Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
111 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bonita Country Day School 1

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
Both of my children attended this school. We have left. The Principal and Headmaster are impossible to deal with. Many other families have left for the same reason. I'm thinking of starting a Facebook page. For what you pay for your children to attend this school, it should be a more harmonious atmosphere. Since leaving the school, we have found the curriculum available online for $20. We moved our children (20 minutes across town) to the Rock Academy where they not only get a great education, but the staff and administration are pleasant, knowledgeable and possess integrity.

Bonita Country Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
All of the teachers we encountered from Preschool through to 1st grade were knowledgeable and nice to our children. But we did catch one in a couple of lies. Integrity lacking.


Bonita Country Day School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
The Principal and Headmaster are in charge, want you to know that they are in charge and this is their school. They do not respect the role of parents in the process and stand in the way of parents developing a relationship with the teachers. Every conversation we had with our children's teachers had to be overseen or witnessed by the Principal. The Principal won't even allow you to walk your children directly to the class because, as she puts it, you might want to "talk to the teacher who doesn't have time".

Bonita Country Day School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
You can not instill what you do not possess yourself. We encountered a few situations during the 3+ years that our children attended this school when the staff, administration and/or teachers did not operate with honesty, integrity and/or fairness.

Bonita Country Day School 5

Posted March 19, 2015
- a parent
We have watched our children blossom in the Pre-K program at Bonita Country Day. The teachers know not only what each child needs academically, but they also know what each child needs emotionally. We love that our children can progress at their own pace and discover along the way what they are especially good at or what they enjoy.


Bonita Country Day School 5

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
Our child is now in first grade at Bonita County Day School. For the last three years our child loves going to school and is so excited on a Monday morning to return to see her teachers and friends. The Bonita County Day School motto is Teaching children how to think, not what to think . As a result of this philosophy our child benefits from a positive self-esteem and a confidence that we believe are providing a strong foundation for her entire education and beyond. The student-teacher ratio is extremely favorable and the nurturing, experienced and effective teachers and staff at BCSD excel in their field. Despite being in first grade our child is doing reading and math a year and more about the current grade level. In addition to the classroom curriculum, which also includes Spanish, the school offers a bountiful extracurricular set of activities including chess, cooking, playball and violin. The principal, headmaster, director, teachers, aftercare and other staff are all enthusiastic, approachable, available, caring, receptive to suggestions. We are extremely pleased and highly recommend Bonita County Day School.

Bonita Country Day School 5

Posted February 08, 2015
- a parent
I absolutely love the school!!! My daughter has learned so much, and its only halfway through the semester. The curriculum and the way the Montessori program teaches seems so intuitive to natural learning and understanding versus the rote memorization technique. All of the teachers and staff are friendly yet professional, the school is maintained nicely. The Principal and the other parents share my value of education and learning and children being well-rounded. The one and only negative is the cost-BUT the cost is well worth it to me. I have a very busy job, I'm in grad school, (ie. little extra time) and my daughter's education, especially the foundation is very very important to me. Bonita Country Day has met and exceeded my expectations. Oh one more thing, the classes are really small, the surrounding public schools have thirty kids per teacher, here it 10-15 per class. Oh and the Spanish lessons really give my daughter pride in her own knowledge.

Bonita Country Day School 5

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
My son has attended Montessori schools since preschool in the Poway and San Diego area and when looking for a school close to home, I came across BCDS at the last minute and enrolled him. I have never seen him progress so quickly academically in any other school he has attended like he did at BCDS. I am impressed by his dedication and focus from the past two years he has attended and he is a very happy alumni here. He is very close with his classmates and enjoys this small school. I hope to keep him here as long as I can, I recommend this school to anyone who would like a curriculum focused on individual pace learning.


Bonita Country Day School 4

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
Great school! We have had our daughter here for 3 years now and she is working well above her current grade level. The teachers are fantastic and take the time to cater to each child's needs allowing them to excel in each subject.

Bonita Country Day School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
In regards to academic curriculum and excellence it is top notch and advance without pressure. BCDS curriculum is 2 years advance on average, and they supplement the lessons most times, so your kids will mostly likely be more than 2 years advance. My kids have been about at least two years academically advance for all their grades when tested. In comparison to all the many other elite Southbay and La Jolla private schools I have visited, BCDS is obviously advance. Parents who decide to enroll their kids here at BCDS will come to appreciate it watching their kids grow intellectually & be independent thinkers. If parents seriously compare curriculum, you will see why BCDS is the better choice. It shows when the kids do well when they have to move on to other schools by academics and exhibits wonderful demeanor. Bonita Country Day School has been known and proven to produce many students who are highly advance learners and thinkers successfully. Note, this school is not big on sports or fancy libraries, or pretentious show of technologies. It is about basic fundamental education to provide your kids with the building blocks for personal success.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bonita Country Day School
625 Otay Lakes Road, Chula Vista, CA  91913
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (619) 656-0141
Last modified Bonita Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top