Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bonita Country Day School

Private | PK-6 | 111 students

We are a highly acclaimed private school best known for our high test scores.
 
 

 

Living in Chula Vista

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $330,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 23, 2013

Exceptional School! This is our first year with our child in Kindergarten at Bonita Country Day. The principal, Mrs. C is very interested and astute to each of the children's learning experiences. I was very impressed that she knew our child's potential learning abilities. Each child is challenged in the classroom with teaching them how to THINK and solve problems. Spanish and P.E is in the daily schedule. The classroom size (K-1) are small (approximately 10 students now). Ms. Couts' is an excellent teacher with good credentials. She has high standards and is actively involved with each kid to help he/she excel in academics. My child loves her! The teachers/parents actively participate in fundraising to improve the school. This year's Hawaiian Luau fundraising for a new blacktop for the school was nicely planned, and was a great success! Ms. Cole is the Director of Admissions that continues to keep the kids actively involved in the community. This year, the school will be participating in the Otay Ranch Town Center Annual Santa Parade and Tree Lighting. If you want your kid to have a good, strong foundation in education, this school is highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2013

We have had two children in preschool at BCDS, both of whom started at more expensive, traditional, non-Montessori preschools in the area. There is no comparison. With regard to curriculum, this school has exceeded our expectations in every way. The changes we have seen in our children (pushing in their chairs after they're done with an activity, putting their toys and "materials" away, etc.) have been amazing. They are learning quickly in both English and Spanish. The teachers, both Ms. Montecinos and Ms. Abril, are top notch and very attentive to the individual needs of the children. The parents and other children are also amazing. If you are interested in your child getting a good educational foundation, look no further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

The demeanor of kids at this school is good. They learn to respect each other as they grow especially if they started strong from Montessori. Ms. Abril, superb! Spanish teacher, Mrs. Reyes, fantastic! Kids are enthusiastic and look forward to her class always. The curriculum here is ahead of other schools especially in math (by 2 years). Kids transferring in usually needs assistance catching us to curriculum at BCDS. Yearly test results reflect if the kids are actually learning. They are all learning. As parent, I also supplement to help my kids learn or develop better at BCDS. The school is not fancy. It is simple, strong in academics and for sure is clean. Anyone who has their kids going to BCDS for 3 years will not do that if they think the school is really bad. I think it is just difference of opinion or parenting style and such parent may be in denial of the child s social/ behavorial needs. Few kids were dismissed from school by our headmaster recently to not disturb & retain the respectable academic learning environment for others at BCDS. Competitive learning amongst driven students have been healthy and motivational.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

Chess club instructor, Blake Borskey at BCDS is so wonderful with the kids. My kids never quick to leave the chess club meeting & never wants to miss class because they love going to BCDS. Also, staff works hard this year with voluntary fundraiser fund computer tablets for kids learning tools (which already have classroom desktops). Fundraisers are never mandatory as it is required at some other private schools. Our retired and current director puts in lots of efforts to find ways to raise funds for fun school activites for our kids, such as free fall carnival, spring celebration, year end fun events, yearbooks, etc. It took me at least 4 years after first being at the school to realize their efforts. I have a much better appreciation for our previous director, Mrs. Church for all her dedicated efforts for the many great student experiences at BCDS. Thank you Mrs. Church. We love you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

Excellent choice for your kids!...We are glad we enroll our oldest son in BCDS, one year after and we don't regret our decision, next school year our toddler will start on the preschool program. Excellent teachers, excellent principal and excellent environment, small but caring school, nice and diverse after school programs like: Yoga, Playball, Dance, etc...also interesting field trips and good culture. Your kids will learn social values, manners and positive thinking all these besides the outstanding academic curriculum that guarantee success in middle and high school. If you can afford the tuition (which is maybe the same as you are paying for preschool right now) don't hesitate to choose this school. We are having a great experience and my kid is happy to go to school everyday! - A parent from BCDS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

Our experience with Bonita Country Day School has both met and exceeded our expectations! Teachers are outstanding, caring, and compassionate. The principal stays true to the school's mission of teaching children how to think--not what to think. Because of the smaller class sizes, it has been easy to form close bonds with other families and their children as well as facilitating student/teacher interacton and feedback. Lessons and projects are clearly designed to allow each student the opportunity to reach their own level of excellence. BCDS is a hidden gem--fostering elements that many parents are seeking for their children's educational experience--social grace, personal responsibility, a feeling of community, challenging academics, and ready access to the teacher responsible for teaching your child. Principal is accessible to any of our concerns. Director of Admissions--Ms. Church--is first rate on every level!! We've had a great experience here at BCDS and our class plans on returning next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

Not impressed - principal is terrible to deal with. Academics are okay but can get elsewhere. Non-refundable registration fee is expensive! Turn-over high this past summer 2010 and their ads are misleading - it says K-5th but it currently does not go up through 5th grade, beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

I'm very impressed with Bonita Country Day. Truly unique, if your focus as a parent is to seek out the best educational experience for your child, this is the school to realize that goal. BCDS provides challenging academics balanced with social graces and a spirit of community service. Teachers and school staff are fantastic! My daughter looks forward to going to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

This is my first year at BCDS and I love it!!! I only wish someone had told me about it earlier. I have two children in the Montessori program and they, for the first time, love going to school. The teachers are warm and loving, yet firm. The curriculum seems to keep them very interested. They play, have fun, while learning to read, write, as well as about the world around them. I highly, highly recommend this preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

I have a preschooler and a 1st grader at Bonita Country Day. They are both having a fantastic experience, academically and socially. Great teachers!!! Art, music, science and spanish...all add to the fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

I have two kids at BCDS. Both have been there since preschool. My oldest is now in 3rd grade. The teachers are awesome and my kids are challenged daily. In addition to traditional subjects, they have art, music and spanish in the curriculum. Class sizes in the elementary school for my kids have ranged from 9 kids to 15 kids. I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

My child attends kindergarten at Bonita Country Day. I'm extremely happy with the staff and also the curriculum. My child has made tremendous improvement academically and also socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Suzanne Catanzaro
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • IMS
Associations
  • NAPS
Fax number
  • (619) 656-0141

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Game club
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Bonita Country Day School believes in "Teaching students how to think, not what to think." Each student is respected as an important individual with a unique ability to learn.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
36
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
48

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$8000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Francis Parker
Warren Walker
La Jolla Country Day
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

625 Otay Lakes Road
Chula Vista, CA 91913
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 656-0141

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Discovery Charter School
Chula Vista, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT