Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Halecrest Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chula Vista

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $278,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 10, 2014

Halecrest is AMAZING and we have an AWESOME principal. All of my children attend Halecrest. The teachers and principal ensure that the students are taught the standards in addition to providing great extensions to the curriculum - science and music rotations, school plays, variety show, multi-cultural fair. It is a privilege to be at Halecrest and we should be so lucky to have such a caring principal and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

My child has been at Halecrest Elementary from K-2nd grade. In that time my child went from loving school to absolutely hating it. My child begs me not to go to school every day. The principal seems more interested in test scores than the children. My child is well above grade level but is not challenged. The PTA is amazing and parent involvement is good. The teachers are pushed to produce high test scores and are so stressed they forget they are dealing with children. I am looking for another school, most likely a charter school where passing tests are not all our children are taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

Es una escuela incre ble. Me encanta la organizaci n que hay. Existe mucha cooperaci n entre los padres y maestros. Realizan muchas actividades los ni os y sobre todo tiene un muy buen nivel acad mico. Me siento muy orgullosa y feliz que mi hija asista a Halecrest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My nephew has been attending this school since 2nd grade. My family and I have seen an amazing difference in his english vocabulary, math, reading, and social studies. He is now in 6th grade, having 7th grade a.r level. He previously attended Feaster Edison from kindergarten until 2nd grade he only new spanish and very little english. Within 1 month he learned the pledge of allegiance in english @ Halecrest. His confidence has gone up, his excitement for school, and now he's saving up for 6th grade camp. His past teachers have been very good teachers. The principal I haven't heard that much about but staff and teachers are great.


Posted July 12, 2013

I was disappointed with this school. I had the opportunity to have my son go here, after myself and my two older siblings went here when were were in grade school. 2nds grade was pretty good but 3rd grade made him not enjoy school, way too big on test scores, and I don't feel the principle was interested in the children, but again just the test scores. I don't feel like this school has the same love and warmth it used to but the PTA was wonderful, and again 2nd grade was pretty good. 3rd not so much. I'm sadly happy that we had to switch my son to his now home school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

I actually went to this school 30 aught years ago. It was, and sounds like a great school.


Posted November 27, 2012

most teachers are greatly involved in teaching the children well as well as raising them to be well rounded children, I had the honor of having 2 of my children been thought by great teachers. The principal needs to work on really listening to Parents, PTA and Teachers, it seem s like she does but at the end of the day she makes her own personal decision based on the best needs for her and the district. I feel like the principal pressures to bring scores up and that is her main concern. that's why I gave her an average score. The parent involvement is really good and since it is a small school most of them know each other, but since the school is made up of mostly transfer students there's also allot of parents that are unable to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

My two grandchildren had the opportunity to attend Halecrest 2011-12. Ive always heard positive things about this school! My grandchilren love this school very much! English is our primary language and Not in so many schools ! They came from Las Palmas-National City , you never hear any English spoken there! What a different environment, all positive!!!!!! Keep up the Good work!!!!!!!!!!


Posted November 7, 2011

Yes, for sure the reputation of Halecrest is well known in the Chula Vista district. Supervision however has become a challenge as many parents have mentioned that their children haven't been supervised BEFORE & AFTER school - the dash program run @ Halecrest is by far mediocre with little to no supervision & children running around the school at free will. its almost as if the governing body at the school has forgotten that it takes a village to "raise" our precious children to become upstanding citizens & to cultivate leadership, this is apparently a missing ingredient at Halecrest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

This year has been a year filled with many great achievements at Halecrest. There is no better school in Chula Vista than Halecrest and I love it. The principle is great and if everyone who puts negative comments about her would only open there eyes and see all the improvements in the school and her involvement you would sing a different tune. Due to budget cuts many programs had to be cut but because of the principle many programs have continued because she has run them in her own time, the teachers are amazing and the PTA is great, many people that I have spoken too would love to have there kids attend Halecrest but the school is full. For all you people who think the school has gone backwards then why have you not transfered you kids to a different school. Our test scores say it all. Halecrest is the best school in Chula Vista
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2010

This is a great school! I should know, I've been coming here for 6 years as a student.


