Roth) going to bully these kids and the parents.

Arroyo Vista Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
All the good kids are scared to go to school because the fear the bully.

Arroyo Vista Charter School 1

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
Do not be deceived by the great schools rating of a 9. Administration is horrible to deal with and God forbid you have to deal with them concerning a bullying issue. They have an amazing way of turning the bullying issue back onto your child. The principal is taking on children that would not otherwise be accepted at a non charter public school due to insane behavior problems. Her view is if they are smart than they are welcome. This is very dangerous. Trust me, very dangerous. I know first hand. Do not get caught up in the idea of charter school. It would benefit your child more to go to the assigned public school. This school will be the next reform school for soon to be criminals if she is not held accountable for who is allowed to be educated here. It is a joke!!


Arroyo Vista Charter School 4

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school! Kindergarten teacher Ms. Glickman is awesome! The principal is rude, doesn't care to listen to parents and the front office ladies are RUDE too! Huge PTA overall good school but needs a leader who will take the time to meet with a parent when requested!!!

Arroyo Vista Charter School 5

Posted July 21, 2014
- a parent
Great school and great teachers. Have had two kids attending for the last couple of years and have never had an issue.

Arroyo Vista Charter School 1

Posted June 07, 2014
- a parent
AVCMS is a joke! The teachers are either incompetent or on their way out the door. Administration is not helpful and extremely rude. My child was bullied repeatedly and it was ignored by all authority figures. It's disgusting how the school chooses to play 'favorites' and basically ostracize everyone else. Unfortunately, the office staff reflects the leadership which is poor. On top of all of the social/emotional issues, the academic rigor is pretty much nonexistent!! If you want your child to be prepared for high school or accepted in to a decent college, do not choose this middle school- you will be extremely disappointed!!!


Arroyo Vista Charter School 1

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
My child started at AVCS with great expectations. Unfortunately as parents we failed to listen to teachers / parents / classified employee's at the district level. My child was bullied through the grade levels and as parents we did what we could within the system. We finally requested a zone transfer which was denied, we ask why and were told by the district office the principal denied it. We then re-applied a couple of months later for a zone transfer and this time we did not mention bullying as a factor. It was approved and our child was happy and thank us. Principal rude on and off campus. Several times have encountered the principal off campus and she was rude to our child and my spouse. Teachers are afraid to be themselves. Race, age, and sexual orientation should not be reasons to be ashamed of, unfortunately there are several teachers and a classified that have to stay in the closet.

Arroyo Vista Charter School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
It's a great school, my daughter is in 7th I really like it, the only problem is that the Spanish class even the advance is too basic so is a waste of time for the children that are Spanish speaker.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arroyo Vista Charter School
2491 School House Road, Chula Vista, CA  91915-2534
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (619) 656-9676
Last modified Arroyo Vista Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top