Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Leonardo Da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School

Charter | K-6 | 280 students

Our school is best known for its focus on health and science.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted November 10, 2012

Leonardo da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School (LdVCS) is a K-6 elementary school with a health and science focus where we value developing the skills, talents, and interests of the whole child. LdVCS uses Project-Based Learning to engage students in authentic cross-curricular learning experiences, and as a health sciences school, a major part of our school s mission is to create health literate students who exhibit knowledge, skills, and behaviors critical to healthy living. We are an independent public charter school where decisions are made locally with parent and community involvement. We offer daily physical education, incorporate running into the day every day for all students, and provide lessons in Spanish as a foreign language. We are a tuition-free public school. Our students are happy and enjoy school! Visit http://davincicharter.org for more information.

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

LdVCS is like a home away from home. My children feels safe and nurtured, and is always willing to try new innovative ideas that LdV provides. I love this school, the teachers, staff, parents, and students who grow closer to one another everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2013

I have seen a big improvement in my 4 children, there so exited everyday to go to school. There more calm and enjoy sharing what they learned. They were behind and now in one year attending this school there doing great! Love this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

I am so happy that I found this school! This is the best school ever! I come from a private school, and beleive me this school is waaay better! fisrt of all I love the programs the run very day, the teachers are wonderful my 2 kids are very happy the love the school and their teachers, LDVC is the best school for my kids!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

I was fortunate enough to get our son in the lottery, and after his first year I am so happy to be part of this school. Watching children thrive in the project based curriculum, learn healthy eating habits, and stay fit with the running program has been really wonderful. My son grew so much during his first year, and is now thriving in first grade. The teachers are amazing and dedicated, and the group of involved parents makes such a difference. The new facility the district has provided is really terrific, and I look forward to watching both of my children grow in this wonderful school over the next 8 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

This is my third year in this school, I have 2 daughters one in 1st grade and one in 2nd grade, this is the best school, the teachers are amazing, their Math program is so good and my daughters are so happy and enjoy every moment they are at school. All staff memebers do a great job too. The Parents are so involved. Nothing can make me happier than see a big smile in my daughters face every day and they are learning too! Priceless..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2012

Felicidades este es mi segundo anio escolar y cada vez veo mejoras en todo mi hijo va feliz al colegio y todos los d as tiene algo nuevo que platicarme que aprendi ... Me gustar a que: El uniforme fuera obligatorio que proporcionaran credencial escolar Que dieran un certificado de fin de curso escolar Diplomas por asistencia y puntualidad
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

Would absolutely recommend this school to all parents! The teachers are excellent, parents are very involved and the students are wonderful! LDV is the place to be! Most of all my children are happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2011

I love this school and most importantly, my children also love it. My children have greatly improved academically. I like the policy of more nutritious lunches and snacks, the communication they have with parents, and everything in general. I love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2011

My daughter at 5 years old knew she wanted to go to LDV after only a little while visiting an already in session class. She left public school where she was bored to tears and given sub-standard food and candy by her teacher in an aging, ill-maintained school. She has thrived and even thanked me for finding this school for her. She gets a well-balanced education coupled with healthy eating habits that are important to our family. Although we live in Imperial Beach, we feel the commute and commitment is well worth it. She is being exposed to methods of teaching and subjects you just don't get in the public school system anymore. My husband and I call it a private school education at public school prices! ;-) My preschooler can't wait to attend next year and have the same Kinder teacher my older daughter had. She attended programs with me and sees how happy her big sister is at school. The only way I could be happier with this school is if it was a block away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

It is sad to see that the ratings of this school go down because a few people expect there children to become geniuses out of one year of school. I recently saw the numbers and numbers don't lie. Starting out the 1st yr the school exceeded expectations, and I strongly believe it will continue to do so. My daughter came from a public school with 1200 children and little to no parent involvement. At this school you not only get to know the teachers and staff, but you get to know the parents as well. What I find even more interesting is the diversity and no seperation of socio-economic status as children form all over the south bay are welcome., not just from Eastlake. I look forward to a great new year and hope Mrs. Van Nice continues to build on Mrs. Kang great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2011

