Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Chula Vista, CA
Students enrolled: 623
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harborside Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2009
- a parent
I'm really happy to have my kids at Harborside. The enthusiasm that both teachers and principal have in making this the best school is great! Having the principal participate in all events makes it great. Both of my kids have made a tremendous job while at this school. Both of their teachers are very motivated in makings their progress a success.

Harborside Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2009
- a parent
This was my children's homeschool when we moved to Cv. I went in to get a transfered because i had read the reviews and wasn't pleased. As i came into the office i met the new principal. He told us what his goal for the school was. He definitely delivered. I kept my 3rd and 4th graders there that year..and stayed the following year. I can't say enough about the 4th grade teachers. All 3 are amazing. The principal is doing a great job in keeping the students motivated. This school IS now a great school thanks to Mr. Tessier's commitment to his students and their parents and the outstanding staff he chose for Harborside.


Harborside Elementary School 2

Posted June 03, 2008
- a parent
I have 2 children 4th and 5th grade 2 grandchildren 3rd and K started in 2002. the school may be on its way up but could decline. Grade 4 teachers are exemplary. True evaluation in the first grading period not genuine scoring as the teachers are allowing for progress 80% were replaced due to 4 consecutive yrs of failure. NCLB enforced. The max class capacity is 26 per class in grade 4-6 NCLB. The potential is here but not for this year or the next Im afraid as more cuts are coming and individual needs are eliminated at the expense of overall school interests Some administration is exceptional others are very inconsistant for educational atmosphere There is a loud hopeful cheer for a change but it will take a few years to see a marked improvement for this school. Pending loss of health aid and school psych. Next years attendance uncertain

Harborside Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2008
- a parent
Now that Harborside has been restructured, the school is great! The staff is a hardworking group of teachers and educational professionals who have our students first interest at heart. Their dedication is tremendous! The principal is positive and supports his teachers in providing the best possible education for our kids. The programs they have implemented are also great. Bottom line: great teaching makes for a great school. Harborside is now a great school! We are very happy!

Harborside Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Harborside Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Harborside Elementary School 1

Posted October 21, 2006
- a parent
I like Harborside School for my kids. But the fact is, Not all the teachers are following the academic standard. I hope the teachers and parents have the same goal to their students and children. There is somehow lack of understanding between teachers and parents. We want to know the real score of our children when it comes to academic performance. We want a true and dedicated teacher to meet the goal of their students. If the teaching is above then the student will be above on the standard level of teaching. If the teacher is intelligent, the student will be intelligent. Cooperation, parent involvement is needed. Children has to follow the rules every morning in line. This school has to be strict.

Harborside Elementary School 1

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
The school has the potential to be a great school, however it is lacking in it's key qualities. The teachers provide too much double talk and they do not provide the feed back parents need to make sure their children are prepared academically. The homework does not reflect the required accountability to achieve the basics for the children. Not enough emphasis is placed on the subject matter for the children to achieve true understanding, so there are huge gaps in understanding. There is no continuity or structure provided for understanding. This school will not meet state standards because their lesson plans are not consistent, and also they do not accept advice from parents who know their children's strengths and weaknesses. The proper orientation is not provided for the individual child, they tend to stray from old fashioned techniques, tried and true is turned away, innovation is only a concept.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harborside Elementary School
681 Naples Street, Chula Vista, CA  91911
(619) 422-8369
Last modified Harborside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harborside Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top