Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Leonardo da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School (LdVCS) is a K-6 elementary school with a health and science focus where we value developing the skills, talents, and interests of the whole child. LdVCS uses Project-Based Learning to engage students in authentic cross-curricular learning experiences, and as a health sciences school, a major part of our school s mission is to create health literate students who exhibit knowledge, skills, and behaviors critical to healthy living. We are an independent public charter school where decisions are made locally with parent and community involvement. We offer daily physical education, incorporate running into the day every day for all students, and provide lessons in Spanish as a foreign language. We are a tuition-free public school. Our students are happy and enjoy school! Visit http://davincicharter.org for more information.
November 10, 2012

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Leonardo Da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to Mrs. Vasquez for teaching my daughters Spanish, with just an hour a week of Spanish, my kids are reading and writing in Spanish. Also encouraging them of being better persons and helping them on their selfsteem.

Leonardo Da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School 5

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
As a parent with three children I would have to say we've been blessed on so many levels! The teachers and staff are amazing! They care about the whole child and take care of situations as they arise. Our little school has come along way and will continue to strive.


Leonardo Da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School 5

Posted June 12, 2015
- a community member
Ldv is great school because they have amazing teachers who are highly educated and well prepared. All the teachers are loving and patient and rely on positive discipline to help the children learn and grow. The class sizes are small. They offer great after school programs at affordable costs. The are looking into having the DASH program next year. There is lots of parent involvement. My children have been attending Ldv since 2010 and every year the school has made great improvements. Don't be thrown off by the test scores, while other schools are focused on preparing kids for the test scores, Ldv prepares you children for their future. My children have learned plenty if not more than what traditional schools are teaching. As I mentioned before the teachers are what makes this school an excellent choice for your children.

Leonardo Da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School 5

Posted December 12, 2014
- a parent
Great school! It's our first year here at LdVCS and we love it! The students are very welcomed by the amazing Teachers who truly care about their student.

Leonardo Da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
My 5 year old enjoys attending this school!!! The way they teach here makes learning more interesting and fun. We as Parents first attended the orientation meetings before the start of the school year, and we can tell the entire staff love their jobs and love to TEACH!! It feels like a small community of neighbors, they hold meetings to keep you informed and encourage parents to be involved as volunteers. We receive weekly e-mails from my son's teacher about what they are about to learn for that week. I couldn't ask for a better school for my boy.


Leonardo Da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
LdVCS is like a home away from home. My children feels safe and nurtured, and is always willing to try new innovative ideas that LdV provides. I love this school, the teachers, staff, parents, and students who grow closer to one another everyday.

Leonardo Da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School 5

Posted July 06, 2013
- a parent
I have seen a big improvement in my 4 children, there so exited everyday to go to school. There more calm and enjoy sharing what they learned. They were behind and now in one year attending this school there doing great! Love this school!!!

Leonardo Da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School 5

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
I am so happy that I found this school! This is the best school ever! I come from a private school, and beleive me this school is waaay better! fisrt of all I love the programs the run very day, the teachers are wonderful my 2 kids are very happy the love the school and their teachers, LDVC is the best school for my kids!!


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Leonardo da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School (LdVCS) is a K-6 elementary school with a health and science focus where we value developing the skills, talents, and interests of the whole child. LdVCS uses Project-Based Learning to engage students in authentic cross-curricular learning experiences, and as a health sciences school, a major part of our school s mission is to create health literate students who exhibit knowledge, skills, and behaviors critical to healthy living. We are an independent public charter school where decisions are made locally with parent and community involvement. We offer daily physical education, incorporate running into the day every day for all students, and provide lessons in Spanish as a foreign language. We are a tuition-free public school. Our students are happy and enjoy school! Visit http://davincicharter.org for more information.
Posted November 10, 2012

Leonardo Da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School 5

Posted October 12, 2012
- a parent
I was fortunate enough to get our son in the lottery, and after his first year I am so happy to be part of this school. Watching children thrive in the project based curriculum, learn healthy eating habits, and stay fit with the running program has been really wonderful. My son grew so much during his first year, and is now thriving in first grade. The teachers are amazing and dedicated, and the group of involved parents makes such a difference. The new facility the district has provided is really terrific, and I look forward to watching both of my children grow in this wonderful school over the next 8 years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leonardo Da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School
229 East Naples, Chula Vista, CA  91911-2332
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (619) 420-0066
Last modified Leonardo Da Vinci Health Sciences Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top