Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Private
Chula Vista, CA
Students enrolled: 111
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bonita Country Day School 5

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
My son has attended Montessori schools since preschool in the Poway and San Diego area and when looking for a school close to home, I came across BCDS at the last minute and enrolled him. I have never seen him progress so quickly academically in any other school he has attended like he did at BCDS. I am impressed by his dedication and focus from the past two years he has attended and he is a very happy alumni here. He is very close with his classmates and enjoys this small school. I hope to keep him here as long as I can, I recommend this school to anyone who would like a curriculum focused on individual pace learning.

Bonita Country Day School 4

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
Great school! We have had our daughter here for 3 years now and she is working well above her current grade level. The teachers are fantastic and take the time to cater to each child's needs allowing them to excel in each subject.


Bonita Country Day School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
In regards to academic curriculum and excellence it is top notch and advance without pressure. BCDS curriculum is 2 years advance on average, and they supplement the lessons most times, so your kids will mostly likely be more than 2 years advance. My kids have been about at least two years academically advance for all their grades when tested. In comparison to all the many other elite Southbay and La Jolla private schools I have visited, BCDS is obviously advance. Parents who decide to enroll their kids here at BCDS will come to appreciate it watching their kids grow intellectually & be independent thinkers. If parents seriously compare curriculum, you will see why BCDS is the better choice. It shows when the kids do well when they have to move on to other schools by academics and exhibits wonderful demeanor. Bonita Country Day School has been known and proven to produce many students who are highly advance learners and thinkers successfully. Note, this school is not big on sports or fancy libraries, or pretentious show of technologies. It is about basic fundamental education to provide your kids with the building blocks for personal success.

Bonita Country Day School 5

Posted November 23, 2013
- a parent
Exceptional School! This is our first year with our child in Kindergarten at Bonita Country Day. The principal, Mrs. C is very interested and astute to each of the children's learning experiences. I was very impressed that she knew our child's potential learning abilities. Each child is challenged in the classroom with teaching them how to THINK and solve problems. Spanish and P.E is in the daily schedule. The classroom size (K-1) are small (approximately 10 students now). Ms. Couts' is an excellent teacher with good credentials. She has high standards and is actively involved with each kid to help he/she excel in academics. My child loves her! The teachers/parents actively participate in fundraising to improve the school. This year's Hawaiian Luau fundraising for a new blacktop for the school was nicely planned, and was a great success! Ms. Cole is the Director of Admissions that continues to keep the kids actively involved in the community. This year, the school will be participating in the Otay Ranch Town Center Annual Santa Parade and Tree Lighting. If you want your kid to have a good, strong foundation in education, this school is highly recommended.

Bonita Country Day School 5

Posted November 18, 2013
- a parent
We have had two children in preschool at BCDS, both of whom started at more expensive, traditional, non-Montessori preschools in the area. There is no comparison. With regard to curriculum, this school has exceeded our expectations in every way. The changes we have seen in our children (pushing in their chairs after they're done with an activity, putting their toys and "materials" away, etc.) have been amazing. They are learning quickly in both English and Spanish. The teachers, both Ms. Montecinos and Ms. Abril, are top notch and very attentive to the individual needs of the children. The parents and other children are also amazing. If you are interested in your child getting a good educational foundation, look no further.


Bonita Country Day School 5

Posted November 16, 2012
- a parent
Chess club instructor, Blake Borskey at BCDS is so wonderful with the kids. My kids never quick to leave the chess club meeting & never wants to miss class because they love going to BCDS. Also, staff works hard this year with voluntary fundraiser fund computer tablets for kids learning tools (which already have classroom desktops). Fundraisers are never mandatory as it is required at some other private schools. Our retired and current director puts in lots of efforts to find ways to raise funds for fun school activites for our kids, such as free fall carnival, spring celebration, year end fun events, yearbooks, etc. It took me at least 4 years after first being at the school to realize their efforts. I have a much better appreciation for our previous director, Mrs. Church for all her dedicated efforts for the many great student experiences at BCDS. Thank you Mrs. Church. We love you.

Bonita Country Day School 5

Posted May 04, 2012
- a parent
Excellent choice for your kids!...We are glad we enroll our oldest son in BCDS, one year after and we don't regret our decision, next school year our toddler will start on the preschool program. Excellent teachers, excellent principal and excellent environment, small but caring school, nice and diverse after school programs like: Yoga, Playball, Dance, etc...also interesting field trips and good culture. Your kids will learn social values, manners and positive thinking all these besides the outstanding academic curriculum that guarantee success in middle and high school. If you can afford the tuition (which is maybe the same as you are paying for preschool right now) don't hesitate to choose this school. We are having a great experience and my kid is happy to go to school everyday! - A parent from BCDS

Bonita Country Day School 5

Posted March 25, 2011
- a parent
Our experience with Bonita Country Day School has both met and exceeded our expectations! Teachers are outstanding, caring, and compassionate. The principal stays true to the school's mission of teaching children how to think--not what to think. Because of the smaller class sizes, it has been easy to form close bonds with other families and their children as well as facilitating student/teacher interacton and feedback. Lessons and projects are clearly designed to allow each student the opportunity to reach their own level of excellence. BCDS is a hidden gem--fostering elements that many parents are seeking for their children's educational experience--social grace, personal responsibility, a feeling of community, challenging academics, and ready access to the teacher responsible for teaching your child. Principal is accessible to any of our concerns. Director of Admissions--Ms. Church--is first rate on every level!! We've had a great experience here at BCDS and our class plans on returning next year!


Bonita Country Day School 1

Posted October 06, 2010
- a parent
Not impressed - principal is terrible to deal with. Academics are okay but can get elsewhere. Non-refundable registration fee is expensive! Turn-over high this past summer 2010 and their ads are misleading - it says K-5th but it currently does not go up through 5th grade, beware!

Bonita Country Day School 5

Posted October 23, 2009
- a parent
I'm very impressed with Bonita Country Day. Truly unique, if your focus as a parent is to seek out the best educational experience for your child, this is the school to realize that goal. BCDS provides challenging academics balanced with social graces and a spirit of community service. Teachers and school staff are fantastic! My daughter looks forward to going to school everyday!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bonita Country Day School
625 Otay Lakes Road, Chula Vista, CA  91913
(619) 656-0141
Last modified Bonita Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Bonita Country Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top