Unfortunately this charter stands for anything but community. While they encourage parent involvement and monetary donations, rarely do they appear to make decisions based on community opinion or for the benefit of the children. In fact, the resounding message that is received at most meetings is that if parents don't like the decisions being made, they are free to leave, as the school has a wait list and those children can easily be replaced. Teachers are great, but are often treated unfairly and also don't seem to have much input, which is resulting in a quick turnover. While they promise a Spanish program, it has been canceled mid-year both years they have been open. Poor fiscal decisions, leaving many to wonder if the school will be able to stay open or if they will be forced to close their doors mid-year. It is truly a sad thing when a school with such potential is run like this. We were so optimistic coming to this school when it opened, and leave now feeling defeated and worn down. We walk away having made wonderful friends, but also feel that attending LDVCS has put our child's education at a disadvantage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

I am a parent who left this school and it was a tough choice. The school is nice and small and everyone knows everyone. It has a good "vibe". But, it lacks fundamental resources to meet the needs of many of the kids. After trying to advocate for change, we decided it was best for our family to move on. If you are undecided, I recommend stopping in to the school and seeing for yourself, as every family is different. You can learn a lot from observing the leadership and parent involvement there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

I read the one star reviews and have to inform readers of the truth. The two parents who gave these reviews are consequently the two parents that are pulling their kids out of LdV this week (we all know who they are, very gossipy, and I am happy they are freeing us of their negativity). I love LdV but more importantly my son loves LdV. I pulled him out of our local school of 800+ students when I noticed his significance their was just a test number. Sure he was a good test taker, but he was unmotivated to learn and lacked important skills. Since he's been at LdV, he loves learning, is making personal connections and has an overall improved quality of life, while still being challenged in all curricular areas. I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

I like the vision of this school but decided to pull my children out after the start of the year because of the poor test scores and the inability to see any change from the administration. The Board seems to be cut off at the knees and parents, while asked to be involved, aren't engaged beyond asking for fundraising efforts. Some teachers are gems, but can't do their jobs because of the lack of leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

We love LdVCS! I have my degree in Psychology and Child development and researched and actually visited several schools before making this school the perfect choice for my daughter. My daughter is getting a well balanced education. What I like about this school is that she is able to advance and work at her level. I also like that she will get extra help in her weaker subjects-- Her teacher is wonderful and i really like that all the teachers in her grade work together. You can't expect a school to have the highest test scores in the first year! I feel very informed about what is going on in my daughters classroom and in the school. The fact that this school has grown SO much from the first to the 2nd year, just tells you how much parents want their kids to come here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2010

I love the location of this school. I feel very secure there. The staff is always trying to make improvements. They are very open to parent participation and go out their way to keep parents informed. Yes, this school has had to work a few things out being a brand new charter school. But all I know is my child is so much happier here than at his last school. If I were a kid, I would want to go to LdVCS too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2010

My child loves this school and so do I. We left our neighborhood school in Chula Vista because they were only teaching to the state exam. My child was getting sick each day from stress. At LdV the teachers have found such a nice balance between teaching to the state exam and what children need in life. This school has not stopped teaching science, social studies, PE, or art. If all you are concerned about is state test scores then stick with a test prep school. If you want your child to think and be a good person then come to LdV. The comment about the teachers not being able to teach is ludicrous. All you need to do is volunteer for a day and you will see how amazing the teachers are! Being a part of the solution, and not the problem is the charter school way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

Horrible Leadership! Terrible curriculum ! Many disruptive children, no playground equiptment...Kids can tell you about body functions, However they cant tell you the basics. Seasoned teachers who cant teach. ALWAYS an excuse as to why they cant reach benchmark. Highly recommend pulling your kids out or not even consider going there at all. NOT one grade level could reach state standards. FAILING staff equals FAILING students!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

791

Change from
2012 to 2013

+35

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

791

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+35

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females54%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students56%
Females54%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate54%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students34%
Females33%
Males35%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students55%
Females50%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Femalesn/a
Males28%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only29%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students35%
Femalesn/a
Males22%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only29%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Femalesn/a
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students57%
Femalesn/a
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students34%
Femalesn/a
Males33%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability33%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students41%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability41%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 86%
White 9%
Black 2%
Asian 1%
Two or more races 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/AN/A
English language learners 43%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 9%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Amber Goslee
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (619) 420-0677

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

229 East Naples
Chula Vista, CA 91911
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 420-0066

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT