Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clear View

Public | K-6

 
 

Living in Chula Vista

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $278,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2014

Our daughter is in first grade at Clear View, and our preschooler is receiving speech therapy at Clear View as well. We've found this school to be full of opportunity for our children. From Math and Science Family night to outdoor campouts with families to Friday movies and more. We feel very welcomed by Mr. Carroll, who is always present and saying hi, the staff in the office, the custodial staff, and the teachers. My 1st daughter is thriving with Mrs. Bingley as her teacher, who goes above and beyond our expectations. She is an incredible teacher and understands each student. And our preschooler has come a long way with her speech teacher, Mrs. Stephenson, who is incredibly patient! We highly recommend Clear View to others. The students excel, they care for one another, we've never witnessed any bullying of any kind, and our children are inspired by excellent role models at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

Clear View is an absolutely wonderful elementary school. The school has a very strong community of parents, teachers and support staff who all work together to provide an outstanding educational experience for the students. We currently have two children at Clear View and have had great relationships with all of their teachers. The teachers are happy to offer additional assistance when they deem it necessary, take the time to get to know the parents of their students, and put together well-rounded lessons for the kids each day. The school (and the strong PTA) is working hard to maintain the extracurricular activities that so many schools have had to let go with the continual cuts to fiscal resources in recent years. I cannot recommend Clear View highly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

Love this school! I have my two boys at Clearview and I will not even move from my apt. just because of them attending there. I highly recommend this school for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2013

We cannot recommend this school highly enough. This year I have 3 children attending Clear View, & I have had a child attending Clear View since 2007. The principal, Chris Carroll, is AMAZING. He is always there to help parents and students. The office staff are SO NICE; always helpful & show so much concern for our children. And that's just the staff! The TEACHERS are incredibly dedicated. They even help the children after school - ballet folklorico, school campout, cheerleading, fishing club, soccer, football (and there is much more!) - all done through teacher & parent volunteers. We've seen teachers tutoring kids before & after school if they needed extra help. Unbelievable! The Parents also work hard to make this school the awesome place it is. They are phenomenal. The Immersion Program is awesome; no other way to describe it. Teachers, parents, & kids work so well together. My eldest is now in 8th grade, & her strong education at Clear View has enabled her to thrive in jr. high. We are so impressed with this school, and cannot recommend it highly enough. The school & grounds are immaculate. My children LOVE their teachers and feel so welcomed at Clear View!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

I am an alumnus from over 18 years ago. I am not a graduate of Morehouse College as well. I would have to say that attending Clear View was the best educational experience of my life. I learned more here than I learned at any other school. I originally attended public school. When I left public school, I was barely getting by. When I made it to Clear View, I was in the gifted program in less than year. Clear View definitely made a difference and positively impacted my life.


Posted February 29, 2012

I currently have a first and second grade child that attend Clear View. My daughter who is now in the eight grade attended Clear View as well. I absolutely love this school. There is a lot of parent/teacher communication, they have a great anti bullying program and self esteem program. They go the extra mile to make sure your child succeeds. If your child isn't successful at Clear View it's not because of the school. My son was having a hard time and even though the teachers were doing everything they could I had to step it up as well. Working together with teachers like Ms. Morales-Hernandez and Ms. Guerrero to ensure that my son becomes a great success. Clear View is the reason i havent sold my house and moved to North County. I love the Clear View community that is represented by neighbors, parents and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

I attended Clear View from k - 6. I absolutely loved it. It was like a second home to me, the school was one big family. The teachers were better than I could have ever asked for. I still go back and visit them whenever I can, just to keep them updated on how well I'm doing, thank them, and see their faces light up. I am now a senior in high school, and have had straight A's all the way down my transcript. I have Clear View to thank for that! I miss it so much!!!


Posted September 4, 2008

We are very pleased with the school. The parents are very involved, as are the teachers and director. My children are very happy and we feel we made a great choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

I transferred my daughter into Clear View when she was in the 1st grade. From the very first day she was greeted warmly by her teacher, peers, and by the director. Academically, my daughter was challenged based on her ability not that of the class. The teacher was well informed of how children learn best and taught my daughter in a manner that made her feel she could excel at whatever she did. In return she took risks and tried upper grade math problems, reading books, and enhanced her writing skills. Socially, Clear View has a great Families program set up where children learn how to work together, treat each other with respect, and work as a family. In the area of creativity, my daughter has developed a love of music and art. Her favorite expression is from her art teacher, there are no mistakes in art . After searching through most of the schools in Chula Vista, I have not been disappointed by my decision to put my daughter in Clear View. I am finding compared to her peers that go to other schools in the area. My daughter is learning and being challenged more academically, but not losing her love of learning. Thank you Clear View.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

My son has been going to this school for three years. He enjoys going to school and has loved all of his teachers. The principle is great and is seen around campus and is involved with the parents and students. I love their 'Families' program-each teacher has a set of students every Friday that comes together with all grade levels and they do fun activities. This has helped my son socially. He gets to be around older children and also gets to help and be role models for the younger ones. I highly recommend Clearview!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

This school, is one of the best in this school district. My child started in the middle of the year, and her teachers taught her like shes been there since the first day, she caught easily because of the teachers great work. Even the other kids treated with respect she had friends instantly they were really great kids and very nice well mannered. They follow their code of conduct from K-6 and even when your child is in kindergarten they will get along with everyone from 1-6 when you go too that school you feel like like your party of a family, my child is now in 7'th grade and she still keeps in touch with people from Clearview you make true friends there, and the teachers are there for you till you grow old. My child misses Clearview terribly, I would recommend this school too anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

My boys attend Clear View it's their third year and we are very pleased. The teachers are great. I had an opportunity to visit Calif. State Capital Sacramento with my 4th grade son, through this school. I think that is awsome for our children. It was a great learning experience for my son, he will always remember. I highly recommend Clear View.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

I was very disappointed to read the negative reviews below. This was a great school for us and our oldest son and he attended 6 years. He is at the very top of his class and we owe a lot to the teachers and education he received at Clearview. Unfortunately, we moved to another area in 6th grade and had to switch schools and we actually called Clearview a few months later and begged them to take our son back - sure enough, they were full and could not. We have been suffering ever since at our new school and we are now taking our middle son out and transferring him to a private school for a better education. One really never knows how good they've got it until they're put into something worse!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

This school has been very disappointing. My neice attends a school near by in grade k same as my daughter. She is learning far more at school than my daughter. My other child attends here as well. He is not being challenged. The same homework they gave in 1st grade only easier. Whats going on? I will pull them out of this school soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2006

Was very disappointed with the level of education our child had recieved for the 4th and 5th grade. We have decided to put her in private school where she will be challenged academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

Kids are very happy! Very good level. I would like them to improve their spanish level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2004

Clearview is an excellent school, my students are highly engaged in the classroom, feel a real connection to the school and communitya nd love their teachers. The principal is accessible, a great leader and well respected in the community
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2012.

This school's
API score

860

Change from
2011 to 2012

-5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2012

This school's
API score

860

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2011 to 2012

-5

Change from 2011 to 2012
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females59%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students65%
Females63%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females58%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students65%
Females56%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females93%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learner76%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students85%
Females76%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner76%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)87%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females81%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner48%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females76%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students74%
Females71%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females76%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students69%
Females67%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 68% 52%
White 15% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 11%
Black 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Christopher Carroll
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (619) 498-3007
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

455 Windrose Way
Chula Vista, CA 91910
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 498-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bonita Learning Academy
Chula Vista, CA



Montessori Explorer
Chula Vista, CA



Montessori Explorer
Chula Vista, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT