Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Halecrest Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
Halecrest is an amazing school!!! I love the community, teachers and staff. Both of my children feel welcomed and loved by the Halecrest community. We love Halecrest!!

Halecrest Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to all the teachers and staff for your hard work and dedication to all students!


Halecrest Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
Halecrest is a safe place and integrates honesty and integrity with all students in their curriculum.

Halecrest Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2016
- a teacher
Halecrest is a wonderful school! The staff and administration go above and beyond to create a welcoming and inclusive environment that meets the needs of ALL students. It's evident everyone there puts kids first.

Halecrest Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2014
- a parent
Halecrest is AMAZING and we have an AWESOME principal. All of my children attend Halecrest. The teachers and principal ensure that the students are taught the standards in addition to providing great extensions to the curriculum - science and music rotations, school plays, variety show, multi-cultural fair. It is a privilege to be at Halecrest and we should be so lucky to have such a caring principal and teachers.


Halecrest Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2014
- a parent
Halecrest is an amazing place to be. My 3 children attended and it is anything but "test" and "score" driven. Their intention is to ensure each child is taught what needs to be learned. In addition they have fantastic events that go above and beyond just academics - the variety show, plays, science fairs, multi-cultural fairs, etc... It's really hard to get a zone transfer, but if you are lucky to get in, you won't be disappointed. And Mrs. Wilson (our principal) ROCKS! She is very in tune with the kiddos and spends each day with them.

Halecrest Elementary School 2

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
My child has been at Halecrest Elementary from K-2nd grade. In that time my child went from loving school to absolutely hating it. My child begs me not to go to school every day. The principal seems more interested in test scores than the children. My child is well above grade level but is not challenged. The PTA is amazing and parent involvement is good. The teachers are pushed to produce high test scores and are so stressed they forget they are dealing with children. I am looking for another school, most likely a charter school where passing tests are not all our children are taught.

Halecrest Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
Es una escuela incre ble. Me encanta la organizaci n que hay. Existe mucha cooperaci n entre los padres y maestros. Realizan muchas actividades los ni os y sobre todo tiene un muy buen nivel acad mico. Me siento muy orgullosa y feliz que mi hija asista a Halecrest.


Halecrest Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a community member
My nephew has been attending this school since 2nd grade. My family and I have seen an amazing difference in his english vocabulary, math, reading, and social studies. He is now in 6th grade, having 7th grade a.r level. He previously attended Feaster Edison from kindergarten until 2nd grade he only new spanish and very little english. Within 1 month he learned the pledge of allegiance in english @ Halecrest. His confidence has gone up, his excitement for school, and now he's saving up for 6th grade camp. His past teachers have been very good teachers. The principal I haven't heard that much about but staff and teachers are great.

Halecrest Elementary School 3

Posted July 12, 2013
- a parent
I was disappointed with this school. I had the opportunity to have my son go here, after myself and my two older siblings went here when were were in grade school. 2nds grade was pretty good but 3rd grade made him not enjoy school, way too big on test scores, and I don't feel the principle was interested in the children, but again just the test scores. I don't feel like this school has the same love and warmth it used to but the PTA was wonderful, and again 2nd grade was pretty good. 3rd not so much. I'm sadly happy that we had to switch my son to his now home school.

Nearby schools

Halecrest Elementary School
475 East J Street, Chula Vista, CA  91910-6499
(619) 421-0771
Last modified Halecrest Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top