Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Otay Ranch Senior High School 3

Posted January 30, 2012
- a parent
I moved here from another state where the school district we came from was very organized. To this day I still get emails regarding up coming functions. It has been very frustrating to me since my son entered ORH due to he lack of communication. It seems like the right hand does not know what the left hand is doing. You can never get a straight answer from everyone. They greatly lack organization. When you do find out about events it is usually the week of if you are lucky and many times the day before. I have never seen a school where the faculty (teachers) do not come out and support the students. The parents are not active within the sports either. They are great at complaining but yet when asked to volunteer they are no where to be found. I had concerns regarding my sons grades I called to his counselor on server occassions and emailed as well. It took the counselor over 3 weeks to email back and she never returned any of my calls.

Otay Ranch Senior High School 5

Posted March 31, 2011
- a parent
Good teachers. Decent kids. Great communication. Nurturing environment. Very sweet office staff. Only positivity. Counselors are always helpful. Lots of school pride here. My kid is really happy and has lots of caring friends.


Otay Ranch Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted April 05, 2010
- a student
im confused as to why people are accusing otay ranch of being undiverse when in fact my school has a wide range of white, asian, mexican, african american, islander, and even foreign exchange students !

Otay Ranch Senior High School 4

Posted November 01, 2009
- a parent
I have a sophmore and a freshman here it has been a pleasant journey. The number one concern I had as a parent when they entered high school was thier safety. To date i have observed a safe enviroment at Otay High. This really means alot to a parent specially now a days with the violence that is heard of in high schools.

Otay Ranch Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
No diversity and extremely large student population. Administrative organization at this school is minimal. The teachers are, for the most part, efficient. My daughters are transfers from another state. It has been extremely difficult for them to fit in at this school.


Otay Ranch Senior High School 4

Posted September 24, 2009
- a student
This school has great academics, but sadly the class sizes are way to large for any help if needed. They have classes with the number of students in the fifties, it's that bad. It's hard to get 1-on-1 time with the teacher if you need help, but they always do try. This school is great if you don't mind having your student amongst 50 others. If you want more personalised education, you should look elsewhere.

Otay Ranch Senior High School 3

Posted June 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Otay Ranch Senior High School 4

Posted March 01, 2009
- a student
Otay Ranch High School has upheld a very fine reputation as far as academics and curriculum. When it comes to the students they have had the highest regard to keeping them educatedand prepared for whatever they choose to pursue. The teachers are amazing with a select few that should be more prepared for their classes. Although a bit crowded, the standards of which the students are taught is good.


Otay Ranch Senior High School 5

Posted November 22, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Otay Ranch Senior High School 3

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
Average in the state generally ranked #49 of 50 states is NOT good. Too much teaching to the test by at least half of the teachers. Dependence on Scantron penalizes the students from really learning. CA has to do it better and smarter, but everyone seems to be running in circles stressing acceptable levels of merit rather than true learning. If your teachers refuse to grade the homework, why give it?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Otay Ranch Senior High School
1250 Olympic Parkway, Chula Vista, CA  91913
(619) 591-5000
Last modified Otay Ranch Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Otay Ranch Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top