Posted September 22, 2010

We moved to Chula Vista last year and I enrrolled my kid in 1st grade at Halecrest Elelentary, aside from going throught the challenges of getting the kid enrrolled all my other experiences have been positive. the Principal is very inbolved in the school she is out every morning greeting students and opening car doors so the kids can get out, based on my personal experince I do believe that the principal has all the leadership skills neede to lead the school succssesfully. All the Teachers we have interacted with have been wonderfull to us, my kid is doing great reads well and is getting mat down. I am proud of Helecrest Elemenay we will continue attending this School and when my other little one is old enugh he will go to Halecrest Elementary as well. Go Halecrest Keep up the good. work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2010

I have two kids that attend Halecrest. I used to love the school when the old principal was in charge; he was/is the best principal I have encountered so far. It is still a good school but mostly because of the great teachers, strong PTA presence and overall scores. The new principal I could do without. She is just an average mediocre principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

Love the teachers and staff but truly miss previous principal. Like past comments, I agree the mood has changed and although I still feel Halecrest is a FANTASTIC school, it has lost the sparkle I felt daily when my oldest started kinder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Other changes that have occurred are the fact that discipline issues are not addressed immediately and the Principal is never available. The large exciting recognition assemblies with the power point presentation are a thing of the past. The atmosphere has truly changed to the bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

You'll notice there haven't been any reviews since the last school year and that's because there was a change in principals and things have changed rather dramatically since then. the fun yet achievement-oriented atmosphere that used to be present under the previous principal's leadership no longer does. the school website rarely gets updated these days and whatever little posting is on there is no longer that informative nor that interesting to read. the new principal instead is bent on micromanaging recess time to make sure the students are not having are fun, relaxing time while on recess. it's sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

I have 2 daughters that attended Halecrest for the past 2 years, we are a military family, and sadly had to move. The PTA is very active, the teachers welcome parent participation in the classrooms, and keep you in the loop instead of just at conference time. This school has many different programs available, girl scouts, GATE programs, art, music, and p.e. as well. The principal is very available, friendly with all the kids and parents, and knows everyone by their first name. Overall if you live in Chula Vista it's worth transferring to, if this school is not your neighborhood school, it's the best in the district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

Great school, staff, and principal. I drive from the westside of Chula Vista so my son can attend this fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

As the Principal of Halecrest Elementary, I confidently give this school the highest possible rating. Halecrest is a great place to learn, and not just because of the solid test scores. Teachers and staff are dedicated professionals who design instruction and activities to bring out the best in children in a challenging and supportive environment. Besides our high academic expectations our students enjoy rich learning experiences including our Arts, Drama/Music, and PE programs, memorable PTA activities, and partnerships with Sea World and the Reuben H. Fleet Science Center to enhance our science curriculum to name just a few. Do I really believe what I think about this school? Well, I'm transferring over my son to Halecrest this fall to join my daughter who attended there last year. Check out our website as I'll be posting the top 10 reasons to put your child at Halecrest and I welcome all inquiries.


Posted June 17, 2008

My child was a transfer from another school... at first I was hesitant placing her in a school I didn't know much about... fortunately for us that was the best thing that could have happened. It is now three years later and we couldn't be any more happy with this school. The principal far exceeds any expectiations and knows that communication is important. The PTA is one of best I've ever seen, they care about the children. You are bound to see a board memeber volunteering on campus almost everyday of the school year. The teachers work together in a way that makes the children learn and be happy. The support staff is great and the programs are just as wonderful. This school provides a great education and is a school very much worth bragging about. Any issue I've had has been resolved and we are lucky to have this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

899

Change from
2012 to 2013

-13

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

899

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-13

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females76%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state62%

Math

All Students70%
Females80%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females59%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner56%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state54%

Math

All Students81%
Females86%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner81%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females78%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state67%

Math

All Students71%
Females66%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females82%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner76%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females82%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner71%
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students76%
Females77%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females88%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state77%

Math

All Students85%
Females91%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 75%
White 14%
Black 3%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Asian 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/AN/A
English language learners 24%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Shayne Wilson
Fax number
  • (619) 421-8746

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

475 East J Street
Chula Vista, CA 91910
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 421-0771

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Montessori Explorer
Chula Vista, CA


Clear View
Chula Vista, CA


Covenant Christian
Chula Vista, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT