Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Salt Creek Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Living in Chula Vista

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $440,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2013

My son attended 1st grade before we were relocated to another city. He loved his school, friends and teachers. He adapted well and made a lot of friends. The principal, Dr Winters is friendly and approachable all the time, He setup a communication channel via weekly email, blog etc to keep us up to date. I also did some volunteer work in the classroom, and was able to bring my 2 yr old along, which was great considering some schools do not allow toddler presence while volunteering. My son is now in 2nd grade in a new school but he still misses his school and teacher, Mrs Allinger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

I am very happy with the structure of the Salt Creek Elementary, the teaching staff and the principal are doing a excellent job. My son is already adapted and has many friends, his learning skills are improving in a very positive way, he loves this school !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

I was extremely happy when my daughtrer started school, she entered Kinder, now she is in 3rd grade and since the change of principal and principal assistance it hasen't been the same, I feel they don't give 100% of there time to improve teaching as well as the environment that has been going on in that school, previous principal and principal assist. were more involved with there teachers, students and parents which was very rewarding to all of us, it totally makes a diference and a piece of mind when you know you little ones are in good hands. I do want to give a thumbs up to the MOM's from the PTG group that are making a diference in our parking lot, hurray!! no more "parking chaos" Thank you Momies".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

Salt Creek has been wonderful for my daughter. She recently finished the 1st grade with Sr. Fernandes, who is an absolutely amazing teacher with an obvious passion for teaching. This school is part of the Anti-Defamation League's "No Place For Hate" and has implemented neat programs to help children develop into accepting and understanding individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

I am very satisifed with the school. As a teacher myself I am very involved in my student's education and have been happy with the education he has received. He is in the dual immersion program and we could not be more pleased as non-Spanish speaking parents. I have had no negative experiences thus far and have had positive and supportive interaction with the principal. To correct a prior statement from another parent, there are after school activities/ care (reading, YMCA care, mad science, etc), and while there is no "official" PE, I am not aware of any school in the area with organized PE. It is really up tot he teacher. Most important is this school has a great API and broke 900 this year. Your kids will get a good education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

My children have been at Salt Creek for the past 2 years. I love taking my children to school daily and having a Principle and V. Principle who remember me by name and my children. The teachers are superb! I could not ask for anything more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

My first 2 years in with my oldest have been outstanding. I am extremely impressed thus far with the DI program, and can hardly wait for my second and third children to start. Principal Winters is always available, and honestly addresses all concerns efficiently and effectively. Being an english speaker, the parent involvement has been imparative to my childs success and has met my family every step of the way. Overall the school's API scores speak for themselves. Salt Creek is and will continue to be a great school in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

Salt Creek Elementary is an amazing school. My son is going in to second grade in the dual language program and he is not only learning - he is excelling. Though I only speak English, at 7 years old, my son is already able to read, write and converse at an accelerated level in both English and Spanish! The teachers are incredible and utilize patience, understanding, and innovation in their instruction. My son is happy and excited each day to go to school and he, and his soon to be kindergarten sister, are eagerly anticipating the upcoming school year. Salt Creek offers many programs and activities which engage not only the students, but also encourage the whole family to get involved. I would highly recommend Salt Creek Elementary to even the most discerning parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

School was great at one point. Do not know what happen but it has lost its value. A few teachers that seem to be on a power trip really do not know why they pick this career if there going to act like this. Maybe we are Awaiting for SUPERMAN (lease watch movie totally applies) No support from principal noir viceprincipal.Good LUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2010

I have two children attending Salt Creek and our experiences for the past 5 years have been very positive. I definitely think the school's greatest strength is its dual language immersion program. The teachers in the program are prepared, enthusiastic and approachable. Parent involvement is always welcomed. What would make this school even better is a comprehensive after school program and a true GATE program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2010

The advertisement is false. They do NOT only NOT have after school activities by the school. They do NOT even offer PE during the day! Warning do not move here unless you are latino and not physically active.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2010

Salt Creek has an excellent Spanish Immersion program. We have two children in the program-in first and third grade. My third grade student scored advanced on the CST's last year and I applaud the high expectations that their teachers have for all the students as well as the standards based report cards that provide us with a detailed profile of our students academic performance. Keep up the excellent work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2010

My daughter just finished Kinder at Salt Creek. She absolutely loved her teacher Mrs. Jones and her class. I was very pleased with her teacher's expertise with children, her teaching skills, enthusiasm and style. My daughter quickly learned how to read and write on her own. She will be joining the dual-immersion program next year and I've heard great feedback from other parents. The Principal, Mr. Winters, has shown great leadership and expresses a friendly and caring attitude. We love Salt Creek Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

School is great , Pretty please with everything. I am have my kindergarten enrolled there and he has had a great experience....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2009

We are so impressed with this school. We have moved around a bit, and this is the best school our children have ever attended. We have one in Kindergarden and one in 1st, and both are thriving at Salt Creek. The school is large, but I would not call it over populated at all. So what if it has 7 1st grade classes! It has 7 outstanding 1st grade teachers! The quality of the 1st grade education the children receive is what is important, not the number of classes. The teachers give great individual attention. The school has all sorts of after school programs. The school has outstanding behaviorally based encouragement. I highly recommend this school. One of our snobby neighbors sends her kid to a private school in 'North County.' I laugh at her ignorance. The richness of diversity in a great school is something she is depriving her child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

I agree this school is over populated. I live across the street and saw the school being built. It was a nice the 1st year when it first opened, now it's so crowded. I really enjoyed Dr. Glover, but, he has moved on. I don't know where all of our property taxes go but, it seems like every time the school needs money, flyers for a fund raisers, school supplies, field trips and 6th grade camp, the list goes on and on. There's not one month that goes by, that the school needs money for something.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

Great school, with outstanding principal, staff and parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

My daugher enjoys going to this school. The new Prinicpal Dr. Glover is very enthusiastic. I just wish they had an all day Kindergarden program what a hardship for working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

My son is in 1 st grade in the Sp. immersion program. I was very disappointed to find out the second week of school that his teacher found a new position. But the transition has been great. Parents were actually invited to participate in the hiring process. I was one of the three parents on the panel to hire a replacement and what a wonderful experience. My son loves his new teacher. The principle is awesome and inspires greatness. Only wish the school had fewer students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

Great Principal Dr. Glover, this is my sons 3rd yr at this school and his teachers have been great. We could be lucky, but I think this school just has good teachers. My son went from shy to outgoing and no problems with bullying so far. Encouraged parent envolvment, and lots of student awards. His teachers have noticed where he is excelling and where he needs more attention. I feel the kids are challenged but at the same time allowing them to be kids and have fun. My son cant wait to go back to school after the breaks. unfortunately we are moving out of state, we will miss this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

889

Change from
2012 to 2013

-21

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

889

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-21

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females69%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino83%
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate65%
Parent education - declined to state62%

Math

All Students78%
Females80%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino94%
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner63%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females60%
Males41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino60%
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate66%
Parent education - declined to state57%

Math

All Students81%
Females79%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino88%
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner81%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females89%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner78%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)95%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to state89%

Math

All Students87%
Females88%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females88%
Males67%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Filipino89%
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to state78%

Math

All Students81%
Females86%
Males75%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Filipino93%
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner69%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state91%

Science

All Students77%
Females83%
Males71%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Filipino86%
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females94%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino88%
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state61%

Math

All Students79%
Females83%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino85%
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 23% 11%
White 22% 26%
Black 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lalaine Perez
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (619) 397-4669
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1055 Hunte Parkway
Chula Vista, CA 91914
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 397-5494

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT